Game time: How much do you think that I will make off of this? You know you want some STEEM...

in #life7 years ago

As you may remember, I'm a closet yard sale fanatic...

Well, I guess technically the cat is out of the bag now if it wasn't already before.


Check out that loot!


Every weekend I hit up the local yard sales to see what I can find to resale for a quick buck, and when it comes down to it, gold and silver almost always make the quickest and largest return, hands down. Pictured above are a few of today's finds which includes:

  • A large (and incredibly ugly) sterling silver ring - Bought for $0.50
  • Two large sterling silver bracelets - Bought for $1.00
  • Small 14KT gold necklace - Bought for $1.00

When it comes to finding real gold and silver at yard sales, it takes a bit of knowledge about markings. These markings aren't hard to learn, it just takes some memory. Take a look at some of the following images, memorize them and then put them to use at your next yard sale!


source



source



source



I know, I know...It's a lot of numbers, but once you get them memorized, you will be very happy - Trust me. 

Before I move on, there are a few other acronyms that you should know such as:

  • SS - Stainless Steel
  • CZ - Cubic Zirconia (not important, diamonds are worthless anyways, ask any honest jeweler)
  • GF - Gold filled (not bought by most people, pawn shops or smelters and almost always magnetic)
  • GP - Gold Plated (not bought by most people, pawn shops or smelters and almost always magnetic)
  • 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, etc. - Ring size
  • GE - Gold electroplated (not bought by most people, pawn shops or smelters and almost always magnetic)
  • HGE - Heavy gold electroplating (not bought by most people, pawn shops or smelters and almost always magnetic)
  • SP - Silver plated (not bought by most people, pawn shops or smelters and always magnetic)
  • HSP - Heavy silver plating (not bought by most people, pawn shops or smelters and always magnetic)


These are very important! Do NOT waste your money on plated or filled jewelry, as anyone that buys jewelry will typically never buy items with these markings on them. There is the rare occasion that a piece of jewelry has been gold plated over sterling silver, but typically on that rare occasion the piece will be marked as such.



Ok, ok, enough jabbering, it's time for the point of this post! If you have made it this far...

I have decided to reward 5 STEEM to the person in the comment who guesses the closest to the actual dollar amount that I receive when I sell it!

What are you waiting on?! Get to guessing!






Alright guys and gals, I hope you all enjoyed this original content! If you did, please feel free to upvote and follow! And as always, if you have questions or advice for me, please leave them in the comments.


Sort:  

Loved your post, we do not have this in South Africa would have loved it.

They are very fun!

Sweet! Can I join you next week? 😎😂

$100 lol

Absolutely not.

😂😂😂😂😂

you'll make 300.00 on all 3 pieces..

I am resteeming this vital yard sale info even though the summer is ending where I leave.. you never know.

you are welcome

34 dollar and 24 cent!

I love yard sales and finding hidden treasures.
Sadly I only buy crap lol lol

Hahaha I have those days too, it's not all gold and silver...although I wish it were.

My guess is 52.16

Awesome finds, thank you for taking the time to show us the ropes of a lucrative hobby! I enjoy garage sales as is, now perhaps I will find some investments mixed in with my impulse buys!

Do it! And definitely feel free to share your finds with us!

This is an excellent and informative post @rigaronib and now I'll have a 'Goldeneye' for good deals thanks to you fella, nice one mate. I reckon that you would receive $23 for the lot, and for $2.50, that's good business.

Perfect! I hope you can find some good deals!

Very nice @rigaronib ... Bless

I'll go....$45. Nice finds! I have taught you well.

Pssshhh, please.

LOL, fact or joking?

Uh...Which part?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88