Choose a job you actually enjoy and you won't have to "work" anymore.

in #life7 years ago

People are used to tell us to choose a "well-paid job" all the time, most of them is family.

They do it with all the best intention of the world, or at least the majority. 

Since childhood we have been told some things like "be a doctor, be an engineer, be a lawyer" or anything else. 

I mean, it's not bad to be any kind of those things. The thing is that the only person in the world who knows which one is the perfect profession for you is... You! 

Many of us, more than once have given up to the social pressure, falling in a kinda limbo. 

It makes us to feel insecured or doubtful about our own future, which is something we normally should know for sure. 

But as the human beings we are, it's always difficult to avoid listening to other's opinions. 

I'm not saying to stop listening some advices at all, all i'm trying to say is to be more independent of these kinds of critics. 

To work at something or somewhere you don't like could drive you to misery, not exactly because it isn't well-paid but it could get some irritating. After all you are not doing something that you like or dominate. 

I know you have to work to get some money in order to maintain yourself or your own family, but come on, the most earlier you choose to work at something you like, the happier you will be in the future. 

Work just for money even though you don't like it or you don't feel proud of, could drive you to unhappiness or depression and that's not the point of living, is it? 

What's the price of your happiness or your dreams? Does anyone pay you enough money to forget your own dreams?

Although you could be well paid with money, the price of leaving behind your dreams I thinkg is too high.

I've known a lot of people (no matter if they are well paid or not) who lives life too angry all the time and other people never understand the reason of their anger. 

It's pretty much like marrying the wrong person, think about it. Marrying the wrong means to wake up everyday besides a person who you don't love and it could be irritating, life is not about live annoyed for these kinds of things. 

People could think this is just a little thing, but it's really not. It's an important one as getting married. 

Once I heard George Clooney in a movie (I don't remember the name, sorry) asking an angry old man why children always loved the sportsmen. 

The old man didn't really know the answer. George said that the children loved the sportsmen because they achieved their dreams, they were winners because of this and the old man understood the message. 

So, why can't you achieve your own dreams as well? 

I truly think that our own dreams are more valuable than any amout of money in the world.

We don't need to be poor, I mean, you could earn money working at something or somewhere you really like.

The only thing you need to do is to try it and being persistent, after all is about of your dreams, they are totally worthy. 

When I was 17, my parents told me to start an engineering degree at university. 

To be honest, I wasn't so sure about being an engineer, but I did it anyway. 

After 2 years I realized that my vocations was another one, the numbers and I were not meant to be. 

I decided to quit in order to iniciate another degree in political sciences, totally different to engineering but it's something that I would be really pleased to do. 

Imagine living the entire life doing something you don't like. It's like putting yourself in your own prison, why would you do that? Think about it! 


If you like this post don't forget to upvote and follow @mynameisricky ;) 

Images taken from pixabay.com thanks a lot for reading, I hope you like it. 


Sort:  

Hi @mynameisricky
Thank you for your post. The principals you give here are good. In my case I started with a job which I enjoyed, today I am still in the same company, but through the years and promotions etc. my job changed and I am no longer enjoying my job. I am however trying to change direction to something I love, but it is not easy when you have a family to support, with kids at university etc. when jobs are scarce, but I am working on it.

Yeah I see your point, with the time it could get a little tricky to quit a job because of that. But if someday you have a chance to change, you could try to.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 09. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.68 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 09 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06