Satay

in #life5 years ago

IMG_4338.JPG

Satay is small pieces of marinated meat like chicken or beef that is skewered on bamboo sticks and the new grilled on smoky open fire.

Satay is extremely popular in south east Asia and one can enjoy a plateful of the grilled meat of choice with spicy peanut sauce and sides of sliced fresh red onion, cucumber and compressed rice. I love the sweet slightly charred meat but my craving is for the divine peanut sauce. I could eat spoonfuls of the sauce without the satay.

IMG_4342.JPG

I have tried making satay at home. Quick version as some spices or ingredients are not available at the store. The peanut sauce is made with chunky peanut butter instead of pan frying peanuts and then chopping or pounding into bits.

IMG_6659.JPG

The next time I make satay at home, I shall take and share some photos. Now and then, the kiddo's daddy would drop by this restaurant called 'Malay Cafe' for some to-go chicken satay. The restaurant is run by an Asian family and it also serves good noodle curry.

Sort:  

This must be delicious to

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87