I Dont Want to Smell Like an Old Guy!

in #life7 years ago

NORNE_THUMBP1080614.jpg

Stinky is Never Cool!

So I may be an Old Guy, but that doesn't mean I need to smell like one. You know what I mean. Ill bet dollars to doughnuts you have been in line at the grocery store behind an old guy that is about a week past due for his monthly shower! NOBODY wants to be that guy, especially ME!

Showering daily is a step in the right direction, but come one guys, we can do better than that. Lets check out some decent colognes that wont break the bank, but will still get the job done!

A Classic

A classic is just that a classic, it never goes out of style. Its kind of like a '69 Chevelle, you cant go too far wrong if you own one! When I first started wanting to smell better, it was during high school in the early '80s. (Yeah, so I told ya I was old lol). Polo Green was just introduced in 1978 and it was immensely popular. I feel in love with it. I mean whats not to like? For notes you got woodsy pine and cedar(yum) with patchouli (mmmm) and leather. Its a very masculine fragrance, it projects like a beast and lasts ages! No wonder it still sells well. It is perfect for a mature fellow, but can still be used by the younger dudes.
If you are a younger guy, you may not feel comfortable with it. I get it. I got a recommendation that you probably never heard of before... Norne by Slumberhouse. ( I am not in any way paid or affiliated with anyone in this article!)

NORNE

So I really like woodsy, pine and cedar type of smells. I am not a big fan of really sweet male colognes. Hey if you want to smell like your wife or girlfriend, that's your business. Who am I to judge? But I will take a masculine fragrance any day. The way I came across Norne was by searching for my favorite scents. Some of the reviews were really funny and cool. Most talked about it being connected to the forest..with a distant campfire's smoke....at night...with no stars...alone..and being so dark as to be scary! Now I get most of that but, yeah I like it. It certainly is woodsy pine from beginning till end. Think a recently cut Christmas tree! It may not last or project as much as Polo Green, but what does?!?! If you watch the video, you will see that it is intoxicating! I couldn't stop smelling at it lol.

Sort:  

Hahaha informative and funny!

I'm happy the Old Dog got a chuckle!

Hi Paul, I finally jumped into Steemit and you are right. Its a lot of fun and different. You actually get paid. Result.

Hey buddy!!!! So great to see you!! Yes the money is real LOL!!! I have been taking out weekly what it used to take me 6 months to earn on YT!!! Make sure to do an introduction and preferably with a picture. If you tag it with #introduceyourself you should make good on it!! Hey at least you just earned your first 44 cents for this comment!!!

Hi Paul, I have no clue what I'm doing here but the pennies keep adding up...sweet!
I've read the white paper twice and thought I had it figured but then I saw all these bots?
Seems like there's a lot of people gaming the system but I may have misunderstood the whole thing?
I figured as long as I keep posting my own content I'll just ignore the bots altogether. Thanks for the follow buddy.

The bots are a little off putting at first blush. I felt the same way. However, think of Star Wars and the droids. They are useful and actually provide a valuable service. For example we have bots to welcome as you have seen. We have bots that scan for plagiarism. The cool thing about the blockchain is that EVERYTHING is public and can be seen. That pretty much does away with much gaming of the system. There is no moderation. That is the duty of the users. That is the role in flagging. In effect the community is the moderation.

Just to get back on topic. I like Paco Rabane...very 70's but has cedar notes too.

I will make a note to check that out. I enjoy trying new ones!

Reminds me of the Disco days lol everyone was covered in it. Including me.

Yeah I'm kinda getting it now. It'll take a bit of getting used to but if they keep throwing money at me. I'm not gonna complain haha.

Ive never been harmed by a bot lol. If you use a source from the internet, just be sure to site it. Its best to stay on the good side of the bots :)
Unlike other places quality comments are often nicely rewarded as well. One tool you will find very helpful that I use all the time is Steem Now. Its free and just runs off of your user name at https://steemnow.com/

Cool I'll check it out now. I've been upvoting about every 20-30 minutes but have no clue if I have any steem power yet. My number has gone up from 25 though so something is happening.
I read somewhere that people can upvote their own comments?

Steem Now will show you your current voting power. That is not to be confused with your Steem power. Your Steem Power (SP) has been loaned to you. What you do today is not paid to you for 7 days. This is a change we did shortly ago. The SP earned today wont be credited for a week. Your posts and comments can keep earning for that 7 day window.
Your 25 that went to 26 is your reputation. That goes up from voting and commenting and posting. It gets progressively harder for it to go up. You will really see that after about 50 or so.

Thanks for that Paul, very useful to track progress. These comments are out of synch. Not to worry lol

age is just a number @old-guy-photos 😘😘😘



This Banner is Clickable :)


I'm bothered by some colognes. I prefer more natural smelling scents (closer to soap smells). Those are nice but the ones like Old Spice make me sick to smell because they're so strong.

Have you ever used shavings for a rabbit cage...a cedar type of smell if not too strong?

I did use wood shavings for my rabbits cage. It was a pleasant smell. Ones that smell natural aren't too bad.

Im with you. The whole point in getting cleaned up is to wash the stink off, no see how stinky you can make yourself.

Oh I totally agree with this! Thanks and I followed :)

You know what @old-guy-photos - my ultimate favorite is Old Spice original deoderant and aftershave. I love that "old guy" smell LOL

Wow! Its been SO long since I actually smelled Old Spice, I cant say I'm sure what it even smells like anymore! I will have to get over and give it a whiff at the store :)
Great to see you around!

Thanks! I'm trying to have a more consistent presence...carving out some me time again! :) Old Spice is the way to go! Subtle, clean, classic < wink >

I remember when I first got my slider you commented and explained stuff! I am sure many people will be happy to see you around more...I know I will :)

Some cologne is okay... too much cologne is a killer. Worse is perfume on women. Some stinks are just so bad. OMG... got to go. My kid has been eating in his room and now we have ants.

YIKES! Good luck to you!

Gotta love the smell of a good christmas tree! None of that feminine stuff for you! haha

Finding my inner lumberjack self! LOL

I love it! I was called a lumberjack often when I wear a flannel and have the thick beard!

Great stuff and fun writing "skinky", I remember all the scents. I think however I got tired of all the gallons of perfume I swam in back in the day, so going lightly on perfumes.
I a few years back when my son was in high school, when the boys would gather at the house there were so many smells going on--some mix of hair gels, colognes and body washes-enough to make you faint...

LOL Of course high school guys have no concept of subtle LOL!

This was funny. I love Polo! And I am older than you...my high school years was in the early 70's. You say you are an old guy, so what does that make me? LOL! :)

I love it too. Good to know. I guess that makes you a bit of an "older" guy thats all! Being that you are on here shows you are willing and able to learn new stuff! That gives me hope! We need to start an old guy support group!! Kind of like AARP for Steemit! We could use the #oldguys tag!!! lol

"AARP for Steemit!" So funny. I wonder just how many old guys are actually here.

I'm gonna get me some cologne.

Its fun and can be addicting, in a good way!

I have cedar and patchouli.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85