When things go wrong, and you get frustrated, take a break

in #life6 years ago

pexels-photo-196666.jpeg

Two weeks ago I was in a really bad mood for a few days so I got a break from work and I spent a while playing games, watching movies and thinking a little about what I was doing and what I needed to do to get rid of that mood.

Last week I felt extremely frustrated with Steemit, mainly because it worked really slow and I wasn't able to publish anything. I wanted to write, I wanted to publish, yet I couldn't. It was frustrating and I was about to write a different article than what I already wrote and talk about how shitty it is to not be able to use the website to share my work.

But because I already finished most of what I had to do and because I didn't want to spend even more time writing an article out of frustration, I gave up on the idea and I just started playing some games and learn a few things.

Now I'm happy I didn't write that article. Sometimes things go wrong and there's nothing you can do about it. You can say whatever you want, you can write whatever you want, and things won't change.

The main reason we're so frustrated when certain things don't go the way we want, is because there is another person responsible of making sure a service functions well, and when that person doesn't do his or her job, we start blaming him or her.

In my case, I was frustrated with the developers of Steemit for not solving the problem faster so I can focus on my work. In other scenarios, I was angry at other people for not doing their job properly (a recent situation would be when I had no electricity for around 8 or 9 hours, in the middle of the winter) and I just wanted to have a way to share my thoughts with those responsible.

But if you look at other situations when something doesn't go the way you want, but where no one is responsible of anything, you can see that you don't usually get angry, because there's no reason for it. For example, if you want to go out with some friends, but it suddenly starts to rain.

It is an inconvenience and maybe you'll have to stay at home today, but it's not like getting angry at the weather is gonna change a thing. So you don't get angry at all. You just find something else to do and you go out on a different day.

Most of us are frustrated when things don't work the way we'd like them to, and whenever other people are responsible for that, we feel the need to criticize them and share our frustration.

Sometimes that may work, especially if those people can do something to improve their services (or whatever they do), but in a lot of cases it doesn't solve anything. We just say a bunch of things that don't have any impact on anything and we hope that the entire world will change into what we want it to be.

When you want to do that, when frustration is so big that you want to write or say something to someone hoping to change something, try to stop yourself and do something you enjoy.

If your frustration is related to work, well, the world's not gonna end if you stop working for a few hours (or a day) and you do something you enjoy. Sometimes that's a better option than to yell at other people or to share your frustration online.

Things won't always go your way and making sure people know how upset you are won't change a thing. It can actually ruin your image and make others think you're a bad person. Instead of trying to find a way to share your negative feelings, take a break from what you do and focus on something fun.

You'll see that in a lot of situations, after the problem is solved, you'll be happy that you didn't give in and you didn't share your frustration with others. It wouldn't have solved a thing, and instead of wasting your time, you did something fun that helped you get in a better mood.

Sort:  

That is true @raikuhen take a break and chill because that is always the case everytime you get frustrated and angry Our mind can’t work properly unlike you manage yourself to be calm evrything gonna be fine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70455.47
ETH 3561.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71