James Bond Museum: London England (1 of 2)

in #life6 years ago (edited)

For my father-in-law's birthday, my wife planned a trip to the London Film Museum to see Bond in Motion which features over 100 original vehicles and artefacts from all 24 James Bond films.

He had no idea where we were going, but we knew he'd enjoy it since he's a massive Bond fan. I'd like to share some images from the trip! A forewarning, some of these shots are quite grainy. The mood lighting in this place was, well, moody. It must have been pretty funny watching me take the shots as I was waiting for the lights to shift from purple, to red, to green and finally to white so that I could quickly take the shots.

20151228_111746.jpg

I don't know how they managed to pack so many cars into this building, but suffice it to say that there are a lot. These are all the actual vehicles that were used in the movies. Of course keep in mind that a lot of times they use multiple of the same vehicle for different shots since often the cars get damaged and even totaled. But they are definitely authentic! There are some real beauties in there!

20151228_102426.jpg
My father-in-law dressed like Freddy Krueger. He has no idea who that is.

20151228_103545.jpg

Most of the vehicles were accompanied by a projector screen which played a video loop of the scene in which the car appeared. It was nice to have a bit of context since I haven't seen all of the films.

20151228_105331.jpg
That is a sweet ride!

20151228_103658.jpg
It's bad ass because of the little lights on the hood

20151228_104807.jpg
Extremely practical rocket launchers

20151228_102843.jpg

The Rolls Royce cars were my favorite. I don't know what it is about the paint job on these cars that looks so nice. It has a very particular creamy shine to it that just looks expensive.

20151228_104813.jpg
More front grill rocket launchers

20151228_104252.jpg
These cars make me want to kick my Ford Escape

20151228_111327.jpg

Some of the cars were a bit boring. Like the above BMW. They just put some silly lights on it to make it look high tech! But I guess sometimes it's good to just be a bit stealthy.

20151228_103712.jpg
This totally looks like it would work under water

20151228_105024.jpg
I've not seen this one. I guess the instrument means something

20151228_103631.jpg

I wish that I'd taken a better shot of that thing. I can't remember what it is. I think it was a speed boat of some kind. Can anyone tell that I am not a big Bond aficionado?

20151228_103530.jpg
Ready to ski if the need arises

There are also quite a few other types of vehicles and props that were used in the films. This place is actually quite packed! I liked that there is enough room to comfortably move around, but stuff in every direction. I would worry a little bit about visiting this museum on a really busy day.

20151228_113045.jpg

20151228_103838.jpg

20151228_104532.jpg

20151228_102310.jpg

These are really interesting to see. There are several detailed story boards available to look at showing various scenes from different movies.

20151228_110530.jpg

At the rear of the museum there is a camera set up where you get to throw on a fake tux and pose as James Bond himself for a photo - for a small fee of course. Of course my wife's dad just had to do it. So I sneaked in my own photo while the pro took his.

I have split this into two posts since I had quite a lot of photos to post. Please check out part 2 here!

Sort:  

Wow, wow, wow! A post on the entire film museum! Now this is what I have been looking for, CARS! And by cars, I dont just mean normal ones! Man, therebl are Tons of vintage cars, and most of them are from my best character Jamas Bond! I think that rocket launcher car is from 'tomorrow never dies' ! And the 3 tire taxi is called auto-ricksaw in india, I also posted a photo of it in my previous post 'a trip to kolkata' if u remember. That tank type of car looks like from street fight ft. Van damme but i m not so sure. But my favourite is that aston martin in the middle! Woo..... Class man class! Waiting eagerly for your 2nd part of the post. ! (Sorry i cant upvote nw cause my voting power is too low now, gotta recover )

Posted using Partiko Android

You probably know better than I do which cars come from which movies! We actually bought the DVD collection of all the movies a few years ago but I haven't seen all of the yet. Some of the earlier movies are unwatchable with a modern eye in my opinion! But yes, the cars are awesome!

Yeah, I've seen pictures of those 3 wheeled cars from India. I always worry that they will tip over! I actually own a 3 wheeled motorbike called a Can-Am Spyder, but the 1 wheel is in the back with 2 in the front. It is really fun to ride!

Oh yes, the Aston Martins are gorgeous! Maybe I'll buy one when crpyto goes to the moon.

Sure man, good luck with that, even I will buy a dodge car if steem goes to moon! lol 😊😊😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Thankz for supporting @nuthman btw did u watch my post lately?

Posted using Partiko Android

Those were nice cars and props @nuthman. The cars are so nicely kept but some really are quite funny to look at.

Yeah, man they were great! That water car made me laugh a bit. It looked very impractical.

Nice museum and car

Posted using Partiko Android

Very interesting post! Thank you for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85