Bowling Night and a (Un)Happy Birthday!!!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

20170620_211026(0).jpg
I actually remember picking up this spare!

Hey Steemians. It's been a while since I did my first introduce yourself post, and there is so much more about me that I want to share with the Steemit world. So I decided to do another to tell you a little bit more about me.

My entire life I have been into sports, Basketball, Football (American), Rugby, Golf and Soccer (sorry I just can't get used to calling it football), I have played them all throughout my life. Some of them even at the college level (Basketball, Football and Rugby). Unfortunately, several injuries have left me with the back of a 70 year old man...and I'm only 27!!! So over the past couple years I have had to shift gears from contact and high activity sports to some that are a little more laid back and easy on my body.

Enter my new sport...Bowling!!! Two years ago a couple friends of mine asked if I wanted to join their bowling team, Los Pollos Locos. No idea where the name comes from. This is my second summer season with the team and we bowl every Tuesday. When I left for Italy two weeks ago our team was currently in 8th place out of 11 teams, so I was pleasantly surprised when I saw the rankings yesterday...we were all the way up to 2nd! Maybe I should stay away more often ;). We bowled real well last night and ended up taking enough points that we will be in 1st Place next week!

20170620_200601(rotated).jpg
My Brother, the real athlete of the family

20170620_202110.jpg
Our Team Captain and fearless leader, Ray. Unfortunately, he's been injured the past few weeks

20170620_200926(0).jpg
Adam carried our team last night, bowling one of his best series ever!

Of course we had to have a couple of delicious beers while bowling. The one below is from one of my favorite local breweries Tighthead. The owner is a rugby player and decided to name the brewery after one of his favorite positions. This specific beer is Comfortably Blonde. I will definitely be doing a review of Tighthead soon in the Friday Craft Brew Series.

20170620_202000.jpg
Comfortably Blonde Ale

We all bowled pretty well last night, but Adam and I had some really great games. At one point during our second game Adam had 7 straight strikes!!! Luckily for us the other team didn't bowl very well at all so we were able to capture almost all of the points!

20170620_212651.jpg
One of my better series in a while!


End of the night Birthday surprise...

Last night was also my brother's Birthday, he turned 25! I'm working on getting him on Steemit asap, but for now I will have to share the somewhat sad ending to his Happy Birthday.

While driving home from the bowling alley I got a call from Reid. He had swerved to avoid a raccoon in the street and hit a pothole. Now, it sucks to hit a normal pothole., but this pothole looked like someone had tried to dig a tunnel to China! Easily the biggest one I have seen since moving out of Chicago (if you ever travel to Chicago beware of potholes while driving, you could get lost in one)!

His car did not fair well after hitting the pothole and ended up with one flat tire and the exhaust fell off his car. Happy Birthday to him!!!

519757831.jpg
I had my brother send me a picture of how he felt last night when this happened

Being the great big brother that I am ;) I headed over to where he was to go and help. We managed to get the tire changed easily, but getting the exhaust back on was a pain. Eventually he was able to wedge the exhaust back onto the car, but it will definitely need to be fixed soon.

My brother is one of the happiest, easy-going people I know so despite his Birthday ending with car troubles he still had a huge smile on his face when he got home and saw that there was a birthday cake waiting for him.

519757842.jpg
This was the exact look on his face when we got home and he saw his Birthday Cake!


Hope you all enjoyed learning a little bit more about me and what I like to do when I am not on Steemit. I'll keep posting more about myself so stay tuned. Thanks so much for reading!


Don't forget to Upvote, Resteem, and Follow! STEEM ON EVERYONE!

Sort:  

I hope the beer was cold :P :)

Oh it was. Probably could have used one after the ending to the night we had! :P

Happy Birthday Reid. I hope you had a great day. You also have a great brother and sister-in-law.

The night ended up good, I'll have to tell you about it more when I am off work.

Hey Hey! #msp Can't wait to lay some Hog Hoggidy Hog on my coworkers tomorrow!

@morkrock follow dis guy! And come join us in discord babe!!

@morkrock, I'm bringing the porkrock to Chicago area T-minus 7 hours! Discord is spreading the good word.

Hahaha awesome man!! So happy you dig hogs!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59185.02
ETH 2522.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47