Why It's OK To Be Lazy Sometimes

in #life5 years ago

1.jpg

Being lazy is something that is looked down upon and yet we all have times where we don't even want to get off the bed the entire day. It's just a human thing to feel and there is no reason we should feel bad about it.

No one can keep functioning at a sustained fast pace that the modern world demands of us because at the end of the day, we are not robots, even though we are expected to function as one.

So, it's quite natural that one might feel lazy sometimes and doesn't feel like doing anything. I am reminded of a song by Bruno Mars, aptly called 'The Lazy Song'. If you've never listened to it, I recommend that you do.

Anyways, today I want to talk about why it is totally OK to be lazy sometimes. Of course, too much of anything is bad, so you might want to keep it in check.

Laziness May Inspire Creativity

Being lazy means you keep procrastinating on important (or not so important things) till the time you must do them. This can often lead to us coming up with creative and smart ways to complete them in time.

I don't know about you, but in school, I used to keep procrastinating studying for my exams till the very last day and somehow I used to be able to finish all my studying in one day and do well in the exams as well!

I think, we function best when there is a do or die type of a situation though this may not apply to everyone. Some can't function under pressure and need ample time to complete their work.

We Need Breaks

As I mentioned before, we are not robots and after a continuous amount of time doing work, we get exhausted, both mentally and physically. Therefore taking breaks from time to time to allow us to recharge our physical and mental health becomes important.

Many people keep working non stop and they only stop when they simply cannot continue to work. This actually reduces your productivity. Taking timely breaks actually increases your productivity. So, it's a no brainer which is better.

This is where laziness comes in. People who are lazier, will take ample breaks (sometimes more than required) after having completed a certain amount of tasks. Other people might not like this, but this is completely fine!

You Might Save Some Money!

So, if you're one of those highly active people, you just can't remain idle and you need to be doing something to keep you occupied or you get bored. So, you might want to go out with your friends to eat at a restaurant or go watch movies or hang out everyday or travel constantly.

Now imagine if you are a lazy person. You wouldn't feel the need to do all those things just for the sake of doing them. You'd be comfortable being lazy in your sweat pants watching the TV on your couch.

Even though you should be doing all those things in the first case, you can't ignore the fact that you would be saving more money in the second case. :D

Sort:  

I could not agree MORE!!!!! It is not something that actually comes naturally to me... I am always looking to be "busy" - throughout my life, the guilt of inactivity has always eaten me from the inside out! But as I have gotten older I have realised the sheer importance and benefit of the opposite!!

Always good to have such reminders ;)

The guilt of inactivity has always eaten me from the inside out, i understand very weel this feeling too =( So stressfull

I think it is something that we all have.

For me it's easy to be lazy but the guilt is still there, like I'm supposed to be working continuously. Yeah, it's good to remind yourself sometimes.

It really feels great when someone talks in favor of a thing that we think is not good in us.

The words you've told completely changed my perception about Being Lazy. A lot can b achieved in the time we spend being lazy as you said. Cause at that moment we r completely free of other thoughts. It's a great eye-opener at least for me.

Cheers!

Posted using Partiko Android

It's really important to just do nothing sometimes. Life shouldn't be all about work and stress. It's important to remind ourselves this.

Cheers! :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thanks for this :)

Yeah it's a totally natural normal, human feeling to be lazy. There's nothing wrong with anybody who's just feeling lazy. Humans feel, robots don't. What I will say is I disagree with you on procrastinating yes sometimes It helps me with creativty, but in most times (especially with school) procrastination makes it a lot worse haha.

As for breaks I find, depending on what I'm doing for my break effects me when I start to do work again, for example taking a walk, or a light excersize, or a mindfulness session, energizes me/calms me a lot more than playing video games, watching tv etc. That's just from my expereince though.

Yeah it's completely natural to feel lazy sometimes, as you said, we have feelings which robots don't. lol

Also different people have different experiences regarding these things. For some procrastination can actually make it worse, for some it's something different. The same applies for the nature of breaks that we take. Taking a walk works best for me too but so does watching TV :D

Yeah I think that makes a lot of sense, were all so different that we all gotta find what works for us best!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30