From Bold to Bald: Lessons from my father's fight against Cancer

in #life6 years ago


I used to hear a lot of about how deadly and dangerous cancer as a disease was, but I always ignored thinking it would never hurt me or my family. Little did I know that it is going to change our lives soon. My father was diagnosed with Metastatic Non-small cells Lungs Cancer just a couple of months ago. Those who understand cancer stages know that Metastatic is the last stage as the cancer spreads from primary organ to other parts of the body. The spread of disease is not only irreversible but also rapidly growing in rest of the body. My father was told to have only a couple of months left with him.

He is Brave!

He has always been someone a courageous and bold who doesn't feel afraid of anything and anyone in any situation. But Cancer has tested his strength in many situations in just over the span of one month. Since he couldn't have any surgery or treatment, his only way to cope medically with the disease was to have Chemotherapy. Only two sessions of chemotherapy and he has lost almost all his hair. But he has not lost his strength to fight against this deadly disease. From bold to going bald, he has shown great power no matter what the circumstances were.

The Ordeal

He has endured extreme rigors and chills where his body was shivering uncontrollably, and he thought his has approached his death. He said his goodbyes in his shivering voice to us where we were standing scared and almost crying. He was rushed to the hospital where he was given emergency treatment. When his senses revived, he smiled and said; 'I am back. I have returned back to you all.' I was amazed at this man's power.
He has lost the ability to keep his food down as he vomits whatever he eats. He must get IV fluids to fulfill the missed nutrition as he can’t eat or keep down his food.

Lessons Learnt at Great Cost

My father's turmoil has taught me so many lessons. I still see positivity, hope, and courage in my father’s eyes and words. He says he will be fine one day just as he was before. Going bald from bold has not broken his spirit in any way. He is bigger than his disease which is important if one wants to fight against the terminal illnesses as cancer. His love for life has not died as he still asks to play cards, listens to the music, talks to us about our future, and has dreams of better days.
I have learnt that it is entirely important for the family to learn about the illness as soon as their loved one is diagnosed. This can save us from many painful situations. For instance, the rigors are a side-effect of Chemotherapy and not life-threatening. But we had no prior knowledge about this side-effect hat left us in extreme fear and anxiety at that time.

Above all the diseases, there lies human courage, strength, and determination to fight against the odds for one thing that we all take for granted; LIFE!

Sort:  

Deserve your dream.

Life always finds a way, stay strong please !

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

This post has received a 36.50 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @samboy.

This post, with over $50.00 in bidbot payouts, has received votes from the following:

booster payout in the amount of $94 STU, $207 USD.
rocky1 payout in the amount of $34 STU, $74 USD.

For a total calculated bidbot upvote value of $127 STU, $281 USD before curation, with approx. $32 USD curation being earned by the bidbots.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform @samboy and is by no means a judgement of your work.

Amigo @samboy he leido tu post con muchas lagrimas en mis ojos, he visto de cerca el sufrimiento de las quimioterapias, y considero que nadie debería pasar por eso. He tenido que atender a algunas personas que han sido tratadas con quimioterapias y créeme que eso me ha marcado para toda la vida, espero que tu papá viva por mucho tiempo, las personas alientes lo hacen. Gracias por tu aporte, Un gran saludo

@samboy Your post touched me. My sister has CML leukemia and I did the same ss you. It will never touch my family boy was I dead wrong. One thing I give every Cancer patient is how strong they are. I send my prayers to you and your family. Thank you for sharing your story.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23