My opinion on "vote buying" and my humble suggestion on how to grow a healthy steemit community

in #life6 years ago

igor-ovsyannykov-584277-unsplash.jpg

image source

When I came to Steemit in 2017, I thought the only way to get more steem was by either buying steem or constant upvoting of good contents to get steem power which could be powered down. But as time went on, it all changed.

People who were supposed to upvote good contents for returns in curation rewards were rather selling their upvotes.

Why should I bring someone from Facebook to Steemit and tell him "your valuable contents need to be paid before you can earn"?

Vote buying is reducing the number of good and quality contents.

People don't value valuable contents, they value valuable rewarding bots.

I remember the day I spent 6 hours making a post last year and when I was done, I told myself that this post was gonna hit $20. I was so confident because I made good research, spent time on YouTube to research about what I wanted to talk about with different examples and guess what? That post didn't even make up to $1. (this was last year Q2)

That day I felt like just quitting steemit. I said "thought it was all about valuable contents, why didn't I get at least $1"?

As a newbie, there were so many things I didn't know, so many things I needed to know and no one to ask them but Google.com.

Why wasn't my post upvoted? Maybe because those who were supposed to upvote me were waiting for me to come buy their upvotes?

should everyone upvote for free?

Well yes and no!

I understand the business part of this and its OK. We all need to make some profits. But when you close your eyes to the needs and cry of people just because you want to make profits, then it's no longer business, its wickedness.

There are people who want their post to be on the trending page for advertisement purposes, that's OK because they have something that needs to be seen, so They go to bots and buy votes.

But as you sell your votes, do well to help one or two persons with upvotes.

Not everyone wants to be on the trending page. Some just want at least $1 to survive.

When we had a Reach out to homeless kids some months ago, I made the people I went with realize that there are people that all they need to survive in a day is just $1. But If we take them from the streets, teach them how to read and write. Will they be able to write and feed?

Currently, it might be difficult.

I Wish there was a way vote Selling could be regulated.

But for now, let's see how we can help each other. I have a community of over 300 people and I couldn't get steem Power to help them out, but thank God @ejemai came to our rescue.

We can Make the world a better place if we reduce our selfishness to a certain level.

suggestion on how to build a healthy steemit community.

Steemit doesn't have a publicity department that I am aware of, so the users of steemit should be the one to do this publicity (promotion).

So our focus should be on building and supporting active communities.

Currently what we have is good, but it isn't good enough.

People delegate steem Power to communities that they feel like giving it too, which is still better than selling everything to bots, but it can be better.

My suggestion

I think Every community that has maintained a minimum of 200 or 150 active steemians within 3 to 4 months, should be qualified to receive delegation or qualified to be interviewed for a delegation.

This way those who have maintained a good record over a long time will be encouraged to continue building

See someone like @ewuoso, a big time community builder earning $0.5 on his post. This guy has an active community that has been active for over a year, attended meetups and encouraged 100s of Nigerians to come to Steemit.

This is what he's earning now?
ewuoso.PNG

Why is it so?

Because few people care.

That's why I'm forever grateful and thankful to people like @donkeypong and @ejemai for reaching out to some people who needed support. I wish we have more people like you guys.

please help resteem this post if you find it useful**

Sort:  

@samstickkz... I strongly agree with you. Sometimes as a newbie on steemit, I do feel like giving up on steemit but something keeps telling me bosses like u once had the experience of what I am going through.

Sometimes I make quality and quantity post with the hope of gaining massive rewards but It all Fruitless. I feel more discouraged when I see some people just type like 3 - 4 words and they gain abundant amounts. This has made me stop posting for a while because I do think there is no one viewing my post and no one is ready to help except for some few people.

It is not appropriate when those who deserves to be rewarded are not getting their rewards. This has made lot of people loose interest on steemit. One of my friend once told me "it is a biased network". I smiled after hearing that.

One of the great definition of a leader is "A leader is someone who produces more leader and not followers"

I will be very happy if leaders on steemit can support other newbies like me to give us more hope on steemit.

@samstickkz I would love to quote some part of your community. Can you please send me the discod link? Thanks in advance

Wow.....

All I can say is don't quit. There is a room for everyone on Steemit. You just need to locate where you belong.

This is the link: https://discord.gg/kbYAGAR

Thanks... That's what people have been telling me about steemit.

I also joined the stach group on Discod. Thanks for sharing

Same, buying and selling votes can be seen as life, you either try to boost yourself or you remain the same. My opinion is that those that sell votes should try to check other people's post out. I write a post of about 2000 words the post did not earn anything at all. Hope people stop the acts of only the people the know that they will upvote their post. Thanks for sharing

@samstickkz you are right andi support your cause.
Now although it's not compulsory for these whales to upvote us.
But i just don't want them to forget the concept and beauty STEEMIT started with.

Hello @samstickkz

It really breaks my heart to see Ewuoso earning so low. I have done my part to support him. I just hope those who have greater power do much more for him

It is very sad that those who work the most to bring value to this platform are the ones who get the less value in return

@ogochukwu

those who work the most to bring value to this platform are the ones who get the less value in return

Very sad

This post has been upvoted by @steem-ambassador.
The #promo-steem mission is to support high quality promotional and educational posts which raise the profile and value of STEEM.
For full details of the programme, please visit https://promo-steem.com/

No offense, @samstickkz; but, you have been around long enough to know that no one is listening.

Steemit is a shell for the underlying goal: growing money, shark and whale-style.

There are a ton of minnows and plankton for a reason. I sound cynical; but, quite content knowing the reality of it all. Be willing to ‘do your due diligence’ with the realization that crypto is not for people with addictive get-rich-quick personalities.

Best regards.

Peace.

Ahhhh...Now that you know the truth, imagine how much money you will save by not having to pay to play...(lol)...

P.S. I've never been good with 'writing' memes; but, you get the gist. As long as we treat Steemit as an opportunity to earn a few pennies, and not dive into the 'get-rich-quick' quicksand swamp...all will be well.

Btw, if that's an old school pic of you...too cute...lol...

Peace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59214.59
ETH 2524.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48