Before You All Go: I'd Just Like To Say Thank You

in #life6 years ago

It's quiet here. A little too quiet, for me, even though silence is one of my favorite things.

I'm sure many have their reasons to leave.
That's their choice, I won't judge.

NoNamesLeftToUse - The Scary White Man Sleeps.jpeg

Recently

I left a snarky little comment on this post published by @kevinwong.

Lighthearted, just having fun, with a serious message hidden behind my humorous mask. Have a read, then think about it.


Thanks for reminding me all about how today, rather than posting, I could have used my whopping 22000SP to upvote ten cheesy comments, like this one, and earned more than I did after I spent a few hours producing some fancy shmancy new art and writing a solid post meant to encourage users here to start paying attention to one another.

Also, since I could have earned more doing that, I'd be cutting off over 100 accounts who've received over 200 votes within the past week from me, personally; and I bet that would cheer them up enough to love this place more! Hooray! Sarcasm is fun!

Now, seriously, is this what we want? I can do that, you know.

I don't care what kind of change happens but some change obviously needs to happen because after being here this long (nearly two years), and producing that much content (well over 500 posts published, with new art and writing in majority of them), I should still be wanting to climb the ladder and further my blogging career; not stop doing what I love just so I can vote up less effort than this, 10 times per day, while cutting off over 100 other members from earning as well. Is this a good time to say derp, or no?

Here's your average long time content producer perspective. How does it sound? Bright future ahead? Hmmm? ;)


Are you done thinking?

Good. Let's go for a walk.

NoNamesLeftToUse - They Knew It Was Coming.jpeg
They Knew It Was Coming

NoNamesLeftToUse - The Last One.jpeg
The Last One

NoNamesLeftToUse - That's Not A Wave.jpeg
That's Not A Wave

NoNamesLeftToUse - Emily.jpeg
Emily

NoNamesLeftToUse - The Contentinator.jpeg
The Contentinator

NoNamesLeftToUse - Bob Loblaw.jpeg
Bob Loblaw

NoNamesLeftToUse - I Let Them See Me.jpeg
I Let Them See Me

NoNamesLeftToUse - Fix My Life.jpeg
Fix My Life

NoNamesLeftToUse - Looking Back.jpeg
Looking Back

NoNamesLeftToUse - Then This Happened.jpeg
Under the Influence of the Few Influential

NoNamesLeftToUse - A Distant Memory.jpeg
A Distant Memory

NoNamesLeftToUse - E.jpeg
E

NoNamesLeftToUse - The Blue Picture You're Looking At.jpeg
The Blue Picture You're Looking At

That's only what I've produced over the past 16 days.

On quite a few occasions, I could have earned more by not working.

Not only recently either. Since I came back on December 9th of last year, more often than not, ten self votes on cheesy comments per day could have paid me more than actually working on this blog nearly everyday.

Now I'm noticing a lot of people going silent. I'm not the type to worry but I am smart enough to realize that might include supporters of my blog. Voters, viewers, readers; the audience. That's important to all of us here no matter who you are, so of course it matters to me.

Back in 2014,

I told a lot of people I was planning on doing something with my art and writing.

Going places.

September 2016 rolls around and here I am, getting started, doing what I said I'd do. All I needed were the right tools and a proper venue. This place was all that and then some so I pounced all over the opportunity. So here I am, an artist with no name, making waves; just like that.

I never had the need or desire to be internet famous so those other social media outlets didn't appeal to me. What good is a selfie with 100000 likes?


Hi. I'd like to order a pizza.

How will you be paying, sir?

100000 likes.

click

Hello? Are you there? Hello?


I wanted to work, and earn money.

A simple concept. People have been doing it for thousands of years.

When I started though, I never once thought I could simply work my way up to a point where all I had to do was show up to work at any hour most convenient for me, grab a handful of cash from the tip jar, then leave without doing any work.

If you were the owner of a restaurant and one of your employees did that, would you allow it, or fire that employee on the spot?

We all know the answer to that.

"You're fired."

Well, I like my job here. This is what I set out to do, many years ago, remember?

