You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is The Bible Fake News? Why It's So Difficult For Me To Ascribe To Religious Doctrines - DISCUSSION

in #life8 years ago (edited)

IMHO, and in the opinions of many across the world, the Bible is the living word of God. I read the KJV, and always have. It is difficult to explain to a non-believer (in Christ) about its merit and validity because there are truths in it that can only be clearly seen by those who believe, while others are immediately powerfully evident. There is also a depth to it that makes it completely unlike any other book, a sort of fountain or "wellspring" quality that provides new insights on already-read, familiar passages.

I offer you a challenge: Read a Proverb a day for each day of the month, and if you're up to it, 5 Psalms/day. See how you feel about it after that. I am confident that the Bible can't be judged based on a passing glance, a view with a set agenda to disbelieve, etc. There is a New Atheism (for example, what the ridiculous and debunked Zeitgeist movie spreads) that deems itself quite wonderful and brilliant. However, let me assure you that this is no special generation, and that the Bible stands true and unaffected by its challengers. I pray you find the Truth :)

Sort:  

PS: It has been my experience, as a now middle-aged man, that people will sometimes be willing to believe ANYTHING that does not deal with their sin and its eternal consequence. Then they adorn this "new" belief with fancy language and pretty words, to their detriment. Men are incredibly talented at fooling themselves.

I have considered reading the bible, but I don't know what has been changed, so I cannot trust it. I have more interest in the book of Enoch, and the gospel of Thomas, simply because they were censored, which to me means might actually be useful or important. I will take you up on your challenge though. Do you have a website where I can find good ones?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65317.17
ETH 2646.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86