A calm weekend and a crappy night

in #life3 years ago (edited)

Our weekend was calm and relaxing.

Saturday started out with a quick visit from mum and dad, on their way to my brother. Seeing as I don't usually have cookies or something lying around, we headed to the shop early to get some. That was the start of something beautiful...

Dinner! So both kale and sweet potatoes were on sale in our little hometown shop. I figured I could make a nice mashed dish with those and went looking for vegan bacon pieces. Which, ofcourse, being a small hometown shop, they didn't have. My freezer did though! So we had a very delicious dinner that evening. I want to write down its recipe somewhere in the near future, so you'll probably see/read more about it then. (While ordering groceries online this morning, I made sure to order the ingredients for another batch!)

Playfulfoodie Waterloopbos

On sunday, we drove towards the nearest, big-ish forest and went for a nice walk. We tried to go early to beat the crowd, but hubby slept in just a little too long, so when we arrived... everyone else did too. I quickly rushed us forward at a high tempo to not have to look at everyone's back all walk long and that resulted in a nice and quiet walk.

Afterwards, we played New World together, helping hubby level up his healing staff and doing the main quest (I am very much behind on that one). We had leftovers from the freezer for dinner and went to bed fairly early.

First, I couldn't get warm, then, my top half was way too warm while my bottom half was still cold. My body did not like that discrepancy and as a result, I was kept awake for half of the night. Ugh! I already started to feel like I was getting a cold, which this horrible night did not help with. So now, I actually feel kinda crappy and I'll be forced to take it slow today. I'll hold off on replies for a while, but will get to them eventually!

Is summer on its way back yet?


Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Foodblog | Redbubble shop | Vida shop |

Connect with me on:
| Pinterest | Twitter | Twitch | Steam |

P.S.: The picture above is created by me and not to be used anywhere without my written consent.

Sort:  

Hi I have a community called stars I would really love for you to join 🤝

In life there are different moments, blessed are the good ones, and before the bad ones it is appropriate as you said :"keep calm". Blessings.

Good weekend, I was struck by the vegan bacon, is it because you miss the taste of real bacon? or why do you want to give another flavor to the vegan dish? I would like the recipe for bacon, if one day you publish it I will be waiting for it.

Well, I didn't stop eating meat because I hated the taste. I stopped eating it, because of the abuse and murder of innocent animals. Aside from that, I don't really need that idea of meat, but I have a husband who is very sweet to not eat meat with me and all he asks in return is to have 'the idea of meat', so I'm stuck having to use meat replacements ;-)

I use a random plant-based bacon and use a few drops of liquid smoke and also some smoked paprika powder. Then, I heat it up on pretty high and wait for it to get a little crunchy (like dead animal bacon). This time, I added a little soy sauce for the extra salty flavour and threw in the onions, because I wanted those aswell ;-)

It ended up really nice! It just takes a couple of tries to get it right, because it's a new kinda product to cook with.

The important thing is that you have a balanced diet: protein, fat and carbohydrates necessary for your body to stay healthy.

Very true. Luckily, we can have all of that without any kind of animal product and that way, it's even healthier too :-)

The same thing happens to me when I sleep and my feet get cold, I can't sleep, that's why I make sure to wrap myself evenly so I can sleep better. Thanks for sharing your story.

Here's a small tip 👍🏾 @tipu curate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89