Compromising the future I see doing what I really love doing wasn't part of the game plan.

How far can one truly get in life if taking self-destructive measures are included on the list of Shit I need to get done today:

  • Wake up
  • Kick ass
  • Go to sleep

I don't see it on that list.

Do you?

So what am I left with?

The perfect opportunity, once again. That's what.

This time, those of you who are still out there have given me the opportunity to say:

Thank you.

It's not me who's preventing myself from giving up, turning my back on everyone, and becoming a leech.

It's you.

Thanks for having my back, making me feel welcome, and enjoying my work.

That means the world to me. I didn't come here to take. I came here to show you something.

Thanks for looking.

linebreak1
Credits:
All images seen here were produced digitally, by me.
"I'll see you when you get back."

Images © 2018 @NoNamesLeftToUse. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

I just came for the fancy shmancy art

gif from giphy

What is art without eyes? Thank you.

Thank you my consistent voter.

Not for the payouts from your vote. For your vote.

Because you're right, seeing vapid self voters and the utilizers of the bot army earning ridiculously for scraps I'd wipe my ads with can be discouraging.

No I don't expect to get rewarded for nothing. I put work, hours and hours a day that I really don't have, into my posts.

Every manual up vote, every comment, every manual curation says to me "hey thanks for existing, you're seen." And I really appreciate each one.

You do work hard. That was one of the first things I noticed about your blog. I've probably missed a few of your posts, but I have enjoyed your blog so far, from what I've seen. You're a cool cat and offer a unique perspective. It comes across as honest, genuine. I enjoy it.

:D Thank you, I like being enjoyed

It's funny, sometimes I can get a really hefty upvote from a couple of different sources, but I am still not satisfied if I don't get any interaction. It just makes you feel bad. Great, so I made like 30 bucks but no one thought my content was good enough to really like or interact with.

What I have taken away in my nearly 8 month stint here, is that this place can really fuck with your psyche. I suppose I understand those who are leaving because what left is there if there is no financial gain, and if no one comes round to check out what you have?

It also goes to show me that a lot of the people who had been interacting with me were only doing so to "look nice", as they have either dropped off or don't comment on anyone's stuff anymore.

The blockchain is a weird place man.

I have been singing/vlogging/etc for some time though and I still feel like this place has the best opportunities for anyone in those fields. Hands down.

It's really easy to get discouraged, but I just changed my mindset of expectations from this place, and that has helped tremendously.

Keep on keeping on friend!

It does mess with the mind and I've learned a few hard lessons. When the value was high, my vote was worth a lot, my comment section would get slammed and I felt as if I was accepted and admired; then, quite suddenly, around the same time as my vote wasn't worth as much, not even half of the people were showing up. Were they kissing up? Are people not interested in my blog now? Did I do something wrong? Why isn't anyone saying anything? And many more questions that only led to a severe state of depression. Yet through it all I was still here with my game face on trying to crack a few jokes or produce something entertaining while my mind was stuck on the other side of the spectrum telling me to go crawl under a rock and die.

I guess once the next wave comes, I'll be a little more prepared and be able to bring some wisdom to the table.

You're right about the interaction. A few times, a long ago, I'd be venting to friends in chat and they'd offer some reassurance, "What's wrong? You made $30 today. Isn't that one of your highest payouts so far?" Well, yes, it was, but I'm an artist, I need views. I'm attempting humor, and I don't know if it's funny until they laugh or respond to it. The views picked up, the laughter started, so of course I'm then encouraged to continue down the road I chose. Have you ever noticed how some creative types come along, then suddenly, out of nowhere, all they do is talk about crypto? When that happens, those folks are on their last legs, trying anything to make a buck, forcing themselves to turn into what they think others want to see instead of being who they are, then eventually giving up. I've seen that happen literally hundreds of times now. I need to thank everyone because it's their fault I'm still here doing things my way. Through all of these flops, they're still there, still have my back. That means more than money.

^^^ this! I came here with no interest what so ever in crypto. None. I came here for creative expression.

It was pointed out to me however that technically I am now a crypto holder. That I should learn about the game I'm playing, and why not post about it.

