Are People Getting More Rude?

in #life7 years ago

Some People Suck

So are people getting more rude? I think so. Of course maybe it's just me. Maybe I am just getting old and it's part of old fogeyness setting in...kind of like arthritis setting in your bones. To me when I am out and about interacting with the other people that I share this orb with, there just seems to be a heightened sense of douchbagery. Yeah that probably isn't in the Merriam Webster dictionary. I didn't check, and really don't care. You get the point.

For Example…

This one really gets me. Nothing shows the depravity of mankind more than seeing how people behave in a traffic jam! Every year I like to go to the Renaissance Festival. It's a good time and the people are lighthearted and laid back….except when they are lined up for a mile in their cars waiting to enter the gates. Two years running now I have had the misfortune of having patiently waited in the traffic jam just to be rudely (and dangerously) cut off at the last moment. There is a lot of asshole behavior, but taking cuts in line is right near the top!

There Seems to be a Lot of Factors

These are just general observations. The funny thing about observations is when you make one, somebody has got to pipe up and cite a single example that is supposedly meant to negate the entire supposition. Again these are not absolutes, but rather generalities that bring about the point.

City Folk are More Rude Than People in the Country

Is it not true? Sure there are some mighty ornery people in the country. You don't want to cross them or their property lines. I know coz I live in the country. However, when you go to the local store for groceries, the checkout people tend to treat you like family as much as customers. In the city, yeah not so much. You are lucky not to be injured by someone pushing their shopping cart at the speed of light.

North or South

I live in the North but have traveled in the South and I got to say the South has that whole Southern hospitality going on. The people down there seem to be hand down more polite and friendly. Not sure about the East vs West part of the equation though simply because I havent been out West too much.

What do you think?

Am I way off the map here? What has been your experiences. I love to hear your thoughts!

I Did a Video About It

Sort:  

I can never tell if its just me or them... I think its just me.

Nah, I'm certain its them!!! Upped!!!

I like this post. It pretty much summarizes how people really are. If they live in certain regions they seem to follow certain traits.

have a yankee accent, though i grew up south of the mason dixon line and have live in southwestern VA for most of my life, I still have a fee key words that mark me as a descendant of NYC jews and they really shine at my retail job, giving changing, asking folks if they found all they were looking for, etc....

I get called rude all the time, because i haven't that demure southern bullshit sweetness in my voice and i don't call everyone hun...and i tell children to behave, stop running bouncing balls, messing with merchandise...i'm not rude...I'm doing my best to be a good cashier and junior manager and keep the store nice...drives me nuts!

Yes to the city/country person distinction, but I think it's because people in small communities know each other, whereas people in cities do not necessarily. In small towns, strangers are the exception so they just get treated with the same general niceness. But in the city, most people are strangers. Except in some closer-knit city neighbourhoods, where people treat each other like they would in a small, rural town. 😀

I am from the south but I lived in rural South Dakota for a while. People out there tended to be rude to me because I was an outsider and small towns there didn't accept outsiders very easily. I moved back to the south because I like how people treat you down here. I went to Atlanta once and the big city people there were so nice and helpful. Big city people in places like Chicago weren't friendly at all. I think it all depends on the culture of a place.

Yep I have been in the South for vacation, but never lived there. I would like to mover there as I want something a bit warmer in the winter. How far South is the question for me!

I agree with traffic jam! It's really disturbing

I'm from Canada (British Columbia); and in spite of the fact that Canadians are known internationally for being polite, I've met a few not-so-polite Canadians in my life. Mostly in larger cities - thank goodness I now live in a "small city" now. What I've also noticed in the last few years is the great increase in the number of people who have a hugely increased sense of entitlement. Apparently, the world revolves around them, and everyone else be damned. I think that attitude bothers me even more.

Not saying it's right but i think it has to do stress. There's definitely more stress with living and working in the city and this people less polite but not necessary more rude.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25