Day 13 - Roll Up Your Sleeves And Get Your Hands Dirty - 30 Days Mindfulness Challenge

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Pottery

Have you ever wondered why do you like so much to assemble the stuff you buy from Ikea?

I can give you 2 reasons: first, it's something practical, that you do with your own hands, and second because it gives you that satisfaction you get when you see the immediate results of Your work.

And you get to tell your friends: "see that desk over there? I did that!" (Although you didn't make it from scratch, it still gives you that satisfaction :)

Why Using Your Hands In These Virtualised Days Is So Important

It seems to be a lot more to handiwork than meets the high-tech, computer focused, modern eye. Researching for this post I've stumbled upon the website of a fascinating guy who dropped a "white-collar" job in a think - tank to start his own small business of fixing bikes.

Matthew B. Crawford, "a philosopher / mechanic destroys the pretensions of the high-prestige workplace and makes an irresistible case for working with one’s hands" in his New York Times Best Seller book "Shop Class As Soul Craft". (I didn't read the book yet, as I've just discovered it, but it's on my list.)

More on the book and and the experiment a journalist did with working with one's hands, like chiseling stones, you can find in this interesting article from The Guardian.

Day 13-Roll Up Your Sleeves And Get Creative

Today, do at least one activity that involves using your hands in a useful, creative way (no, writing on your laptop doesn't count :) )
Use your hands in a conscious way.
Whether it is cleaning your house, gardening, cooking, sewing, painting, pottery, fixing a squeaky door, or simply playing in sand, today pay attention to your hands and the wonderful things you can create with them.

I noticed that whenever I spend too much time in the virtual world I tend to become tired, confused and sluggish.
I know that's the moment to go outside in the sun and reconnect with nature or do something creative.

Among my favorite ways of getting creative are cooking, especially something that involves playing with dough, painting and decorating shoe boxes with the napkin technique and doing pottery. I don't have the conditions to practice the last one in my apartment, although I would love to.

So I turn to cooking and painting.

Here are some of my latest creations. Those boxes are now in my kitchen where they help me store and organize different jars, bottles etc.

Before and after big box.

Before&after box

Before and after shoe box.

Before&fter box2

I noticed while working on these creative projects that I was completely immersed and I enjoyed every moment.

I was mindful effortlessly. Because the activity drew me in and kept me alert and involved. Just like when I was playing as a kid.

So I can't recommend you enough to just get away from your phone, laptop, TV, or whatever other electrical device and do something creative that requires using your hands.

Try it, have fun with it and see how you feel afterwards.

Pottery photo source Unsplash
Boxes photos source: my collection.


A note on The 30 Days Mindfulness Challenge. I initially published this challenge 2 years ago on my blog Being Raluca and I'm using those articles as a base for this one. I sometimes rewrite 80% of the article, other times I keep more of the original version and rewrite and add less new content.


I'm a psychologist, intuitive coach, blogger and vlogger. You can find me mainly on my blog at Being Raluca where I write about communication, relationships, listening and sexuality. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @raluca.


Raluca Popescu


Sort:  

When I want to relax and get away from the ​computer I do matchsticks art and it keeps me busy for hours! Very helpful post!

Matchsticks art, wow, that awesome. Thanks for sharing your creative hobby.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97