Why and How is the Mercury Retrograde impacting our lives

in #life6 years ago (edited)

We keep hearing it is a Retrograde period from people who follow astrology or are into healing work and a lot of us wonder what is this Retrograde period and why is there so much of noise around it, what is so special about this period and is it just some new age concept. So let's understand a little on this..

What is a Retrograde:
A Retrograde means moving backwards and we also hear this from people that the planets move backwards and hence that is a Retrograde period, but that's a myth a planet does not start moving backward on their orbits, the whole effect is because of the relative movement of the other planets around the sun and earth.


Image Source: Pixabay

There is a Prograde motion which means the normal movement of the planets in the orbit which is normally from west to east, but periodically this motion changes from east to west through the stars and this is the Retrograde motion...
A Retrograde is in simple terms explained as when a slower moving planet is overtaken by a faster moving planet.

Since the Mercury has the smallest orbit around the sun we see the Mercury Retrograde period coming more often then the other planets which are further away from the sun.

Now as we understand what is a Retrograde now lets's see Why and How it is impacting us.

From the beginning of the time we know how the Planets influence our lives. Our life blueprints are completely based on the planetary positions at the time we are born.
Our horoscope is a combination of our Sun sign, Mercury and Moon Sign.

  • Sun representing the Soul
  • Mercury representing our Thoughts
  • Moon representing our Heart and Emotions.

When the movement of the planets gets unusual it generates strange impressions in the areas of our lives that they govern.

Mercury governs our thought process, controlling our mind, communication, intellect, awareness, ideas, logic, reasoning, thinking and also our travels. Hence when Mercury is in Retrograde it does not mean its a bad phase but it's a time when we learn lessons about the "RE" Re-visit, Re-Think, Re-do, Re-trace, etc.

When a Mercury is in Retrograde you may see signs of disrupted thinking abilities, sudden changes in your travel schedule, some issues misunderstandings, problems in communicating and expressing.


Image Source:Pixabay

So what should you do when you suddenly feel strange behaviors emerging out of you. It can be a period of Retrograde governing you and hence you will see some disturbances in your regular schedule. And this is not only about you, remember everyone around you is going through this, so you need to take it easy.

Since it's a period of "RE" look at the situation and try to understand what the universe is trying to teach you. Try to take the lessons for the future.
Be a little careful in your communication, don't get in any impulsive actions.
If you are travelling make sure everything is in place, a double check or back up plans are never harmful.

It's not that everyone gets impacted in the similar manner. People who are in regular meditation practice may not see any impact at all. It also depends on the other planet positions. There are benevolent and maleficent planets, so their positions around the planet in retrograde will also impact the impressions.

The periods of Mercury Retrograde in 2018:
March 23 to April 15
July 26 to August 19
November 17 to December 6

With Love and Angels Blessings 💖💖👼🏻👼🏻🧚‍♀

"Do not Fear Mercury in Retrograde;
Reflect, Reconnect, Renew."

My other blogs of Interest

Magic of Crystals #10- A Crystal of Transformation - Malachite
Sensing-energies-around-you-and-protect-yourself-part-2
Sensing-energies-around-you-and-protect-yourself-part-1

IMG-20180327-WA0018.jpg

Sort:  

Not this sh*t again! Common, didnt we just have that recently? :D :D :D
Somehow whenever one retrograde ends, another one begins and my head hurts a lot lol. I just want some peace an quiet, why arent the planets nice for a change? :D :D :D

If we leave my humour aside, thank you for this lovely and such an informative post. I may not like retrogrades but I do like reading and learning about them 💚

So very true, these planets are always playing on us one after other, I guess the best way is to give them back in the face....hahaha.....and tell them see you cannot really impact us.

My mercury must be in permanent retrograde, because I permanently have stranger behaviours emerging!

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

hahaha, then I guess you were born only in the retrograde

I Used to get so wound up around mercury retrograde times, doesn't help with all the gemini I have in my chart lol but this time I've been learning over time that when it's happening to say grounded and chill. I always double check details, leave enough time to catch my train/flight and when some technical issue arises when ur in the middle of something crucial don't react, breath, go on to something else... Come back to it later. Mercury retro teaches us that we need to chill the f**k out lol

Oh yes the best way to deal around this period is to go easy, do a lot of grounding and consciously stay calm and in control, like wise the same during the full moon cycles.

Great article! I love it when someone articulates the cosmic bath water we all swim in with such integrity and elegance. Reflect, reconnect, Renew. Absolutely! Thank you! Just upvoted and re-steemed.

Thank you dear @highfrequencies, appreciate your gesture

Hmmm a period to check the situation and try to understand what the universe is trying to teach.

So sudden feel of strange behaviors emerging out of someone can referred to as a period of Retrograde governing. Hmmmm it is well. One shoudl just take this life so easy.
One step at a time and take the lessons for the future.

It can be Retrograde or also the planets of our own houses not in a favorable position. But in the retrograde periods you will see disturbance all around, you will find similar patterns with other people also.
Yes we need to let go things easy, if we become stubborn about things these periods turn out to be more heavy for us.

As a person who lives with Astrology, I always warn the people around me in Merkur Retrograde time.. I got a lot of feedbacks from my friends who got effected by retrograde. They called me and say you told me this and that it happened.. If we know the effects of Merkur retrograde, we can take precautions..

I am a new learner of Astrology and still a long way to go in this field but whatever I have learned so far I can definitely relate to my life when I read my own chart and those of my family and friends and can distinctively make out how planetary positions drive and impact our lives. They are the base to our foundation.

Nice post and explanation of nature of retrograde period. Keep up the good work!

Upvoted and resteemed. I learn so much from you...on time...it's crazy. Love your posts!!
Joy

I do not believe in astrology
For no one can teach the unseen to God
All astrology taught in the unseen and this is not permissible

There are unfortunately a lot of people who don't believe Astrology. They have a lot of prejudices. I can say I am living with Astrology. I even share my informations with people around me. I warn them or I advise them when I know a planetary movement. After that they all call me and say whatever you told me, it all happened. Now everyone are asking me a question now or listening me. I believe so strong that all the planets and their movements are effecting the world. Astrology is way of God to regulate the world..

Thank you dear @ellaironheart for sharing your experiences. A lot of people believe in only what they can see or the ultimate God, but God does not control us, it is we ourselves and our surroundings, the energies around us try to control us and only if we are aware we can deal with these well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16