Signage That Encourages Thinking And Reflection As We Remember

in #life6 years ago (edited)

@knarly327 and I live in the countryside (about a 30 minute drive north) outside of a city that's called Quinte West. The city is located on the shores of Lake Ontario, in Ontario Canada. It's the gateway to the Trent-Severn Waterway system and it's also home to one of Canada's largest Airforce bases which is called CFB Trenton/8 Wing.

The city of Quinte West lists 50,000 people as its year round population and CFB Trenton contributes $110 million into the local economy just in its annual payroll contribution. There are also countless spin-off businesses (from an economic impact perspective) that are indirectly tied to base activities.  8 Wing is the largest employer in our local area and as a result has a significant impact on almost everyone who calls this area, their home and who also operate businesses here.

Tomorrow, November 11th, is Remembrance Day.

On this day, we set time aside to remember the sacrifices All people made in effort to restore peace and protect both freedom and civil liberties around the world.

There will be parades and ceremonies across the entire country tomorrow morning commencing sharply at 11:00 am. Minute guns will be fired and speeches will be given.

Here's a video, taken in 2015 of the ceremony in my country's capital city, Ottawa.

(It was posted by the National on November 11, 2015.)

The photos that I am sharing, I personally took a few days ago because I respect and appreciate the effort that the business owner (of this factory) has made. It's just down the street from my own shop and it has been on display this entire week. It was raining quite hard when I took these photos but I really wanted to share them with all of you.

On one side of the sign we have the first 2 lines of a poem called In Flanders Fields which was written by John McCrae in 1915. Mr. McCrae was Canadian. He was a doctor, and a Major artillery commander in the first World War.

On the other side, is the following statement: 

The Living Owe It To Those Who Can No Longer Speak To Tell Their Story

Canadians remember and we will never forget. This is in an effort to choose peace where ever we can.

Does your country remember their fallen in a special way? If so, how and when?

I welcome your comments and invite you to follow me on my journey...I will share our Canadian traditions as I observe them.

 

~ Rebecca Ryan






 

Sort:  

We shouldn't remember on a yearly basis but everyday in our life thank those indivuals that served for their country and lost their life

rebecca this has nothing to do with your post, but i just found a film of you from an hour where you explained your life. maybe it can fall under the reflection bit. Amazing woman you have done so much to show the best of your self ! Proud on you !!!
https://steemit.com/health/@stirthepotcs/rebecca-s-story-by-rebecca-ryan
by other searches i got to this lady with a bit of difference in the name, but i found for some reason fitting in to the way i wanted to thank you for your introduction.


I think it is all in the name :-) as long as your name sounds like Rebecca ryan you are a fighter. :-) x

Thanks for your friendship and kind words @janine-ariane. I am touched by them. This lady and I do have a few things in common. Life knocks you down, you figure out how to pick yourself back up and you keep going. One step at a time. :)
Thanks for watching my documentary.
Rebecca

In Mexico this way it reminds the fallen, the dead, every loved one.

Dia-de-Muertos-en-Michoacan-597b77625f9b58928bd8e2fc.jpg


Thank you for sharing these lovely photos of how you honour and remember all the people who have died in Mexico. Your customs and traditions are beautiful. ;)

Thanks,
@rebeccaryan.

For us, they are always in our hearts.

@rebeccaryan
The desire to be free or at least choose is what humans will fight for.
No one wants to be held captive by others.
Our veterans made it possible for us to be free.
Free to choose our government and the representatives.
We owe a lot to our veterans. Without them We would not be here.
We salute all veterans who served us and our country.

Francis

Well said @Francisk! I completely agree.

Oh Rebecca Rebecca. Where art thou?


You know that I can't Steemit live without you.
I know. Hey old man. Give me some time. Ha

Francis

Hahaha! I love George Jones, Francis.
I will NEVER stop Francis. I give you my word... Burning Man. ;)

Rebecca............

