Ten reasons I'm going to quit smoking — and how I plan to do itsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I've been a smoker for 16 years now, and I'm totally done with it. I want to quit. Lately it's been bothering me more and more how I'm a slave to my addiction. The Dutch word for addiction literally translates as "enslavement", and it couldn't be more appropriate.

Me, thoughtfully enjoying a cigarette.

I've quit it before, sometimes successfully for over 6 months and other times I didn't even last a day. This time I decided to get some help, and went to a "Quit Smoking coach". Secretly I hoped for some kind of miracle cure, but honestly I think I already knew there was no such thing. One can dream, though.

Instead of prescribing me some kind of medication we just had a good conversation, and I left with a bunch of good tips. One of them was to make a list of reasons I want to quit and look at it every time I feel the need to light one up. Since I spend hours on Steemit each day I figured might as well write the list here.

Benefits of me not smoking (in no particular order)

  1. I'll smell better
  2. No more worries over when and where I can smoke
  3. Lower chance of getting cancer, cardiovascular problems and other horrible diseases
  4. I'll save about €40 every week (that's over €2000 a year!)
  5. Nicer breath
  6. No more standing in the cold and/or rain by myself while everyone else is warm and dry inside
  7. My father will be quite proud of me
  8. My teeth will start looking whiter
  9. The freedom to go wherever I want without having to figure out if and where I have to buy a new pack
  10. Better sense of taste and smell

There's probably a lot more benefits (let me know!) but this list will suffice for now.

The plan

Here's what I'm going to do to successfully quit:

  • I'm not going to quit right now. I know from past experiences that there will come a point at which I say "This is it. NOW I quit". That moment will come as a result of the following actions.
  • Make a list of reasons to quit and read it at least twice a day. Preferably out loud.
  • Look for good apps that will help me stay motivated.
  • Make a detailed planning of both the positive and negative effects of quitting I will experience in the first few hours, days, weeks, months. This overview will be the basis of that.
  • Going through my calendar and note all the events (parties, holidays, etc) that have an increased chance of luring me into smoking again. Knowing beforehand that it's going to be a tough moment is already half the battle.
  • Make a list of potential scenarios that might make me want to start smoking (death or disease of a loved one, a break-up, getting fired). I don't expect any of these to happen, but I guess nobody does. Again, being prepared helps.
  • Buy nicotine gum for the hard moments. Maybe I won't use them, but at least having them on me is a reassurance. I expect my morning commute to be the toughest part of the first few days, so I'll definitely keep a pack in my car.

Now that I've written this post I can cross "making a list of reasons" off my list. Next up: finding a good app. Any tips?

Sort:  

Been through this battle most of my life lol

Longest I gave up for was 8 years. I have a vape now which is great.

Yeah I vaped on and off for a few months too, unfortunately I didn't react well to it. Gave me nausea and headaches so I'm afraid it's not going to be the solution for me.

Glad it worked for you :)

Do you know the nicotine mix you were on. I started on 18mg and did the same to me. Dropped to 12 and far better

Yeah I tried several, even went down to 6 but nothing really helped :(

Shame. Hopefully you win this time, I know how hard it is. Just put your mind to it and fight hard mentally

Good luck :)

i quit in march after 20 yrs... I quit! that's it ! but it took me 20 yrs lol

Good luck with your fight.
I'm a smoker too and plan to quit this bad game, because my running skills are getting worse :(

Thanks! You too, it's tough but eventually it's better if we can manage to beat the addiction :)

Great to hear that you are making a plan on how to accomplish your goal. Quitting smoking is a good goal. I hope you are successful!

Thanks :)

I want to quot smoking but I failed many times but I will try this technique hopefully it will work. have a great day @pilcrow

Thanks! I've tried (and failed) to quit many times, but I've realized that doesn't mean that I am a failure, or that I will never succeed in quitting. The best I can do is learn from my mistakes and do it better this time.

Good luck!

Hi, @pilcrow
I congratulate you on the good purpose of quitting smoking.
First I will tell you, my smoking grandmother, she is 96 years old. At 84 we asked the doctor to deny him the right to smoke. He did not tell her that. On leaving we asked for explanation and told us that it can not be radical, because then the grandmother, will fall into a state of anxiety and this will lead to a depression. He said: "your whole body is healthy, just a little memory loss."
We tried another advice to take orange peels, toast a little and grate it. One teaspoon of the powder, we put it in his glass of orange juice in the mornings. A few days he made very short vomits. Then, as if by magic: when he lit the cigarette, only the smell, made him want to vomit and so, he left the cigarette. About 10 years ago. Today she does not remember if she smoked and is still healthy.
You can try!
A greeting with affection and luck in your new purposes.

Ha, that sounds like an interesting trick. Thanks for letting me know :D

Congratulations @pilcrow! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great and Awesome Post!! It's cool. I Upvoted! Plis Follow me and upvote my lasts post plis!! Follow me and I follow back always!!🙈🙈😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62482.14
ETH 3044.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76