On my way to becoming a whale! What real estate profession taught me!

in #life8 years ago (edited)

  Real estate is one tough business and everybody knows that. Although it is rewarding, it also implies hard work, people skills  and a bit of luck, like everything else in life!

I barely had any idea what real estate what was all about, and this could be easily considered a mistake when starting a business, but I still started and today I am glad I did. I have learned on the job and I had the advantage of a good moment in the Romanian real estate, a time of recovery and growth, but what helped me the most was the determination.

 This profession is both beautiful and hard, as you need to work hard, have patience and most of all, have people skills. It's more then just showing people houses, it's about caring for what the client wants, it's about respecting your clients and about understanding that, for most people at least, this is the most important transaction of their life, so you need to find the best place for each and every one of them. I find that it is also very important to make sure you give people all the angles, point out all the advantages and most of all the potential a place has, as may not see it. In order to call yourself a real estate professional, you need practice, you need months and months of front line learning and you need to be prepared for new and challenging situations every single day. If you want a career in reals estate on a market that is not that regulated as it is in other states, you need to take your sweet time, be responsible and respectful and always expect the unexpected.

 Most transactions won't go as expected, so be patient and learn from them, you'll get your commission in the end, but most important you'll get the satisfaction of helping someone get their dream house.

  It is not about the type of job, it is about how you approach whatever you choose to do. Working hard and being professional will soon pay off and you can expand your network, you can find reliable collaborators and move up.

 But in the end it is about caring for what people want and loving your job, this will help you be known and appreciated. 

Don't ever treat people like a piece of business, put a bit of your soul there and they will always feel it

 I may have not discovered the wheel here, but making your way in a tough profession, in a tough country, in your twenties it's not easy, trust me.

 I've learned a great deal about myself, I've grown and most of all I've learned about people.......and people are complex creatures. Hope you enjoyed my "discoveries" in the real estate profession and I will come back with more on how I opened my own business, how it goes and what the future plans are, as the goal is to become a whale in the field:). "  

Sort:  

It's a long way until you will become a whale, but you must hope to get what you want, right? Remember from where you start if you become a whale RADULE!!!

I get what you say about people skills. When you grasp the idea of a family buying a house to start a new chapter of their lives... you can understand how important is to make them feel they're making the right decision.

You'll benefit a lot from #NLP (Neuro-linguistic programming), check my post about BELIEFS.
http://steem.link/selfSTEEMbeliefs

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 10.8 and reading ease of 68%. This puts the writing level on par with Michael Crichton and Mitt Romney.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58925.39
ETH 2498.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48