Respect for Law and Order

in #life6 years ago

arrow-1538701_1920.png

In the country where I live the above is not as easy as you may think. We have laws yes, but order no. Corruption is rife in government and even in the police/ traffic departments. In all areas though. There are people with integrity but finding them is rare. In this article though, I'll write about how it should be.

"Our concern should be to help children and some adults develop inner control and understanding in order for all to be obedient to the laws of our country." The home is the place to save society. A family is actually a miniature society where children learn rules that safeguard the rights both of its members and of the members of society as a whole. In the home, children can learn such principles as respect for property, appreciation of the rights of others and obedience to rules.

If parents make sure that their children consistently obey rules in the home, life can be easier for all the family members. Children whose parents wisely define guidelines of behavior are happier and freer than those who have no guidance. They have the advantage of having made good decisions before being faced with a crisis. When youth burn down buildings an loot shops, be sure that they didn't have guidance. As happening in my country.

banner-1183382_1920.jpg

A child's first experience to rules is in the home. If that early experience takes place in an atmosphere of love and concern, it can lay the foundation for a healthy respect for the rights of others and for the laws of the land. Parental attitudes strongly influence children. It's useless to exhort children to obey traffic rules if we ourselves ignore traffic signs or speed limits.

Children can learn to appreciate order in the home when parents consistently abide by rules and encourage them to do likewise. A daughter who doesn't put her soiled clothes in the laundry basket, could discover discover the importance of obeying rules when the dress she wants to wear is not clean. Children who snack without cleaning up after themselves might not be allowed snacks for the remainder of the week as a consequence of disregarding a family rule.

africa-2665144_1920.jpg

I have a strong feeling that parents don't know just how very important this subject is. A true event follows : A young woman recalls that she and several of her 14 year old friends sat on the front porch on summer evenings, taking turns going to their houses. They talked for hours. When they sometimes failed to return by 9: 30, several girls mothers would call them. This young woman recalls that she was irritated by her mom's calls, until one evening after such a call, one of the other girls began to sob, " My mother never calls. I wish she cared."

Caring and guiding involves much more than a " I love you." A quote from a letter of a boy confined in a state penitentiary : "My dad never seemed to love me and yet he made big deals of saying" I love you " and kissing and all, but I learned that those expressions meant nothing. We were never encouraged to do chores, given no morals or guidance at all. To this very day I don't know what principles my parents stood for."
Children feel secure when rules are in place. I know that without a doubt as I taught them for 25 years after gaining many qualifications.

man-30322_1280.png

In my country though, the prisons are spilling over and if another 100 were built they too would be overfilled. Where the inherent criminals or did they never have guidance and love?

A few laws children can try to obey, making a log and tick their successes.
🔔 Cross the street only at intersections or zebra crossings. ( no jaywalking).
🔔 Dispose of wrappers in the proper receptacles
🔔Respect the ownership of others. Don't ever sample goods in a store, unless handed out by management.
🔔 Observe signs such as, Keep off the grass, Do not pick the flowers etc.
🔔 Observe traffic rules when driving.
🔔 Respect others property : Do not cut through the neighbors yard without permission.

By small things great things are accomplished!!

hammer-802296_1920.jpg

Sources : RS courses of study, authors own experience, Pixabay

Sort:  

I am looking after a little girl who's family has very little money to spare. She is a model of obedience when here at my home but a terror in hers. I asked her, after giving her a hug, whether she is hugged by her mom or dad and was given an emphatic "NO!"
You are so right in this article and I have passed on this advice to her parents.

That's great to hear that it's passed on. You're a very special person.

It is the principle of lift where we stand. Crazy how so many people in SA will just litter anywhere, pick up something that doesn't belong to them etc. I see it as a hierarchical principle, where it starts from the top. Good president, good school and church leaders and good parents will eventually yield a good country.

Fully agree. Tragic that generations did not teach their children.

You sound just like my wife!! Except she says "children NEED routine".

Of course I agree with her...and actually I agree with your post too. Great stuff!
One of my favourite quotes is "no success or failure can compensate for failure in the home", and this time it wasn't the wife that said it :)

You're so spot on. If there were a few million more that believe this, we'll have a home run.

Nice play on the word 'home' :)

I understand what you're saying.
It may seem stupid, but life is much easier with rules.
Rules and guidelines are important for children as it develops their character.

You're spot on. Children want routine. They become confused without it.

I agree that observing basic rules and respectful behavior leads to greater things.

If you don't teach your Children, somebody else will. Usually, not the things you want them to be skilled in!
Great Post.

Thank you it's true. My faith in is a bit on the low side when I observe some parents example. It's so inbred that it will take nothing less than a miracle!

Your words has power, use them wisely.

Well, you're definitely onto something here...but in my country, where an entire segment of the adult population believes they are entitled to things that they have not earned...there is no hope of them teaching their children to respect each other, let alone each other's property... :(

Tragically so. Children are often given everything and allowed to watch movies or media that is morally not suitable

There are different children from different families. I'm not going to talk about minorities now, about race. We all know how different the mentality of a person who grew up in an incomplete or underprivileged family in an inferior social stratum. But when my disabled child was abused because she had to have an insulin injection, I found a disability discrimination attorney here https://www.employmentattorneylosangeles.com/practices/disability-discrimination-attorney/. I will not listen to other parents while my child is being abused. If someone had told me in court that a disabled person had other rights, I would have remained silent. But if you scream about racism and then act like pigs, I will hold my line and destroy anyone who dares to violate the rights of children with disabilities. And I don't care what your skin color or social status is. Lack of brains doesn't give anyone the right to insult and humiliate weak or capable people.

dura Lex, sed Lex. The law is important, and people must comply with the laws of the country where they live.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87