I liked the idea, but I don't want crypto on my page because my page is not about crypto! I'm not going to sell out my @Accio name to try and snuggle up under the crypto blanket here. Nope. Won't do it.

Maybe on a separate account at some point or as a writer for hire but absofuckinglutly not on my @Accio page.

"still not satisfied if I don't get any interaction" this is a lack of gratitude and poor understanding that people have busy life with lots of stuff going on. Expect humans always to interact with content is a bad understanding of human nature.

We are not logical creatures that will engage with every single thing that gets produced. That is being too demanding. We only engage when we feel we have something useful to add or if it was something that truly touched us in a specific way.

My point was that posting for me isn't about money, but since you decided to take it in a different direction and call me at for my ineptitude at understanding the human species...

Your'e wrong.

For most people it has nothing to do with whether or not something "touched" them. Give me a break. Some of the most popular, upvoted shit on here is just that, shit.

It's the little guys who keep producing and making quality that people actually will listen to/watch/read/enjoy. Some of the stuff that is at the top with the most interactions is self-voted garbage, but people are drawn to a trainwreck all the same, so long as there are lots of other people there, and so long as their comment may be rewarded or at the very least seen.

I wish that Steemit was this utopia you speak of where people were drawn to certain posts and not others, and that people actually supported what they liked, etc. And some do, like the OP.

However, most on here are out to make a quick buck and when that quick buck disappears, they do too, and their interactions on my posts.

I understand people just fine, thank you.

People decide what they want to focus on. I never see anything bad. I always find the good stuff and ecourage those content creators. Looking at what a minority is doing in craziness and try to blame the majority is flawed. It's also a waste of time. Your idea is that majority is out to make a quick buck which means you already have a negative view of people. People can feel this and then they don't come back. Biggest mistake you do is that you don't understand that people need to be appreciated 20-30-50 times before perhaps they give back a lot.

As a consumer of your product, I would like you to know my life is busy with a few unfun, real-life chores!

The timing to be distracted in unfortunate in many ways. All those things that you are doing, like commenting and engaging with other users, I've been doing that nearly 7 days a week for 2 years. I'm not as talented as you, but you are not the only one who has put blood sweat and tears in.

I know. And that's why I'm saying thanks.

Make some noise!

Horns and stuff! Sirens!

Well I'm glad to get a chance to see all the art I missed! Under the Influence of the Few Influential is my favorite of this batch :)

But your comment to Kevin is so sadly true :(

I know it's true. Here I am though, still doing my thing, hoping my work gets noticed each and every day. The other day, in a previous post, I got accused of being a cheater and that loser said all I do is care about my bottom line. I guess if that was true, I'd stop and just go vote for myself somewhere in the corner.

I just responded to that asshat.

People these days... sigh

I know it. But there's always people like you..and me! lol! Here's a song I heard on my vacation that made me smile-

Road trip songs always stick around in the mind for many years after. You'll be able to close your eyes and see what you saw when you hear those tracks.

If fades away though because I went to BC back in 2005 and I heard a few good songs but I can't remember shit now.

I'm agree with you @dreemit, such arts are much precious assets.and i'm also glad for @nonameslefttouse
keep support me @vikas4233

I wish The Contentinator was hanging on my wall...staring into my soul.

The Contentinator can see the soul's soul.

If you have a tv hanging on the wall, those things make good picture frames these days.

I haven’t gone anywhere. I might not comment often but I do view and read. I love your content but sometimes I just don’t feel like writing comments on all the posts I read. That doesn’t meant I don’t enjoy the content though. It normally means I’m trawling through a shit tonne of content.

Keep up the good work mate. It might be silent and people might be all doomy and gloomy but that’s what happens in a downtrending market. People get all negative and stuff.

I miss the view counter. It was great seeing 200 views after a couple of hours. I rarely see 100 votes, even on a post with 200 views, but knowing people were at least looking made it feel a lot more lively. I'm certain many people miss that feature and honestly, I think it being gone contributed to many taking a break. Some rarely see comments but those 20-30 views were a motivator.

