You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Raising children: The difference between adult imposed will and natural consequences

in #life6 years ago

I think you're taking the right approach, though not being a parent I hesitate to comment on these matters. Some parents have a terrible struggle with their children, especially if they're hyperactive, and I just don't know how I would behave if I was a parent.
When I was a child, my father used to hit us, while my mother did not believe in hitting children. I soon realised that my Dad's slaps were not really painful, and I feared my mum's type of discipline more - which was sometimes no more than a long, disbelieving look if I tried to tell a lie, for example. My own feeling of guilt and having been found out was more uncomfortable than a slap.

Sort:  

I can relate. I've had something a bit similar, though my mother was far more understanding than my dad.

Most of what I write here is to stop the cycle and alter the course of my family history.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63036.79
ETH 3067.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82