Focus on Goals: Buying Land and Building an Aircrete Dome Home in New Mexico for my FamilysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

IMG_2029.JPG
This is the Aircrete Earth Dome Home I plan to build for my family and I. These are sustainable homes built from cement and foam made from non toxic dish soap! This material is fire resistance, pest resistant, superior insulation and acoustics, waterproof, superior durability, labor n cost effective and safe for the environment.

This beautiful Dome home below was built for $9000. That included material and labor. These homes are really easy to build it only takes about 4-5 days for one structure. I really like the design and ease of building one of these homes for my family. It will be a really great bonding experience. The aircrete blocks are super light. Lighter than concrete so I am truly looking forward to having my oldest boys be a part of the building process.

I am going to buy some land in New Mexico. This is where my ancestors are from. My family history can be traced back Geranimo and yet I do not know very much about my family. My mother has a birth certificate that is hand written from her mother with the names of all of our family. This was the way it was done when Native Americans were converted to American ways. My Apache ancestors were fortunate enough to live on their own land in New Mexico. My people are from the Mimbreno Apache tribe. They were nomadic people who traveled all along the Mimbres river in New Mexico.

Mimbres River flows through the Gila National Forest

Native Americans living in earth Dome homes made from straw grass and clay packed earth.

The land I Would like to buy for our Dome home is Ideally in Silver City, NM because that is the closest city to where my ancestors roamed. I have been to that town and it is a very cool peaceful area. Silver City is a bit expensive so I have been scoping out land Deming, NM Timberon, NM and Ramah, NM. We would like to be somewhere warm with a mild winter. An acre of lightly treed, secluded land, near water will be the perfect climate for my families future Dome home.

The name Ramah is a Biblical name. In Biblical the meaning of the name Ramah is: Elevated, sublime.

I'm contemplating these pieces of land. This first one is near Silver City. The closes area to where my ancestors lived. It is a small parcel less than an acre but is offers trees, and it is near Lake Roberts. Our Dome home would look quite at home nestled on this parcel. The price is a bit high for the amount of land, but Silver City is near so it will be very close to my ancestors land. I will be walking on the earth that they once set their feet upon and my children as well. The concept fulfills my being with purpose, belonging and home.

IMG_2030.PNG

Lake Roberts in Mimbres, Nm.

IMG_2031.PNG

This second parcel is also very nice located in Ramah, NM. It is a large parcel. Located higher north than the Mimbres area but along the same longitude which still allows me to feel connected with my ancestors land. It is 8 acres which is more than enough space to build a few small Dome rooms all connected.

IMG_2032.PNG

Which land does Steemit like best?


The possibility for building these Earth Dome Homes are endless.

This is a community of these Dome Homes. These homes can also be used in Haiti, which gets slammed by hurricanes and save a great many people the loss of their home.

The material is used a lot in Europe as are the Dome and arch shape because there is only one length the radius which proves to be the best shape from an architectural standpoint for load stability.

Air Crete Dome Homes Process laying these lightweight revolutionary bricks in Dome formation. Leaving space where windows and doors will be.

A larger design which would be a significant gain in square footage for my family. We currently reside in a 300 sqft living space. Trust me when I say, a lot of time is spent outside of our casita! But space can be an issue for 8 people.

An inside look at one of these Dome Homes. They are super cozy. Image of Steve Arleen's Dome home he built in Thailand.

I am so looking forward to building this Air Crete Dome home. The materials are easy to get.

I will have to order the Little Dragon machine which is a foam maker. The machine is $499 on Domegaia.com. All I will have to do is add water and eco dish soap to creat a rich foam that will aerate the cement mixture. Making light and strong blocks.
IMG_2033.PNG

Here is how the aircrete block making process is explained from domegaia.com website.
IMG_2034.PNG

I will be making this Aircrete Dome home and land as cost effective as possible. The most expensive part of making this homestead is probably going to be the land. The Dome home I will be reusing and recycling materials. Aircrete is a cheaper building material because it expands the cement by 60% making more out of the materials. I currently live in Southern California so the cost of scouting for land in New Mexico is another added expense I will try to navigate as frugally as possible. The Steemit community support will be much appreciated as I make this sustainable home into a reality for my budding family of 8.

I am so excited about making our future Dome Home and I look forward to documenting the process here on steemit. I am sure that their is plenty input that the Steemit community can offer me. I would find it very beneficial as this is my first time building a Dome shape home. I would welcome all and any support from steemit.

Wish me Luck!

Source:
Www.domeGaia.com


IMG_1153.JPG

Sort:  

Good luck.

I've always wanted to do what you are doing.

