You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Riddle of the Week #6: Burning Ropes (Prize Doubled)

in #life7 years ago

Use the lighter to Burn both sides of the first rope and also the middle of the first rope.
If we would have lit up only both ends of first rope, it would have taken 30 min to fully burn the whole rope.
So, lighting up in the middle of the first rope will cut the time in half.

So, in 15 min, 1st rope will burn out.
Then we have to burn one end of 2nd rope. It will take 10 min.

So, in total, it will take 15 + 10 = 25 min :)

GLHF

I am the first to comment and hopefully the first one to give out the answer correctly :)

Sort:  

This would work if you could identify the exact middle of the one hour rope (in terms of time to burn, not in terms of length) but since the rope burns non-uniformly, you have no way to do this. The left half of the rope could take twice as long to burn as the right half. Great idea though.

I can't think of any more ideas. So, I give up :D
Could you please let me know the answer after this contest is finished ?

Of course :) I always post the solution the day that the contest ends, so just follow me and you'll get a notification when its posted :)

Of course. I will do so :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63904.38
ETH 2638.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83