Eyes Without A Face

in #life6 years ago

8BBA1EEF-EBFB-48B0-BE68-649930069602.jpeg

I was living in an illusion for far too long.

I have spent most of my life unhappy, drinking poison and slowly rotting from the inside out on what I thought were the expectations of everyone around me. It seemed that my family and friends were all too happy to see and believe in this illusion I created to reflect back to all onlookers. I fed and lived on the consumption of validation and acceptance, while my soul continued to shrink with each passing day. Suddenly, life began to change drastically, no longer moving through my existence by brail, both eyes slowly opened one eyelash at a time.

I could feel this ball of toxic, bottomless, sadness brewing within me. The feeling had become so familiar that I stopped even acknowledging it. Instead, I would attend class, washing down my homework with opiates and benzodiazepines, knowing when I ran out (which I always did) that my seat in the room would remain empty until I could reload my stock. This went for everything in my life. When I was unable to appease my addiction then I was unable to do ANYTHING else as well.

B2FD5556-ABFA-4645-8692-DA19117AC063.jpeg

This went on for years. Years of me getting up early in the morning to run 5 miles, coming home to shower and make my way to class, maintaining a 4.0 GPA, volunteering within my community and working five nights a week, all stirred the vortex of emptiness within. During this time, everyone was completely unaware that upon opening my eyes, before putting a toe on the ground, I’d reach over to my nightstand, open the drawer, pull out my stash of Norco, put ten (yep, 10) in my palm and throw them in my mouth, washing them down with a sip of water, just so I could feel “normal” again. After about 20 minutes I’d chase that down with coffee and Clonapin. I found myself in-prisoned in my own body. Everyone was so proud of me, how could I stop taking the only thing that fuels my day? I mean, I couldn’t physically function without these things anymore.

Every cell within my body was extinguished with poison. I didn’t know what feelings, other than polluted remnants of hopelessness, felt like any longer. I often wished I knew how everyone else around me could live and function in a world without these demonic morsels of soul sucking pellets being shoved down their throats. I didn’t realise that when I stopped diluting myself I still would be drowning in sorrow. Even though I wasn’t living off of norco anymore, the internal pit of misery continued to grow.

Everything was consistently unsatisfying. The food of life remained tasteless as ever. My constant need to incessantly seek validation without overtly seeking validation was exhausting. I’d jog to maintain the fallacy of “health”, shop to maintain the fallacy of “acceptance”, and devour reality television to maintain the fallacy of “happiness”, all to no avail. Choking on medication, starved on nutrition and void on happiness, I constantly questioned the meaning of life. As I began answering this question, I had no idea that everything I’ve ever known was going to change.

A9EA6450-A60F-40EA-BB12-0A9B003EA3A9.jpeg

It was in 2014 when I met my, now, husband. He was slightly prickly in that he never quite said the “right” things but what he did say always resonated. It felt as if the hand of my soul reached out to hold the hand of his soul effortlessly. I was finally home! One by one the fat of my life began falling by the wayside. Through his strength and example, I began to re-evaluate every aspect of my life, my thoughts, my notions and my ideals. I’d ask myself questions, such as “is getting a masters degree important to me or does it serve the expectations of someone else”, “do I want children because ‘that’s what I’m supposed to do’ or is it okay to be the original engineer of what my life looks like”, “are designer clothes, designer cars and designer houses really the recipe for a designer life”? Slowly but surely my purpose became clear; my purpose in life was to attain happiness.

57E868B5-5242-467A-81DD-14C4D0B3401E.jpeg

The synthetic happiness being peddled by our governments, displayed on our devices and repeated by our neighbors, wasn’t going to cut it anymore. I was on a journey of monumental importance. The happiness I would find, couldn’t be bought, sold, amalgamated, or fabricated, only discovered. It could, however, be shared and enjoyed by everyone around me (this was a bonus I did not anticipate).

As if looking at the world through new lenses, I could see again. Suddenly, air became refreshing, colors had depth to their brightness, laughing wasn’t reserved for a text abbreviation, smiling was passed on contagiously, food was consumed with love for nutrients, and that hollowed out hole inside began to vanish. Nothing is more important than evolving and sustaining this way of life.

