You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ⏺ Message to most people: Throw your phone away! Part 2

in #life7 years ago

I resisted owning a smartphone up until a few months ago. A “dumb” phone was great — there’s not really anything you can do with it, so you don’t waste your time reaching for it all day. The only times I ever used it were to place calls (because texting on a flip phone is horribly annoying).

I didn’t feel like I was missing out by not owning a smartphone. I could get directions on my computer before leaving, jot down notes on pen and paper, and message friends and family in bulk from a laptop, rather than let my phone distract me throughout the day.

I have to say I miss that a lot. I was given a phone by my workplace, and it’s really distracting. I reach for it all the time wondering what news it’ll show on the push notifications, and I’m suddenly tempted to check my email so much more often than I used to. And it’s not like anyone is messaging me more than before.

So yeah. Maybe someday I’ll gather the guts to go back to a flip phone.

Sort:  



Yeah, I can definitely agree sometimes having a 'dumb' phone can save you from distractions haha! :D

Nice move though. Nothing wrong with a geniusphone (See what I did there) if you can control yourself I suppose.

Nice one!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65317.17
ETH 2646.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86