Planning. So much planning needed

in #life6 years ago

Today is the last day at my Mum's place. We've still got 2 days of driving and 2 days at a friends place between them before the holiday is over, but it's really starting to feel like we're headed back to reality and normality.

Though what is that anymore? Since leaving for this trip it's been confirmed that we're expecting a baby, my study has finally been transferred to a new provider, and we've gotten engaged. So 'normal' seems like it'll be something very different to what it was just a month ago when I headed off for Christmas.

Yesterday was spent (asides from avoiding the heat) going to a baby store and just looking at all the options that exist, and talking with some sales reps about some of the specific items they deal with. Mostly car seats. Then when we were back here, making lists of things we will need. For the baby and for the 'house' in general. It was also spent looking at rental property listings and wishing we had an extra $100/week to throw at the rent.

Today's plan however is to pack everything into the car so that we can be on the road by 8 am tomorrow. I also have to plan the drive a bit more than normal so that we have some idea of where the breaks happen, rather than just winging it like I normally do. Thankfully my neck has taken really well to the treatment I've been receiving and the exercises the physio gave me to do, so there should be limited extra discomfort from that while driving.

Hopefully I'll post tomorrow, but approximately 9 hours driving and probably an hour and a half, maybe 2 hours of break times will see quite a long day.

A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats Transparent Background.png

Sort:  

Wow sounds like you've had quite the holiday. And with so much good news! Congratulations on the baby and engagement :)

Indeed we have had. It's been a lot of fun, and a great time seeing my family get to know my partner and her family.

Thanks

Have a safe, enjoyable trip.

You are going to feel so good when you finally get to sleep in your own bed!! Sweet dreams!

To be honest, the beds here are far nicer, and my bed isn't really my bed, but the one that comes with the room I rent. But I will feel so much better when I do finally get to sleep in my own bed, once we find a place and buy a bed!

Pro-tip: you don't need nearly as much baby stuff as the shops and things would have you believe ;D

Keep blogging, maybe eventually you'll make enough off here to be able to afford that little bit more in rent for a nicer place!

Drive safely and carefully, hopefully you won't be too sore at the other end when you get home.

goatsig

Yeah, I'm well aware that we don't need all the stuff they try to sell you. But it's still a not so short list of things to obtain.

We do have a cot and change table already thanks to my sister though, so that's a start.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71