Direct hit
girl bow.jpg (PIxabay)
Oh oh......................................lol

Francis

@rebeccaryan,
Wow that's awesome! 8 Wings and all these celebration I heard 1st time today!
"On this day, we set time aside to remember the sacrifices All people made in effort to restore peace and protect both freedom and civil liberties around the world."
While I am reading this I thought you will mention"liberties of the country" instead of "liberties around the world"! When I read that part I feel a huge respect about this day and the way you think! Hope to hear more about this celebration of worlds peace and freedom! I will be a part of it from my country! Coz this is not only for a country, this is for the peace and freedom for the entire world!

Cheers~

This is my interpretation @theguruasia. I have spoken for my entire country and many other Canadians may not feel like I do about it. Generally when Canada agrees to participate in global conflicts it is because we want to restore peace and help those people who have been oppressed. We typically always come at it from this perspective. In WWII, it was the Canadians who liberated the Netherlands from Nazi occupation. Canada also provided a safe refuge for the Dutch Royal Family to live in exile and one of their princesses named Margariet was actually born in Canada during this time period. The hospital she was born in was dubbed The Princess Margariet Hospital. A special temporary law was enacted to make the grounds the hospital stands on extra-territorial. This was done to recognize the Dutch citizenship of the Queen which allowed for Princess Margariet to remain Dutch as oppose to Canadian. The Dutch flag flew over-top of our Peace Tower on our Parliament building and it's the only time in all of Canada's history that a Canadian flag was not flown. No kidding, the war was a blood bath, but to this day the Canadians and the Dutch have a long history of friendship and trade. The Dutch have beautiful cemeteries where they take great care of our Canadian soldiers who are buried there...because the Dutch people don't forget either.

@rebeccaryan - Ma'm, my country has 2 freedom days...
#1 - The day we gain freedom by British empire
#2 - The day we finished 20+ years war against terrorism

We celebrate those days with respect of people who died for the freedom of the country ma'm.... I never seen how Canadian celebrate those days before.... Nice you decided to share it ma'm.... After all we need the freedom to live our lives as it is....
To get more audience, I wish to ReSteem your post.

+W+ [UpVoted & ReSteemed]

Freedom to live our lives the way that we want to. This is my wish for all people on our planet. Thank you for sharing your country's customs and observances @steemwija. What are the dates of the 2 days? Are they national holidays?

How beautiful, I'm so glad you shared that with us and again I have learned something new today from you! We have several monuments that honor our fallen heros here and of course Veterans/Memorial Day is also a day of rememberance for the veterans that are no longer with us but also for the ones that are still with us. We also have parades and events that support our veterans. Great post, Madam!

Why thank you, Sir
I knew that there was an American holiday at the end of May but I didn't connect it to Active Service Personnel and Veterans. There you go. I learned something new from you today, too. ;)

Yes, Memorial Day is at the end of May and recognizes our fallen heros that served our country. And today is actually Veterans Day. I could have took some pictures of the parade that I was navagating through but I was really busy trying to get things done.

I think in every country there are days of remembrance, in our greatest holiday it is May 9 Victory Day over Nazi Germany. All country lays flowers and wreaths to monuments and eternal fire. In every city there is an eternal fire, it burns in honor of the dead for our homeland

The eternal fire is beautiful @magnata! What country are you from?

It's beautiful banners mean fulfillment and belonging means sacrifice and redemption means a beautiful anniversary in your life
And perhaps every man lives in his own country
We must greet that anniversary not every year but every day

The beautiful memory of the Canadian people is a beautiful memory of my friend
A beautiful memory for everyone

Thank you for your thoughtful words @walidsalah. Does Egypt have a special day that is marked for remembering?

For my dear friend
Egypt has the war of 1973
Where victory and martyrdom and heroic acts

An excellent article and I admire you and the inhabitants, for the fact that you honor the memory of your ancestors. We are revered on May 9 as the day of victory over fascism. Thanks for your post and your memory, it's worth respect @rebeccaryan!!!

Oh, this is interesting... What country are you from? Is there significance to the date of May 9?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70463.21
ETH 3549.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.87