You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I don't know, a sort of philosophy

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Yeah I don't know. I really don't know. I don't know why I'm here in this world?

I don't know anything, but why I'm still breathing? Its because I know that without breathing, I'm gonna die! I know that my life has an end and death is certain. This is a general truth. And we all believe on that, do you not?
I'm really very sorry to say and explain what I have to say Scott.

Its like floating in the air, can't go forward, can't go backward.
We can't play any game if we don't want to win and afraid of losing.
The fact is we can't be safe all the time, we can't be happy all the time.
We can't live forever in this world/universe or whatever we call this place.
Sometimes we think that we're now living in heaven and that's why we try our best not to get sick and even try not to die and always living in safe in our comfort zone.

My apologies on my statements. I'm carried away.

How many years are you being agnostic Scott if you don't mind?

Sort:  

Most of what you have read here is inspired by Alan Watts, in particular, the book, The Wisdom Of Insecurity. It is also inspired by years of improvisation class and stand up comedy I performed myself. So I've been agnostic about everything for at least a decade.

Oh, and another chunk of inspiration comes from my study of quantum mechanics, a science of probability, not certainty.

What are you inspired by? And what is your apology for?

Maybe I said something that contradicts a reader's view or belief, that's why I'm asking for apology for those who read my comments.
I'm inspired by my faith, hope and love. Thanks for asking!

Agnostic for a decade is quite long. But before being agnostic, what was your state or status or religion?

I have never been religious. I think for a long time I was atheist. Now, I'm just agnostic about everything.

Oh!
I guess you're on your way to become a believer and doubts will be gone in the right perfect time.

You're not yet married right? Maybe I'm wrong, you're married.

I am married. As to my doubts relative to faith, I am not even sure I need to know. For example, if I'm immortal, I don't need to know.

https://steemit.com/life/@digitalfirehose/if-i-m-immortal-i-don-t-need-to-know

As to believing, I don't need to believe in anything. I just take it as it comes. I try to live my life without expectations.

In my case and in myself, I believe that my body will die (I don't know when.)but my soul is immortal. Its a faith that I hold on to. This is base on my knowledge and experience since I was born until now that I am 43.

Just ignore my age because my profile photo looks 60 years old lol!

I have a question:
Do you believe that your body will die?

I am not sure about what it means to die. We are a loose collection of particles that no one has ever seen directly. Even our best theories indicate that the existence of those particles is more probability than certainty. It has been estimated that the half life of the proton is 1045 years, so relative to human time scales, the atoms are "immortal".

There is also growing evidence that matter has a low level, rudimentary consciousness. There is even a line of scientific inquiry that says that if man has free will, we get it from the matter of which we are composed.

So, in that context, it might be fair to say that my body never dies. I am at one with the universe. There is no "there" out there.

I also have at least one friend who says that I am a non-dualist. Dualism is to suggest that there is a distinction between the self and everything else. As far as I can tell, there is not. Quantum entanglement is proof enough for me that we are all connected.

Everything has a beginning and end. As far as I know, the question of whether or not that end is death, the answer to which is entirely subjective until a scientific consensus can be reached otherwise.

Thanks for sharing your theories Scott.
You're very knowledgeable . Some of the terms/words you'd mentioned are foreign to me. Are you connected to the New Age people?
The one friend you said, is he/she a New Ager?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39