The clouds and the dirt

in #life5 years ago

GaryVee has this concept that if you want the clouds you need to love the dirt. Cause that's where all the hard work is happening. Everyone loves living in the clouds, having the good fine easy life. But to get there - unless you are a natural-born whale - you need to WORK your ASS off. Get dirty!

Ugh, I love this concept as much as I don't like to get dirty. Wait, no. I do. Wait what are we talking about. Wait. Let me start again.

I am a big fan of doing the work in theory but I sometimes find myself hating it in practice. I guess because work is hard but also that I often feel overwhelmed and lost in it. I have a confidence issue and sometimes I'm not even starting.

Mark Mason - another guy that I love what he writes and always has some interesting insight - talks about choosing your pain. It's kind of the same concept but with a different twist, in the sense that he says you need to chose the dirt work you can handle not only the cloud you want to reside on. Like, sure, maybe it's cool to be a travel photographer but are you willing to be on the road 200 days a years, sleep in unfamiliar beds, be away from family friends and always meeting new people? If yes..then sure. Or if that's worth it for you..

Same with Steemit. Sure, is cool to write and make some crypto. But are you willing to be consistent, to learn about the tech, to reach out to people? And especially, to write for almost no money for months? Some are doing just that and risen in ranks which is great to see but some just give up. I guess the Steemit-cloud is not worth the dirt :)

All in all, I am too often taken with the clouds and forget the dirt and then I feel depressed that I'll never be on the cloud I dream of. But then I remember: ah, I didn't do the work yet. Cool.

Let's post something.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70455.47
ETH 3561.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71