I like to respond on my blog. End up spending a lot of time doing it. It's hard some days for me to get out and leave comments as well but I always remind people: if you see my vote, that means I was there. I don't vote for things I haven't read.

I do the same thing which is why you see votes from me on most of your posts. :)

I wasn't around for the view counter. I can't imagine why it was removed.

One thing that I have a love/ hate relationship with are curation trails. I love being on them, but knowing that 60 odd votes are from people who auto-vote my work kind of makes me realise that many of the voters probably didn't even see my post.

I do remember seeing posts with 500 votes and 5 views. Worse yet, the posts that show how much one paid to post here rather than how much they earned, due to bots. $100, 2 views. LOL!

you are an interesting fellow m8 - I would like to follow you if you do same. I am very new here and a sort of artist me self but my art is Truth amongst a million lies some people can handle the pressure others abuse run n die.I chose to post only quality truthful stuff if you wnna check it out...maybe it can help change your perspective of this life and even help your art

If you want to follow me, go right ahead.

I'm not into that flat earth stuff though so don't expect a follow from me.

Well it's not only just flat earth stuff but I understand. I wont follow you if you dont wanna follow me. Not everyone can handle the truth.

Yes, I already knew you wouldn't follow my account and that's fine with me. I prefer followers who follow along because they enjoy my blog.

I could easily take the same approach as you. I could go around telling people I'll follow them if they follow me, and many would, but then, years later, I'd be stuck with thousands of people who don't enjoy my work following my blog. They wouldn't be voting for my work because it was follow I asked for so instead of money, I'd get list of people who don't really like what I do. On this platform, that's called being counterproductive and only leads to failure. I've been here for nearly two years, I've witnessed many people take your approach. They have thousands of followers and no votes on their work. If that's what you want, that's what you'll get, and it doesn't bother me one bit. Your success here is dependent on you, not me, or anyone else.

Eventually everything will be tracked and we will get stats on everything imaginable. For example Google Analytics for Wordpress is amazing at tracking stats in an easy way.

Auto-vote I think is great since it makes us used to value flow and stream that it can happen automatically. We automatise more of our routine so we can focus on more important stuff.

Then we will get better stats on what people that spent real time on a post.

You’re a good guy ! Spreading the love. Everyone, that didn’t buy loads of steem , but worked themselves up to a few K steempower should remember that phase in the beginning when you survived and kept going because someone unselfish was willing to support you. So giving back is key, afterall it is the minnows that make the platform grow in terms of users, and that will be beneficial for everyone !

survived and kept going because someone unselfish was willing to support you.

That's exactly it. That wallet reflects how well the place works and how generous many people truly are with their time. Can't turn a blind eye to that. Can't complain. Can't start grumbling when times are tough because it never was easy to begin with. We can share our work, sure, but one cannot predict the results or expect anything.

Of course I don't mind making attempts to support the smaller accounts. It helps though if I see they're powering up the SBD rather than dumping it. The place needs minnows, sure, but a strong middle class is also important otherwise those minnows get nothing. So many will cash out or delegate away their SP which it turn makes their account basically useless and unable to support anyone. Sure, I can help grow a few, but they need to be able to grow each other as well otherwise my votes are just going to waste.

I definitely agree with the fact that a strong middle class is very important. And many times the middle class can be even more generous than those that have a lot more.

Bud leasing definitely is destructive for the platform, when used for bidbots. Maybe someone can invent some kind of delegation where the steempower is used more for curating, by a kind Steemian. They would get less return compared to normal leasing. but still plenty more than just setting up autovoting. More importantly they would help benefit the eco system.

I'd gladly accept a large delegation meant to be used to curate a wide range of blogs. Most days, I have the time to spend curating manually. I've asked some folks in the past though. No dice. Maybe I'm not kind enough? LOL

We live in a world where what is harmful gets protected and rewarded while what is helpful is left to fend for itself. Make a game, make a million dollars, save a million people, get a pat on the back.

Yeah, it's true, the world can seem a little backwards at times and not many seem to care; but try putting your pants on backwards and watch how everyone notices.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58948.02
ETH 2507.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47