on the joys of no WIFI: how much mobile data could you live off?

in #life5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: on the joys of no WIFI: how much mobile data could you live off?


I've moved to Hive, along with most other people, following Justin Sun's takeover of Steem in the Spring of 2020. I believe hive is a lot more decentralised than Steem!

Sort:  

I once burned 5.5 GB of phone data in one evening - that was enough for a block by my long term contractors Vodafone who were offering unlimited data :)

No idea what I consume day to day at present, but on my phone I switch the data off most of my apps - youtube had to go first.

On coffee shops...

...I regard them as places where I can pretty much guarantee being left alone to work.

Everyone else is there for that reason :)

Then it's not unlimited - 5GB cld be as little as 30 mins of video!

You can browse with a data saver picture free quite freely for a few hours with a couple of GB.

Good old British xoffee shops!

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't think they expected a phone to be tethered to a PC and be used to stream 20+ webcams for a few hours :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I was wondering about just this as I am thinking about buying/hiring a caravan to try out living in another part of the country. I have several dongles and I think the last time I used them (several years ago now), I was using about 1GB a day.
I have thought about surviving off coffee shop/library wifi and downloading videos/tv etc.

You could manage with around 20GB a month - ID mobile does that for £10 I think (might be £15) if you can find your way to a coffee shop for a few hrs a week to do all the heavier usage stuff.

You can manage via downloading/ time releasing posts.

It also helps prevent idling online.

Where are you thinking of moving to?

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm thinking about the East Kent coast, my family are there and the journey time/costs to work in London are about the same as from Leicester. I'm not sure, though, I'd like to try renting for six months in the winter and see how I got on.

You mean Ramsgate or Deal or somewhere around there? I quite like Thanet etc.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, my dad was from Ramsgate.

I just recently moved into a new apartment and had to go threw a month without wifi. You can only survive by downloading as much content through free wifi as possible...crazy how addicted we got over the past decade!

Posted using Partiko Android

It does seem to be a necessity!

Posted using Partiko Android

I just recently moved into a new apartment and had to go through a month without wifi. You can only survive by downloading as much content through free wifi as possible...crazy how addicted we got over the past decade!

Posted using Partiko Android

Haven’t tested and am fearful of trying. I have unlimited 4g on my phone which is faster than most free wireless

Posted using Partiko iOS

Crikey - that must cost a bit!

Posted using Partiko Android

As you know I live in Switzerland, everything costs more then a bit
But the network here is really amazing and covers close to everything. there is even high speed internet on the ski slopes, lol

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @revisesociology!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.930 which ranks you at #1197 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 1194).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 168 contributions, your post is ranked at #20.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @revisesociology!

You just got a 1.41% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

!bookkeeping steemmonsters

Hi @revisesociology!

steemmonsters

Received:

  • 225.147 STEEM
  • 1.275 STEEM from Affiliate
  • 0.000 STEEM from tournament prizes
  • 62.231 SBD
  • 0.000 SBD from Affiliate

Spent:

  • 508.819 STEEM
  • 5.000 STEEM for tournament entry fees
  • 80.705 SBD

Total:

  • -287.397 STEEM
  • -18.474 SBD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88