Bumble bees on the endangered species list.

in #life6 years ago

Randolph Rope
Just now ·
“If the bee disappeared off the surface of the globe then man would only have four years of life left.” ~ Albert Einstien.

I tried to explain this to a group . . . I was met with the words - and I quote, "Why do we need bees, all they do is sting us and eat our honey?"
At that point. I realized, that it didn't matter what reality was . . . some groups of people will not listen if they don't have enough basic knowledge to form a background connection. Anyway . . . making bee hives is still on my summer's 'to do list'.
Not to save humanity though.

![bumble bee.jpg]

()

Source: Agriculture. vic. gov. au.

Sort:  

Also for me it would be interesting to know why if the bees disappear, the earth would only have 4 years to live. It seems to me a somewhat exaggerated phrase, unless, of course, I have a convincing explanation.

Bees pollinate flowers and plants; humans eat plants, animals eat plants, insects eat plants. The entire food chain would be disrupted if bees were to go extinct. Entire species would go extinct. Man can pollinate enough to feed itself for a few years . . . and other insects can pollinate groups of fauna; but, entire forests and natural habitats would die.

Interesting. Well, we must take care of the bees more than we think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06