What If You Knew Exactly When You Were Going To Die

in #life7 years ago

0.jpg

The significance of time in our lives is something that I cannot even express in words. Perhaps, the best I can communicate it is by saying that it literally gives meaning to life itself.

We all have one life to live and our time is very limited. Life may seem like an arduously long journey, but in hindsight, I am sure it will have been merely a fleeting shadow on this stage of a world.

This agent of change is necessary though, as it is what keeps balance on this planet of ours where the old die to make room for the new to flourish. It may sound paradoxical, but death is what helps life sustain itself.

If you ask people around, I’m sure no one would tell you that they would like to die but we all know it will happen nonetheless. We never know when it will happen and I think that’s how it should be but what if we all knew exactly when it was going to happen?

The Countdown

1.jpg

What I am trying to say is something that has been explored in movies like “In Time”, in which people had a sort of a clock implanted in their bodies which literally counted down the time they had left.

Let’s say, we were all born with something like that. A clock that told us the date and time of our death and that counted down to it. Every second of every minute would be a conscious reminder of our impending fate.

It’s not that we are not aware of this fate right now but a clock that puts it right in front of your eyes? I think that makes death much more tangible and that much more real, at least psychologically speaking.

I wonder how that would affect humanity. Would it be something that we just get accustomed to and be like how we are today anyways, or would it change us, for better or worse?

Why It Could Have No Effect

2.jpg

Let me give you an example of something that we all experience from time to time. We have a lot of work to do in our daily lives and usually we have deadlines to complete them.

Even though we are supposed to do something important within a certain amount of time, it might not always bring out that sense of urgency in us. Of course different people have different ways but more often than not, people do not take the work seriously until the deadline approaches very near.

That’s especially the case if you have a longer amount of time to deal with something. Remember when you got a month of holidays in school and yet you only started doing the assignments in the last week or so?

The same could happen if we knew about our time of death. Even though we would know, we would still have years before we would actually need to worry about it. I mean, if you have 80 years to live, would you be worried about it in your 20s?

Why It Could Be A World of Difference

3.jpg

Each of us is different than the other and we all want different things out of our lives and this is the factor that could mean a world of difference to a lot o people.

See, not everyone wants to change the world. Many of us are content doing our work and living life normally. But there are also many people who want to change the whole world and I think it is these people whom this could matter the most.

Knowing exactly how much time they had, could help them in many ways and they would develop a laser sharp focus to achieve what they set out to in the time they had, which would only be a good thing for the world and all of humanity.

Even if a fourth of humanity is motivated to do the same, I think the world would change overnight as the synergy that would develop, would be unlike anything ever before and I wonder the heights it could propel us to.

Sort:  

Goodone again!😊

I think if people would know their deadline of life there would be 2 types of people - one who will do everything and the other who will do nothing.

One would think - I have so little time left and so many things to do, to experience, to see, to learn.

And other would give up quite easily - I will die soon anyway. And soon might be in 5 or in 55 years.

It is good not to know when you are going to die. But everybody should live like it is the last day of their life.

Yes, that's exactly how I think of this as well :)

wonderful post @sauravrungta well I want to share that if life is too short then why we are running after it? If we will start countdown of our lives then we would not be able to survive further in this world. So keep on trying your best without thinking about short life time.

Living in countdown mode sure could be depressing!

Or happy to go back home. Or to discover new earths.

Nice idea as long as every one gets the same amount of time.
We already know when we are going to die. Nobody care. For the last two thousand years nobody lived for 2 hundred years or 150. So we can say statically almost certain I am going to die before 100.As long as I am healthy and strong I can keep going and having fun until 99. And the last year I will prepare myself like selling the house I know I am not going back to.

I don't think everyone would get the same amount of time. Even if it technologically possible, there are various other factors that determine a person's death.

If we know the time of death we unable to do any of our activity and happiness is missing from the whole world ....

As I said, there can be people who don't care about this.

It has both good and bad effects in life

Yes, I think so too.

I assume I'm going to live until 82 and plan my life according to that, but at the same time I don't miss opportunities when they arise.

Yeah, we should enjoy life anyways.

I have a little different thought to this, if we would get to know when we will die, most of us will die before that time and rather than being productive and useful in that tine, one may spend that time in worry. If you try to get your hands on time, it will always slip. One should live in the reality of NOW, and forget about past and future.

No, the point is, the clock would tell you exactly when you would die. So, you can't 'die before that time'

No no i didnt mean actual death, I mean the fear of death that you will count on every day

from my perspective its better that we should not think about our lifespan or when we will die because this may create a lot of tension and as everyone knows that he or she has to die one day but until you die make everyday your best day....

Yeah, we should enjoy life anyways :)

Everybody who knows will live life different but the difference may be for good or bad.

Exactly. Good for some and bad for the others.

Life is magical and mysterious. You dont know what happen next. However, if I know when and what day I go. I then dont sleep that day and spent all the time left to my love one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98