You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What you always wanted to know about apples - part 2

in #life6 years ago

Hello Dear @dreemsteem,

@anutu told me about your love for Fuji apples.
The Fuji apple is, like many known apple varieties, a crossbreed of two apple varieties. The Fuji apple consists of the Ralls Janet apple and the Red Delicious. The Ralls Janet was first discovered around 1800 in Virginia. The Red Delicious probably originated from a random breeding around 1870 in Iowa.
It is interesting to note that the Fuji apple was first bred in Japan in 1939 and is the most widely cultivated apple in the world. It is mainly cultivated in China and from my point of view, a little caution is advised as these apples are treated extremely strongly with pesticides.
The Honeycrisp is a development from 1962 of the University of Minnesota. for a long time it was unclear from which varieties it was bred, but today it is assumed that it is a breeding from the Keepsake and Golden Delcious x Charlamowsky varieties.
The apple was developed for growing in cold climates with a pronounced winter, which unfortunately drives up the price of the apple. therefore it is also called Moneycrisp.
The Braeburn is a random seedling from 1952 in New Zealand. It is still unclear who his parents are. one suspects Cox Orange and Lady Hamilton on the one hand.
I am pleased that you like my omissions and am curious to see how things will continue. I will discuss many well-known and lesser known apple varieties later on.
I will read your story about the fireflies in any case.

Wish you a wonderful Sunday

Sort:  

hahahahaa - oh- not necessary to read it! Maybe i'll just find the chapter about the orange/apple fusion for you to read that part! hehehehee

It's a long story, better for you to keep writing posts instead of reading my old stories LOL

Your comment made me smile - even your COMMENTS are so well-informed!!! :) you know so much about the apple! I'm so curious to see exactly WHERE it started :) maybe you can write a post about how you became fascinated with them too! hehehehe

Where we used to live had apple trees everywhere. And then they planted more! :) They really do evoke a lovely sort of nostalgia when I see them. I haven't had any apples in my home in some time (the camp that we work at...they are always abundant - so I can always just take one from the dining hall hahahaha)
but yesterday - your post made me go buy a whole bag of them for our house :)

@dreemsteem

(update: if we get organic Fujis... then - it's better, right? I always try to get organic fruit, especially if it has a thin skin like apples!!! but never noticed if they do have organic Fuji. I'm not sure which apples I got yesterday to be honest. I just grabbed a bag of them. hahahahahahaha)

In Germany, I've never seen organic Fuji Apples - unfortunately. 95% of the organic stores in Germany sell apples from Germany. In border regions, apples are also sold from countries such as Denmark, Poland, the Netherlands, Italy, Austria and the Czech Republic. This applies to the 5 to 10 known apple varieties, which are easy to transport and have a long storage life. For regional, rare and old apple varieties, these requirements are often not met.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59281.73
ETH 2525.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47