Radical Self Acceptance -- An Essential Skill in Life

in #life5 years ago (edited)

You are different.
You do not fit the mold.
You are ... perfectly you.

download.jpeg
Source

Radical Self Acceptance

choosing to accept yourself regardless of situation or circumstance.

I have been practicing this for a while now and it is powerful.

4595651.jpg
be your own guardian angel
Source

What would it feel like if you accepted yourself no matter what.

Regardless of the outcome.
Regardless of how you feel.
Regardless of how you act ...
you ALWAYS have your own back.

Radical Self Acceptance is a skill.

It is a skill that is accessible to all.

This is how I practice Radical Self Acceptance.

For many years I struggled with self worth.

Am I good enough?
Am I worthy of love?
Am I valuable?

These questions would race through my mind ... and many times they got the better of me.

I was angry at myself.

Why wasn't I different?
Why wasn't I better?

download (1).jpeg
I felt lost and alone. I had no one. Not even myself.
Source

Finally I got fed up.

I was tired of beating myself up.
I was tired of letting others beat me up.

I told myself that, no matter what, I was going to support myself.
I set an intention to be my own protector, a fierce warrior willing to overcome any obstacle and fit off any aggressor.

I took my own side and pledged to always be there for myself.

I'm not perfect.

It's called a practice for a reason...

Yet, making that decision changed my life.

Now, no matter what, I do my best to always support, love and protect myself.

Sure I have flaws ... but I acknowledge and accept them.
I work to grow as an individual but I also work to accept myself just as I am.

I may never be perfect in my minds eye... but no matter what, I'm here to support myself.

ToshaSilver.jpg
only you can choose to love yourself
Source

I am my biggest cheerleader.
I am my best fan.
I am my own protector.
I am my most confident supporter.

You too can become your own cheering squad.

Make a choice, today, to practice radical self acceptance.
That's all it takes ... one choice.

Choose you.

Independence Day.png

I create these posts to help individuals learn about themselves and life.
My goal is to share this wisdom openly with everyone. Any support offered is greatly appreciated.

Offer Support

50 SP -- 100 SP -- 250 SP -- 500 SP

Donate

BTC : bc1q2g77hgxvjgf8qlntj2m7skxawa6qykw4ql82kj
ETH : 0x1B3eA4279A0D35B0e47860Ed55ad6A2F86Ae159d

21PRtjKRXPQybj4WUXScWv5QPLninWRxfbcWNsx7SenD7Fp75URMXC6htZZLtGu4aJAcNeQGqBQF1piczoDGPWCrtDawhZwAda6pQPVUs7oVBcAwAWaH9vJXJ6KZXLiiBPJzguHXRCUXk1pAF4NLYJA.jpeg
C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iQSTD5YGWjkTwHsRHrrX294VzWkKyZwnQLJnfsPb8xAuVEW4LqLxLwCayUeDaSbmRT8rxCeME9t.png

Sort:  

It's so true! It never makes sense to beat up on ourselves. We have to draw our validation and stability from within in order to have great relationships with others.

what do you do to practice self love @heymattsokol?? I am always learning on this path ... I have been doing so much inner work recently and there are times when I feel like I am on cloud nine, and times when I feel like crying!! It is tough work!

We truly are our own biggest enemies. It’s hard to get over the mindset of being overly critical about yourself. It will take lots of willpower to overcome this. It helps to find people who support you and throw positive energy towards you, but ultimately it’s yourself who needs to find the way to the solution of self acceptance and self love. Hating yourself or anyone else for that matter is too energy heavy and will stop you from living your life to the fullest.

“If you can’t love yourself, how the hell are you going to love somebody else?!”
Rupaul

Posted using Partiko iOS

I feel like we get trained to hate ourselves in our society. That way we will look outward for satisfaction and enter the endless cycle of consumption. I feel so much anger at times towards this concept, knowing it has been implanted intentionally into the collective consciousness.

Absolutely @metama, we'd like to think we have a free will in every aspect of our lives, but it's not true. A lot of how we think and react to comes down to the way we've been taught and the way we're expected to react and interact. It's more evident if you manage to live an extended period of time in different countries, you'll see the massive difference in how people are being manipulated on a mass scale.

So true @tggr. For a while I got mad at myself because I was not happy with the actions I was taking. I now see those as a by product of my habits / beliefs and rather than trying to control my actions I spend my energy working to change my beliefs and habits.

Posted using Partiko Android

Be your own guardian angel 😍
Love that one so much!

ha :) thanks for the vibes @steemityourway ... going to check out your blog ... bet we have been writing about the same things. :) :) :)

Awwww! You so cute!❤️
We psychic! You are hands down my favorite on here! I resonate so much with everything that you write!

Agreed. Great post.

Posted using Partiko Android

Self acceptance IS truly radical, especially in a world where family and society have often vastly different expectations of us than the quiet whisperings of our hearts. Always nice to have you reminding us of these basic truths.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

thanks and you're welcome @artemislives ... always nice to read your kind words :)

Hi, @metama!

You just got a 6.01% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @metama!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.373 which ranks you at #6980 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 91 places in the last three days (old rank 7071).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 385 contributions, your post is ranked at #113.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Don't judge each day by the harvest you reap but by the seeds that you plant.

Don't judge each day by
The harvest you reap but by
The seeds that you plant.

                 - cryptoindex


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72