I've never understood why folks build such fragile buildings to live in. Domes are NOT fragile.

...one thing...If you're looking for mild winters new mexico is not the place. Get's damn hot in the summer, cold in the winter. (sometimes it's HOT in the day and Cold at night same day). I used to haul water on the Jicarilla Apache the weather was NOT mild.

I've been investigating domes for a very long time. First time I've seen one built that way. There are other methods to build domes. One I'm fascinated by are monolithic domes

Thank you for the pertain net information. Domes are indeed a strong stable structure and the look really cool on the land as well. I am slowly realizing the mild winter won't be found in New Mexico. I will plan accordingly. Maybe a winter Dome in the carribean in the future could be the solution. 🐠

I'm building a solar powere house boat.
possibly spend winters south
winter north.

That's a good idea. We recently went on a whale watching expedition and really enjoyed our time on a big boat. Who knows maybe we will be sailing the seas in the future too. My wife is from the Virgin Islands. I would like to spend some time in the carribbeans at leisure.

Very cool. I'm starting to research minimal living to see how early I can retire if I really go minimal! Thanks for sharing

Yes, minimalism is the way to go to save money and gain time. There are also a lot of options and ways to achieve minimalism. Whatever you feel comfortable with you can find something for u.

I am preparing for this exact same thing. we are on similar paths brother!

To the point that i was even looking at land in that area as recently as two months ago.

Make sure to do all the due diligence on the land, call the county, make relationships up front with the statist enforcers so that everybody is on the same page.

Such a beautiful post man, has me inspired like
excited meme gif.gif

Your post format and pics are especially good. Upvoted and Followed.

STEEM ON!
Steem Trust Meme.jpg

Oh my goodness! That is crazy! Greta minds think alike! Are u from New Mexico? I would like to hear more of what you find out about a good place to build and purchase land. I have been looking on eBay too. Lol. Thank you for upvoting and following me.

see now this i ggave you a 100 percent upvote!

And I resteemed and I paid 2 SBD to promote!


this is the type of story u shoudl ppst,

Imagine building THIS!!!
![](https://steemitimages.com/DQmYJFD6nTAkR9rSnwx63ys2VYog1FQneuq

Thanks @ackza! This was a fun post because I am so excited about building this. The plans r in my head n now will be on the land. The earthship homes were my first interest in a sustainable home I could build myself. I have learned more about them and I don't like the idea of using old tires for the walls. They can smell in the hot sun, giving off toxic fumes. They have voc that u breathe in. I would like to visit the earthship village in New Mexico.

The domes look so magical, what an adventure! I like the land near Lake Roberts best from what I can see on the photos.

Yea, I am leaning towards that parcel, all though it is small. The sky is the limit with the design ideas on these Dome Homes. I am very excited about building one for my family. If we had a bigger parcel of land and building probes as easy as I am anticipating I would like to build more, maybe put it on airbnb all though I don't know how many peaople want to stay in New Mexico-lol. Thanks for you comment!

Is that particular parcel too small to build extra accommodation? I'm sure plenty of people would love to stay in a dome, myself included!

As for New Mexico, I'm not sure, but I know I've wanted to go ever since I found out that there is an artwork located by Walter De Maria, maybe you are familiar with it? I don't know how big New Mexico is exactly and if it's far from where you're thinking to build, but it's called The Lightening Field. As far as I know people from all over the world travel every year during summer/autumn to visit it. I posted a video of the artwork and wrote about the artist here a while back.

I can see the same people that travel all the way to New Mexico from all over the country and world to experience this artwork wanting to stay in a dome home, might be a market there :-D

This looks amazing! This makes way more sense than building a house out of rotting wood! Are you familiar with hemp adobe and hempcrete homes?

God im so envious, i wish you well with this project

oh they will! hey u need a profile photo!
use this one!
bismuth crystal

Thank you so much, my friend. Your well wishes mean a lot!

Very nice! Have you seen the Cal-Tec Earthbag dome designs? And the Earthships?
The Cal-Tec ones are earthquake proof, if that's an issue for you. upvoted!

Yes I've seen the earth bags domes if I remember they are the ones being built in San Bernadino, very cool... similar design however I think for durability aircrete is a better building material in the long run. And I've been studying the concept and design for Earth ships as well I want to incorporate as many sustainable and off grid options into our home as possible!

This is so cool.
Regarding land, I would choose the one that is least likely to flood your home.
Wishing you the best of success!

Yes, good point I will be taking flood patterns in to the locations consideration possibly a little walk from a water source at higher ground. Safety and sustainability is the main priority!

These look so cool! Hope we will find a beautiful spot one day and build and earthship, dome-like home one day! Good luck with your plans ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20