You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If you had the money to quit working, what would you be doing now?

in #life6 years ago

There are whole programmes about this in the UK.

It actually looks quite good fun.

You can also make quite a lot of money out of it - if you wear dungerees and a flat cap, target hipsters as your market and call the whole process 'upcycling'.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Whole Programmes?! Gimme links. Is it on Netflix? Can I get it by Torrent? I want to learn!!!

As for money - oh yeah. I've seen some awful shit sold for crazy sums of money. Just Google "Shabby Chic" and look at those prices. Hundreds of dollar for pieces that look like they've seen some awful things. But the question was what I would do if I didn't need to work. I find woodworking relaxes me, and renovating a piece of trash I found on the street into something presentable makes me feel very accomplished. I doubt I'll try to sell my pieces (I name them) but I might give them away to good homes, like I said.

My first finished project is Elizabeth, a simple side table my husband found on the street corner. She was originally white, filthy and had a broken leg. Now she's blush pink with hot pink decorations and eyeshadow (yes, I woodwork with makeup).

Gosh, now I feel like writing a post about it!

'Money for nothing' is on iplayer...

Sounds very steemit - an upcycling series I say for it.

Hopefully you took some pre and post pictures of Elizabeth...?

Posted using Partiko Android

Of course I did! After I get back from Italy, there's Rupert and then spoiled little Fergie with all her complex curves and decorations.

I thought you might have.. it kind of goes with the upcycling territory.

I might have to get into it myself - I'm moving into a new house hopefully next week which is too small to take some of my current furniture.

Better get busy in the thrift stores!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30