THE AMERICAN DREAM, IS IT FOR YOU OR THE ELITE?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Evryone always talks about the american dream. Is it just that, a DREAM? Or is just for an elite group?

2017-06-24 07.54.20.png

For 17.5 million households, its just a dream not a reality.

According to dosomething.org

1 in 6 people in America face hunger issues.

17.5 million households where food insecure

1 in 5 children are at risk of hunger.

Among African-American and Litinos that number is 1 in 3.

American throw away enough food a day to feed 25 million American.

So just what is this dream everyone speaks about? Is it real ? Is this truly the land of opportunity?

More than 45 million people in America lives in poverty.

Poverty is defined by a family of 4 who make less then $22,000 a year.

2017-06-24 07.53.04.png

To put it in more simple terms the poverty line is set at someone makeing $10.50 an hour for 40 hours a week.

Did you know that the minimum wage in America is currently at $7.25. Thats $3.25 less than the poverty line.

Why or how, as the country known as the land of opportunity have a minimum wage so low?

Are the elites keeping the poverty so high in America?

2017-06-24 07.53.31.png

ITS TIME TO MAKE THE AMERICAN DREAM, A REALITY. #raisetherate.

Dont throw it away, take it to a foodbank.

Follow me @raybrockman

Upvotes and resteems are appreciated.

Sort:  

I guess the dream is in what is possible, not necessarily the reality of what exists. America is a huge country in terms of landmass and population, with such varied landscape and weather. It appears to be, that country, that has just about everything for everyone; the good, the bad and the ugly. Unfortunately, the powers that be, are more concerned about amassing for themselves, than an even distribution of wealth/ income. Social engineering is also a major factor.

For someone like me who lives in England, where pretty much the same problems exist, in a more restrictive and suffocating environment, the idea of Florida, Texas, California or even North Carolina weather, doesn't seem too bad.

I was out with my 17 year old son yesterday. We went to an area in the South East of England (i don't want to call that area out by naming it). I am a black female, accompanied by a 6 ft 2 young man, yet i was terrified. It was broad day light, but i was afraid. It's a rough area, the level of poverty smacks you in the face. It was heartbreaking to see innocent children being raised in that environment. On our way back home, my son and i were actually sad and humbled. We talked about how sad the situation is and kept wondering what the way out could possibly be. Like you, i am affected by the level of poverty around, but helpless to effecting major change. I wish the world could be a better place for everyone, but i don't know if we are too far gone....

Wow, thanks for the comment. I guess it is a world wide issue.

You are welcome. It really is a global challenge, that all the policy-makers and 'United' organisations seem unable to solve.

Thank you for the upvote. Much appreciated.

although I agree with everything you said, I do believe that poverty is a state of mind. I can guarantee you that every individual has some goods or services that they can market and sell themselves that is worth more than 7.50/hr. My niece wanted to get a job and I convinced her to make and sell her jewelry and now she brings in $500/month at 16 years old. It was her thinking that needed to change. From I need a job to I will create a job. As an employer, I pay my employees no less than $15/hr because I always tell them that they chose to work for me and not themselves and that is my way for showing them how grateful I am.

Very good point my friend, i believe everyone has a special trade or nitch in them. Problems is just like you said, sometimes someone else has to force it out of them. Appreciate the visit and comment. By the way that is an awesome thing that you are doing, paying your employees $15.00 an hour.

one day I am going to let them all go and tell them that I am steeming fulltime lol

Great, thought provoking post. In So. Cal. our minimum wage is $10.50. My company starts basic labor at $11 and then skilled positions range from the mid $13 - $20+. The problem is the kids these days do not want to work....... I like the idea of taking unused food to the foodbank.

Agree. There is a huge breakdown in the younger generation that is scary. I think that alot of it stems from the fact that it takes both father and mother working to survive. Thanks for the comment visit.

Just to play devils advocate, you also cannot force people to take what opportunities there are out there. Some turn a blind eye to opportunities and instead look for short term reward - and then wonder why their lives turn to crap.

Agree somewhat, the minimum wage is set to low in America. You can not change the poverty rate with out changeing the minimum wage rate. Thanks for the visit and comment.

You are from US?

I wished I could go to US, its a beautiful country, but there are also lot of problems, fe. my sisters told me that there you can buy drugz on the street whcich in my country is totaly impossible.

Not to for sure it is any better than where you are.

what you will find is 40 years ago the man could go to work and the woman could stay at home and take care of the children. you can't do that now, life costs way to much

Agree and that is becoming a big issue, it is ruining or younger generation. Thanks for the comment and visit.

hay i enjoy reading different things from different people

sad reality

I quote, "They call it the American Dream because you have to be asleep to believe it!"

The late Great George Carlin

The reality is that most people that are trying to survive on minimum wage are slowly accruing more and more debt simply because they can not afford to pay for the basics. If you work at said wages you do not make enough money to balance the cost of living at the end of the week. You are actually working to get poorer...

Never heard that before, but there is alot of truth behind it. Thanks for the comment and visit.

Your welcome. I will be doing future posts on very similar subjects. I believe awarness is the biggest failure of it all. People simply avoid the reality till it is their own...

If it were for us... it wouldn't be "a dream" it would be a reality!

Well said my friend, I guess it will always be a dream. Thanks for the visit and comment

Sunday visit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59214.59
ETH 2524.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48