5B229896-8701-4B89-959D-F5DFDA02E650.jpeg

Far too often we barter our time for money so we can accumulate more things that’ll attempt to mimic this peaceful feeling. The stuff we collect never seems to quite cut it. The time we trade is time we’ll never get back so we subconsciously replace it with physical representations worn on our bodies, displayed on our walls, parked in our driveways and hung around our necks. None of which has ever made any of us happy and yet like idiots we work harder, we buy more, we sleep less, we sleep walk through our lives not listening to what our spirits are pleading with us to hear. Happiness is not an external factor found outside of ourselves. Happiness is a continuous discovery of the depths of your soul relating to the world around you. We don’t relate to electronic devices or fashion, we relate to nature, other’s and ourselves. There once was a time that I lived shackled to a beautiful illusion, now I only live free under the sun of my co constructed reality; my co, being @dandays and I. This existence suits us all, opening our eyes is the only way to shatter the illusion. May peace be with you all ✌️.

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

This is such a beautiful love declaration! It's almost as if you were curing yourself for lacking @dandays in your life, and once he was there, no need to fill up that void anymore !
There are a lots of gems in that text, may I ?

I fed and lived on the consumption of validation and acceptance, while my soul continued to shrink with each passing day
Searching Love

My constant need to incessantly seek validation without overtly seeking validation was exhausting
I just love this sentence, because it represents the moment when you stop searching for love

Suddenly, air became refreshing, colors had depth to their brightness, laughing wasn’t reserved for a text abbreviation (my favorite part), smiling was passed on contagiously, food was consumed with love for nutrients, and that hollowed out hole inside began to vanish
When you find Love!

I am so glad you like those parts. I just started writing, really with not much direction and let the disorganized thoughts fall where they wanted.

I think you’re right about me heeling myself so I was open to receive everything @dandays is. Life is such a trip in that way; one day you think in this specific confined way and the next your horizons are so broad that you couldn’t even fathom going back to the day before.

As always, thank you for your unwavering support and constant thoughtful words of encouragement. It means a lot. Blessings!

Also, love had been there the entire time. I just had a hard time seeing through all of my searching, yearning and contriving. ;)

is life is very hard, or simply does not make sense, we easily get lost, but god, actually works in mysterious ways and sends an angel or puts us at a point of inflection, but in the end, is always by our side, I really like you to be well, I wish you the best on this trip called life.

Thank you so much for say that @difelice5000. I wish the same for you my friend. God Bless!

Life is a mystery and a journey I'd like to call it a mysterious journey, one we venture into without having the slightest idea of what we are up against. We learn on the way. Its a journey and the unknown doesnt terrify us it excites us. A journey with ups and down, highs and lows, good and bad but all these experiences are what shapes our tomorrow. Enjoy your journey brother. I love the perspective from which you write from. Thumbs up

I like how you say “the unknown doesn’t terrify us it excites us”. This is the only way to actually “live” life for living within the confines of the “known” is merely existing. Thanks for stopping by @josefpius, I appreciate your support. Btw, I’m a girl sir but you’re still my brother! This journey is the only thing we truly have. All of my peace to you ✌️

Luckiest guy.... you know the rest.

“Happiness is a continuous discovery of the depths of your soul relating to the world around you.” I enjoy hearing everyone’s definition of happiness. I’ve never heard you say yours like that. I like it. That one, in your words, “resonates.”

The longer anyone, myself included, continues to practice sobriety, the more I think we’ll realize that clamming up the effects of these things is a bad idea. Talk about it. Talk about fhe symptoms, talk about getting off of it, the rest will work out the way it’s supposed to.

Pretending that world is ‘that world’ now and we’re better than that or beyond it is a bad idea in my opinion. We’re all still here. All.

Thank you for sharing your story and thank you for mentioning you don’t mind me that much. Muah!

When they prescribe you meds to get off other meds, you know you’re in deep. No pretending my world now is different from my world then, other than the fact is now I can actually feel the various good feelings, we as humans, are meant to feel. These battles are tough and going to war with yourself over things that are killing us is one of the scariest things anyone will go through. Coming out on the other side will prepare you for any other thing you have to conquer in life. Thanks for always being a pillar of support and a friend unparalleled. Piece o cake. Muah!

Do not worry yourself. Try to be happy in this world. I wish you health wellness happiness.🤗

Thank you for the great wishes my friend. Today, I am only happy and life is great. I wish you all the goodness as well.

Thank you so much 😃

Thank you so much 🤗🤗🤗

I don't know how you young people make it...my life is uncomplicated and free because I always did what I was told. I was fantastic in school because I was my own person ...I never used alcohol, pills or any of the other mind bending drugs that youth is so enamored with. I always put others before myself. I continue to be a perfect example of what every man should be....and if you buy my line of crap you need help even more than I.

Sincerely, you're one of my favorite people and your life will continue to get richer.
p.s. you're also really cute!
.

Congratulations @puravidaville! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63282.43
ETH 3083.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85