First Exam Done, People Understanding Crypto, Mayflies - and Giveaway Winnings Sent Out!

in #life6 years ago (edited)
So… The first exam is done! I handed in the paper yesterday and now I have a few days off ‘till next week’s exam. I think it went quite well, but who knows. I will know in a couple of weeks or so. Today I will mention crypto, the Internet, mayflies and... Goats?

A side note: I have sent out giveaway winnings to those of you who participated in the big Looking For Niche giveaway! If you participated in the giveaway, and you have yet to comment your BitShares account name: Please go find my reply to your giveaway entry on this blog. There you write your BitShares account name and get your LFNCOIN! Easy as that (if you entered before the deadline of course).

Now for something completely different.


Here is a fly. Why is it there? You will know soon!

Recently, when talking about Steemit, people I have talked to have had an easier time grasping the concept. I think in the beginning, Steemit was probably strange and maybe even difficult to understand for all (or most) of us. However, now when I tell people about this place, they get it much quicker. This is based on total anecdotes, but it may be true, that cryptocurrency is becoming mainstream at a pace, where everyone hears a little bit about it here and there and therefore slowly begin to comprehend it - perhaps without even realizing it.

The interesting thing about it for all of us who already - in one way or another - love crypto is, that it becomes much easier to talk to people about the topic, I think. I am too young to have witnessed the beginning of the Internet, with everyone talking about how it was a weird thing that would not last. But! I am here now still in the earlier days of crypto.

In Danish we have a saying:

The X (in this case the Internet) is a mayfly.

The literal translation of mayflies from Danish would be day-flies. There once was a myth that mayflies could only live for 24 hours. The idiom means this thing will die quickly. The Internet was considered a mayfly by the world, but clearly, it was not.

We are still in this mayfly territory with crypto to some extent, but at the same time, it has seemingly become part of everyday chatter. Less than half a year ago when I mentioned even Bitcoin, most people gave me blank stares. Now, a lot will tell me that they have definitely heard about it and they can even participate in a discussion on the topic after being introduced a bit more.

On a different note, I talked with a Danish speaking German the other day who pointed out that Danes have a lot of strange idioms. She gave an example that I can best translate to:

I believe that goat have been adequately shaved.

I guess we do have strange sayings! Maybe I should include more, what do you think?

Are you also witnessing a recent rise of the same type of mainstream knowledge?

Sort:  

I had one of the most important exams of this semester in Wednesday and I now I have to study for 2 in the next week, so I know you're feeling.

I mean, I've been studying since the October, but I'm going to a pretty hard university, so sometimes this isn't enough.

I invested my first "cents" in crypto during this dip, too.

I can say that it can a distraction.

I need to study, and I can't concentrate becuase I need to check coinmarketcap every 30minutes xd.

Crypto surely is a distraction but oftentimes it's probably better to leave it be for a while and come back when it's hopefully risen in value :P

Good luck with the exam!

In my surroundings there are still not really much people who know what bitcoin is. And if they know then they often think that bitcoin is the only cryptocurrency. Oh and I think every language have strange sayings. In the Netherlands we have one wich says: unfortunately peanutbutter. It means like too bad. Goodluck with your next exam in a few Days! :)

"Unfortunately peanutbutter" is pretty good! I've encountered your experience too, but it's getting less and less for me at least. And thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70