OMG that was just so sad......

in #life5 years ago

Today I went to the shop, as I do every day.  And every day I see the same homeless man with his dog.  He seems rather nice; I don’t know his circumstances, but everyone talks with him.  The security guard at the shop has a lot of time for him.  Which is nice cos most often homeless people are shunned and moved from the front of shops.

Today when I pulled up beside him in my car, I noticed he did not look great.  He was just sitting there with his head down and his dog was not with him.  I never stopped to talk with him before but noticing the dog missing and seeing him not look so good I decided to stop.

His dog was sick and got put down yesterday.  How sad is that.  I am not a dog person; I don’t like them at all.  But the dog was the only thing this man had.  It gave him company and love.  A reason to get on with life and do certain things.  Now he has nothing, and you can see he is hurting.

I cried all the way home in the car.  Maybe I am just hormonal cos I don’t get upset so easy but that’s just so so sad.

Peace out everyone and remember how lucky you are to have what you have!!!!!

Sort:  

I'm so sorry about his dog.. wish that he will get another ( but I know the feeling of losing a beloved companion😭😭) .. thanks for sharing @paulag

Yes I have my dogs 😁.
Hopefully he gets a new one.

Posted using Partiko Android

That is so sad. Dogs are very loyal and love their owner unconditionally. Losing a dog is losing your best friend and I can feel the pain just by reading your little story about it. It doesn't matter how much you have or don't, losing another soul is what will always leave a hole in us, one that can unfortunately never be filled. Such is our life and you are so right with the quote image, we need to appreciate what we have and not take any of it for granted.

I have been thinking of taking the man up to the pound to get him a new dog, but I'm not sure if suggesting it is the right thing to do

Posted using Partiko Android

Very good idea, Paula! Go to the man and suggest him what you are thinking of. He will give you the right answer!

Before you suggest it, make sure the shelter would give a dog to a homeless man. Might be something they’re not willing to do and you do not want to get his hopes up and then find out it’s not possible.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ah....seems like this is confirmation...just wrote a similar reply below...lol...

That said, I don't recommend transporting a stranger in your vehicle...Homeless doesn't mean harmless...though I'm sure he might be...Emotions shouldn't cause you to drop your guard.

GBY...

Peace.

I thought about how to answer this.
A lot.
Here is what I came up with:
Dogs >>>> cats

Posted using Partiko Android

It was not the nature of the dog that make him to be sad but the company, the friendship, the time spend that the dog use to keep him somehow happy that he is going to miss which made him sad. I also feel for him. Not always easy to lose your companion

With no family, no home and being seen outcast to society, its major shit for him 😪

Posted using Partiko Android

That will really be painful for him. I feel for him

I think I have something in my eye:'(

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol I had something in my two eyes for ages

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

So true!
I hope the man could find another way to stop feeling alone.

Posted using Partiko Android

I will admit I pretend to be a tattood thug, but I do feel for that guy, he must be so emotionally drained at losing his companion

I am a dog mover and this is why I haven’t gotten another as they become part of the family very easily and a loss is devastating!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30