Living Without Money

in #life5 years ago

I have been living, without money, for about a week now.

download.jpeg
Source

This was not an intentional journey (at least consciously) but it has become an insightful one.

I left my home of Atlanta in the middle of August.
My intention was to travel, using the platform Workaway.info, to live inexpensively while building a successful business of remote work.

I have been inspired to travel for a while now and have done multiple short jaunts but have never been able to make the transition into a digital nomad.

Let me tell you about my journey

I left Atlanta with about $600 in cash.
I had lined up a work exchange in Bozeman, MT, my first stop, at a local hostel. I figured I could get by on $50-100 a week, enough to cover my food.

My plan was to stay in Bozeman for about a month and then head further north to a work exchange near Glacier National Park.

To my surprise, one of the hostel employees was planning on going to Glacier as well. He had been at the hostel all winter and wanted to go at the end of the week. I jumped at the opportunity, not sure of how else I would traverse the 300 some mile difference.

I told my host that I would be leaving shortly and she was not thrilled.
She politely asked me to leave that day and I chose to oblige.

Fortunately, the universe had my back (as well as myself) and I was able to manifest a couchsurfing situation that let me stay in Bozeman rent free for the rest of the week.

I think that I believed in myself enough and felt worthy enough to have this situation arise, hence it's occurrence.

After about a week in Bozeman my cash funds had dwindled to just over $400.

I had been on the fence about signing up for a 8 week masterclass titled "Flow Consciousness". The course would cover some deep topics, including but not limited to how to shift and eradicate limiting beliefs.

I was concerned about not having any cash but decided to live a bit on the edge, follow my joy and trust in the Universe.

I purchased the course, opting for a monthly payment of $399 (all I could afford at the time), bringing my bank account balance to a meager $2.xx, where it has stayed since.

I packed my bags and got ready to depart Bozeman, as we were planning on leaving early the next morning.

After a stop by Chikfila en route (there is only one in Montana) I was down to $4. My last cash funds were demanded when I realized I had forgotten to return the house keys my generous host had lent me.

The Universe was asking me to face some beliefs that I held.

One of which was the idea that I NEEDED money.

I had none.
I had no job.
I had no prospects at the time.

I had a ride to my work exchange where I knew I would have food, water and shelter.
These were the things I TRULY needed ... the rest I could do without

So far I have been in Glacier (or next to it in actuality) for just about a week.
It has been quite splendid.

The other night we went out to a local brewery where I had glasses of hard cider and locally made Kombucha to my fill.

Last night I had a wonderful dinner of kale, roasted potatoes and elk sausage, harvested by a friend of the people whom we were dining with.

I eat to my fill every day and have the whole day to do as I wish.
From time to time my mind will creep in, begging me to make some money, but my faith has remained.

While I do not intend to live in this way indefinitely,

it has surely been an interesting experience.
I have been participating in this course and have, in doing so, discovered many interesting beliefs that I have held.

One, held deeply and unbeknownst to me, was that money was a bad thing.
I questioned my subconscious, desiring to understand this perspective and it came to be that money was the cause of my parents divorce.

I do believe that money issues added stress to their relationship, but was not aware that my belief had been so strong AND so negative.

I feel that I had always attempted to get rid of the money that I had, fearing that it too would cause some sort of similar demise.

I see things differently know.

Money is not a bad thing.
Money did not cause their relationship to end.
Money is a form of energy and simply multiplies the intent that it is used with.

I do not want to live without money.
I appreciate the value that it offers and how it can allow us to utilize our influence in a grander manner.

I am excited, and still a bit nervous, to see how this experience pans out.
I am doing my best to allow my life to unfold rather than attempting to control it.

I am not sure what else I will be led to experience, but am confident that it will be for my best.

what beliefs are you holding on to?

how are they holding you back?

When you really begin to dive more deeply you may see how this believes, no matter how sensible, may actually be holding you back from your fullest form of expression.

Sort:  

Pretty soon we will all have to do this after the economic collapse. #Learn to Grow

Ha I'm banking on a future filled nwith Cryptocurrency @yonny

Posted using Partiko Android

Ya me too, i can’t wait 😊. But first we must experience hard times. Hard times create strong men. Strong men create good times. Good times create weak men. And, weak men create hard times. Society is in the weak men phase and hard times are almost here. The cycle of humanity 😊

interesting @yonny ... I like your philosophy. I will not be a weak man :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi, @metama!

You just got a 6.62% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

I love this post! I have learned SOOO OFTEN that the days when the cupboard and the fridge are bare is when I am learning my deepest lessons about wealth. Yes, this fixation on "stuff" and money so often limits us from freedom and true wealth. The nice part is that when you pass through this and the $$ flow again, it matters not and you simply have more to share. Life is infinitely good. Blessings to you on your nomad journeys - if you ever make it to Chiang Mai, Thailand (the hub and capital of global DN's) then the coffee is on me.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

That is where you live?? Im planning on heading to Asia in the fall and would love to visit!

It's interesting ... I can tell that I still have limiting beliefs by the fact that there is this underlying anxiety about not having money.

I am breathing.
I am breathing.
I am relaxing into this experience knowing that I am guided, protected and supported.
I am breathing.
I am.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yup. I live in Chiang Mai, Thailand, already 15 years. Msg me when it;s time to put the kettle on. :)

This is an amazingly “freeing” post. I have read “The Surrender Experiment,” by Michael Singer, about simply learning to say “yes” to life and want is put in front of you. Allowing your life to simply flow and take you on the journey and purpose it was meant to follow is something that is so extremely empowering to me. I hope to one day be able to live a life this free of commitment yet so full of rewarding experiences. Amazing...

Posted using Partiko iOS

:) glad I can be inspiring to you @steelborne ... sometimes it seems if I am just floating around. We are all our own teachers, we are all the pupils of the universe. Much love :)

Hi @metama!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.362 which ranks you at #7407 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 253 places in the last three days (old rank 7660).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 192 contributions, your post is ranked at #57.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

The absolute HAPPIEST times in my life have been with next to NO money at all... living in a vehicle... taking each day as it comes. Next year we 're tightening belts and doing a year of travelling with barely any cash. Can't wait. I find the more money you have the more you spend.. what's the POINT of that exactly?

Wonderful post.. thankyou! A nice reminder to resist temptation to spend cash just because its there...

Haha "the more money you have the more you spend" ... This is totally true. I am going to buy some land one day and have yet to find a way to do that without money ... However, as I am typing this I remember a story of a man who was given a house and land after helping it's previous owner for a period of time. In this world anything is possible. I want to increase my impact in the world (hopefully) in a positive and money allows us to exert force. I have been enjoying this experience and definitely see the value in it. I do not have the fears that I once held so am grateful for this but do not want to live sans money forever.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94