Is It BAD To Write A Controversial Opinion?!

in life •  17 days ago

Can Bad PR Be good?.png

Would you care if someone was talking crap about you if it got you more attention and exposure (to your steemit posts for example)? Or would you rather just keep a good reputation and try to keep everyone happy?

I'm sure you might have heard something along the lines of "bad publicity doesn't exist. As long as you're being talked about, it's a good thing."

Do you feel that way?

I love talking about this sort of thing with other content creators. Everyone has a different opinion on whether or not you should talk about your controversial opinions!!

Recently I met up with a content marketer from a pretty big Silicon Valley startup.

One of the things he said was something along the lines of this:

“Nobody likes to share mediocre content. People like something that they can add their opinion to.”

😳
Now, usually, I tend to only voice my real opinions on controversial topics with my close friends or family. In real life, a lot of people don’t even think I have opinions. They just think I laugh and joke around a lot and don’t really have any substance or deep thoughts (which is how I like it).

Normally, I'd pose this question and just ask your opinion and let you duke it out in the comments while I sit safely behind my computer screen away from any missiles that could potentially be fired my way.

But in an effort to not be such a PANSY, I’m going to say that I fully agree with his opinion.

I think controversial content makes some of the BEST stuff out there.

I mean jeez, the news even creates controversy on purpose! That’s what fake news is for (right?)!!!

It gets people talking and fired up and sharing like crazy and wanting to punch people for no reason.
And that’s without any ad spend!

But…

…even thinking this…

will I post a controversial opinion on something?

Maybe someday. Maybe if I get brave enough. Baby steps.

I think saying what I’m saying now is a good start.

What do you think about it from a branding perspective? Should brands have controversial opinions?

Here’s an example.

You know this girl?

Well, I’d say it’s kinda controversial whether she should be famous or not.
But apparently now, because of her being all controversial on tv, her instagram account
has a huge following and can charge advertisers multiple thousands for one post.

So, I’ve seen controversy REALLY well for some people. I’ve seen some polarizing marketers have CRAZY loyal fans that will defend them to the death.

I think they’re so loyal for that very reason, actually! They feel so well connected to the marketer because they feel like they share the same opinions about things and have shared common beliefs.

But maybe it can also go BAD from a branding perspective to talk about controversial opinions.

What do you think?!?

Check out some other mediocre posts by me!

👇👇

Steem Spirit Dress... Revealed!Screen Shot 2018-09-25 at 11.49.08 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-09-25 at 11.35.10 PM.pngYou're Sitting On Cat Pee And You Don't Even Care
5 Reasons Steemit Is My Favorite Social Media PlatformScreen Shot 2018-09-25 at 11.37.30 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-09-25 at 11.42.59 PM.pngEOS Is Going To Be Bigger Than A Sumo Wrestler
Searching For Gold In VietnamScreen Shot 2018-09-25 at 11.57.40 PM.png
Authors get paid when people like you upvote their post.
If you enjoyed what you read here, create your account today and start earning FREE STEEM!
Sort Order:  

Or would you rather just keep a good reputation and try to keep everyone happy?

Nowadays, especially online, I think this is basically impossible; there will always be someone who will be offended by what you write, no matter how uncontrovertial it is. So... keeep those controversials topics / comments coming!! After all, it's YOUR opinion!
I do like to state mine, but refrain from getting into online discussions; 99% of the time, they end up in trolling/offensive responses, and feel it's a waste of my time. Seems most people need to impose their views on something, rather than finding different points of view; after all, we don't have to agree on everything, and that's healthy :)
As an example... I very strongly harshly completely disagree with you on this topic:

Check out some other mediocre posts by me!

I haven't found them yet!! Shame on you! :P

·

Nowadays, especially online, I think this is basically impossible; there will always be someone who will be offended by what you write << So true!!! Why do people get upset so easily just because of a difference in opinion? I have noticed that.

What happened to the good old days where people could just agree to disagree calmly and it's okay that we have different opinions (and how old AM I? haha)?

I also refrain from online discussions. Sometimes I get out the popcorn and read them though lol.

Seems most people need to impose their views on something, rather than finding different points of view; after all, we don't have to agree on everything, and that's healthy :) << YES!!!!! Now go tell this to everyone and beat them over the head with it until they agree with you! lol just kidding!!

I've always liked to seek different points of view. I'm not so open-minded that my brain falls out or anything...but I'm always willing to have my beliefs challenged so I can see if what I believe about something is correct or not (or if I'm just believing it blindly).

And aww lol I'll try harder to be mediocre!!! Shame!!!

·
·

I also refrain from online discussions. Sometimes I get out the popcorn and read them though lol.

Ahahahah rarely... but also guilty!! :))

I personally would have thought that it is up for the individual.

If you are game on such a method to be made known, you got to have the stomach to be ready when things go so out of hand that when you prefer it to stop, it never will.

I think this could actually be one of the side effects when one does not care about whether it is good / bad publicity as long as there are some and then unable to endure the whole journey unaffected.

Somehow, some way, things can bite back at us for what we write; and by that time, we got to be ready to catch / tai-chi / return the blow (even).

upvoted

·

True lol you have to be able to take the heat if someone doesn't agree with you!

Who’s talking crap about you!?!?

·

No one yet today lol except maybe my crappy friend!crappy flower.jpg

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Congratulations @nomadicsoul! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard knock out by hardfork

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

There is a book called the 48 laws of power and one of the laws is "bad attention is better than no attention" because you can always turn bad attention into good attention but if nobody pays any attention to you than you can't turn that into any thing. Also people love drama and that is why you see soooo much drama on tv its in high demand!!!!!

So to sum it up post that drama lady!!!!

·

omg I have that book!!! Well...technically a storage unit in Oregon has that book.

But still.

So awesome that you mentioned it!!!

I better get my drama hat on!!

·
·

You can really learn a lot from it. You should talk your storage unit into mailing it to you 😜