The Gig Based Economy- Last of the Cab Drivers Test Pilot and Affording Yourself the Time to be Creative.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Affording Yourself the Time to be Creative - Last of the Cab Drivers - Test Pilot



taxi-238478_1920.jpg

In our "gig" based society, everybody needs or wants a side hustle, or multiple side hustles for that matter. The more the merrier I say! You see, a side hustle can be for more than just bringing in that extra cash to pay the rent or buying your Starbucks every day.glass-1058878_1920.jpg (It really adds up, you know? And we thought smoking cost a lot, do the math...just sayin.)

I digress. But, having a side hustle can be more. It can be an outlet for your creativity or your ambitions. It can be a time of contemplation, a release for tied up inner desires. Satisfaction for a needed fulfillment outside of a dreary old nine to five. That if you don’t let out, can cripple your whole life with doubt and lack of true personal achievement. One of the themes of this blog/writings here on @multipass is to afford yourself the time to be creative. Turning your side hustle/s into an outlet for a passion or desire. Or a goal or dream you have of something you’d like to achieve. Now, that’s going to be different for everyone, and how you get there might not be a straight line. winding-road-71367_1280.jpg

But whatever it is that you want to do, start doing it! Even if it doesn’t bring in financial rewards immediately. Time spent on your dreams, goals, and desires is time well spent! A few years ago I lost my job after eighteen years with a company. Coming back into a very changed job market than the one I had left almost two decades before, had severe challenges for a forty something reentering the market. Over the next year or so I must have applied for more than one hundred jobs. Out of that, I had a couple call backs and interviews but nothing ever worked out. A few call backs had said that, I was second in line but just didn’t get it this time, and that there was nothing I could have done differently and the only difference between me and the hiree was that they already actually worked there. But after awhile I just didn’t care anymore. And pretty soon I started finding that I was spending more time doing things I liked. And although there was a lack of money, the free time that I had, was well worth making some sacrifices to be my own person and not showing up to serve the man every day and letting it consume most of my time in my life. So, that in effect, changed the model in my head of what success looked like. creativity-819371_1920.jpg


I thought back to all those years I had spend showing up every day to a job that was secure and provided for my family but was lacking in fulfillment for me personally. I knew the work that I had been applying for, had I been lucky enough to land one, would have been more of the same. So I struck out on a different path. I decided to continue doing the things I enjoyed and find someway to supplement my income, while still growing my interests. And so, we come full circle, back around to the side hustle. I found a part time job as a cab driver...yep, that’s right. Now cab driver might not be the most glamorous of jobs in society. As a matter of fact, I think cab drivers are probably looked down upon in general. edsel-ranger-392745_1920.jpg


However, taking something and turning it into a means to something else can sometime be the difference between having to show up to work and actually wanting to show up to work. And although a cab driver is a bit of an old businesses model, kind of the brick and mortar version of Uber and Lyft. Cab driver might be considered one of the greatest hits of the side hustles. But, they're a dying breed. With the rise of the aforementioned Uber and Lyft, and the push toward self driving vehicles. The now, somewhat old fashioned cab driver, is becoming extinct. But it still remains a great side hustle for some. So, you might be asking yourself, so how did this help you have personal fulfillment beyond a regular nine to five. Well, first of all, as a cab driver I'm considered a private contractor. I make my own schedule and I drive when I want to drive. Which means my time is my time and the expectation of work is on my terms. Second, I use my driving as one outlet for a vlogging project which I have been wanting to start for sometime. As an all around artist and novice videographer I’ve found inspiration in using my everyday life to fulfill those creative needs. Much like using Steemit to have and outlet for writing. And here, @steemit it’s even better because I not only do I get to write about it, but I also get to show you the finished project. So without further ado, here is the test pilot episode of Last of the Cab Drivers. Hope you enjoy it or it gives you a laugh. Or bores you into a peaceful sleep. Either way, what else were you going to do, watch another funny cat video. Looking forward to your comments. Sincerely, @multipass.

Sort:  

You got a 0.03$ upvote from @nageshwar0369 courtesy of @multipass :)
Follow For Free Potential Votes :) :) :)

Appreciate it. Followed.

Congratulations @multipass! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88