Never underestimate your ability to do something

in #life7 years ago

pexels-photo-256963.jpeg

This will be a pretty short article because I just wanted to say something I thought about while laying in bed. A few minutes before starting to write this I finished writing another big article talking about the downsides of being a freelancer and why that work style may be harder than you think.

While writing that article I remembered of a person I know that works with 3D Studio Max and does all kind of things. I never really cared about that software but I find it interesting and fun to create 3D elements.

My computer right now doesn't allow me to use such complex software, but it would be nice to try and learn it in the future. However, while that may happen in a few months or next year, right now I have no idea how to use the software. I wouldn't even know how to create a new project.

I could easily lose all my motivation and think I'm stupid, either now or after getting the software and realizing I'm not able to do anything. I can easily consider that I'm just not as good as others and I'm not able to use that software, therefore I'm too stupid to work with it.

However, that's not the case. We think too much about all the things we can't do as being something impossible for us, something only the professionals can do and we would never be able to do anything similar. The bad side of this is that we're forgetting how all the things we can't do are only things we didn't yet learn.

If I can't work in 3D Studio Max right now it isn't because I'm too stupid or because the software it's too complex. I just didn't learn how to use it yet. If I don't now how to code in Python or C++ it's not because it's something impossible to do or I'm not good enough to do it, but I just didn't spend enough time learning how to code yet.

Most of the things we think we can't do are easier than we actually expect. We just don't know enough. The difference between us and an expert isn't some natural talent or "gift". The expert simply knows way more than we do, because he spent more time learning and understanding how the tool we want to use works.

Too many people give up on what they love because they consider they're just not good enough. That has nothing to do with anything. You just don't think about educating yourself as being the key element to doing what you so much want.

So, next time you find something you want to do or use, and you don't know how, stop thinking that you're stupid or that you just don't have what it takes. All you need is to invest some time into educating yourself, to learn how to use that tool or to do that thing, and you're good to go.

Sort:  

Great positive post @raikuhen. It's a great reminder that we can potentially do anything if we just give ourselves a chance. Thanks for sharing your morning thoughts! That's a great way to start the day. Upvoting and following you.

I also run the Collaborative Art Journey where over 85 artists are collaborating to make art here on Steemit. I see you have some artistic abilities. Perhaps you'd like to get in on this incredible artistic community with us. The finale of our latest collaboration is coming soon. Here is the invitation that ended last night: https://steemit.com/collaborativeartjourney/@everlove/invitation-collaborative-art-journey-expansion-no-25-this-is-your-invitation-to-collaborate-whatever-your-expression-bring-it-on

Thank you for the kind words and for the offer. Sadly, I stopped working on art related projects because of my computer being too slow for me to focus on my work, but I'll consider it in the future if I'll get a new computer and if I'll start working in Photoshop again :)

It doesn't have to be digital art. It can be a song, a poem, a story, or printed and worked on manually, then just photographed and uploaded. There are lots of options -- we would want circumstances of technology to limit our expression. Would love to have you join us.

At first 3d programs seemed immensely complicated to me. The only thing that was holding me back from learning in the beginning was my thought that it was too complicated. It was first when someone talked to me about it and said that it's not as hard as I think and I could learn the basics in one month. Now this was my new way of thinking, and one month later I knew the basics. I have an advice for you my friend. Your material is really great, I think it's not getting seen enough, you can use bots such as: @minnowbooster, @bellyrub, @booster to get more traction when you post !

Glad to hear it worked out for you! And I thought about using bots like minnowbooster but I decided not to, and instead focus on creating content for people who actually consume it. If I can get an Upvote from a person who really liked the article I created, that's more valuable than an Upvote from a booster. Who knows, maybe I'll use bots in the future, but right now, I'd like to focus on people. Thanks for the comment and for the upvote from @lovejuice! :)

You are much welcome :)

This post has received a 9.47 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @dandesign86. They have officially sprayed their dank amps all over your post rewards. GOOD TIMES! Vote for Aggroed!

Pure wisdom. "The difference isn't a natural talent or gift..." WOW THIS IS GOLD💫😏👌🏻 Like if only everyone understood that! We all have the potential in the world sleeping inside of us. You just gotta wake it up and work work work and never stop! Great mindset my friend keep it up cutie! 💚👌🏻💎

Thank you very much for your kind words and for the comment! Hopefully more people understand this and realize their future depends on their efforts and not on how many "natural talents" they have :)

Yeah exactly! You have the perfect mindset! The ones who only rely on their talent are yet to be disappointed. It can only do so much. Efforts, consistency and hard work are the ones who win in the long term. 😍👌🏻💫 my pleasure:) you are doing very great keep on shining 👌🏻❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99