Odin

in #life6 years ago

meesterboom-odin.jpg

It's not fair?

I grumbled as I pulled my coat on.

Look, it's happening ok? Just deal with it?

I made a face as if finding out what menstruation really meant.

But it's Sunday?

I cried, with quite the wobble in my voice.

Why do we have to go to School on Sunday?

I grumpily kicked at the rug in the hall.

The good lady came through from the lounge, her face like thunder.

kfissoso.jpg

Right, enough. I have told you we are going and we are going and that is that. Now straighten your face and help me with the kids.

I sighed theatrically and dragged my heels into the lounge to help with the kids. It was Sunday (obviously) and the School that the little lady was starting in Autumn was having an open day for the new pupils.

There was to be all manner of festivities including a tour around her new classroom and meeting some of the pupils who were now advancing to their second year.

Needless to say, I did not want to go to School on a Sunday. The little lady was fine with it. She was even excited. It was me that had a huff on about going.

There was nothing for it though and off we went.

kfissoso_20180617133915307.jpg

We arrived at the School and were hustled on a quick tour of the classrooms and through some of the activities that my daughter would be getting up to.

I noticed there were precious few Dads there. Obviously, they were all as hungover as me but had managed to pull some kind of deal with their wives in return for not going.

Oh well, I might be hungover but at least I hadn't been roped into a marathon muffing session later tonight in return for not going.

kfissoso_20180617134057684.jpg

After a blurry hour or so the tribulations of the day finally seemed to be over. The last bit was the talk from the kids who were graduating into their second year of School. They filed in and stood at the front, there were about six of them. The Headteacher prompted them all to begin their spiel.

Samantha, tell us how you start your day in the morning?

Samantha piped up and told us shyly something about hanging her jacket up on a hook or some shit.

kfissoso_20180617134302703.jpg

Ronald, can you tell us about your favourite part of the day?

Ronald sniffed a lot and sounded as if he was about to cry before saying something about toilet.

The Headteacher moved swiftly on.

And River, can you say something in French that you have learned?

River giggled a lot before mumbling something that sounded like awoowy roowa.

kfissoso_20180617134520263.jpg

I clapped in awe with the other parents so no-one would turn on me and rend me limb from limb.

The Headteacher carried on.

Now, Odin, what did you make last week as part of your craftwork?

kfissoso_20180617134952844.jpg

I froze, my blood running cold. Odin? ODIN?! The All-Father? Here? Had no-one else noticed? I flinched. I was too young to be smote with his nasty old spear. Or have my eyes pecked out by one of his bastarding ravens.

I clenched my fists and readied myself for a scrap. I wasn't going into the night quietly.

Odin stepped forward, her pinafore swishing slightly. In a crystal clear voice, she spoke.

I was happy when I got to make a volcano for our craft making and we used stuff to actually make it erupt.

I stared aghast. What the fuck was this? Someone had named their girl Odin?

Thank you Odin, now, Carly, what did you like most about your lunches last year?

Carly stepped forward and blurbled some tosh about salmon. I ignored her drivel and examined Odin for signs of fire or shit.

She noticed me staring and offered me a summery smile.

I nudged the good lady.

Quick, Odin is smiling on us. Smile back!

We both smiled pleasantly back at Odin.

She looked away. I breathed a sigh of relief. It was always better to be safe than sorry.

Sort:  

I can't still wrap my head around a female Odin. I quite agree, better to be safe than sorry.

I can't either. I mean, I am all for a bit of name jiggery pokery but Odin!

I could imagine Thanos facepalming himself with the Infinity gauntlet and muttering "humans" 😂

Hehe, me too now!

And so the quest by parents to have the most unique and irrelevant names for their kids continues. I barely recognize many of the names I hear on the "top" names of the year list as they spewed it out on the radio a few weeks ago. Gone are the days of simple names like Daniel or John or a simple Amanda. Nope, Every kid has to stand out and be special from the moment of conception and it starts with a whack name.
BTW:
Happy Father's Day Boomster!!!!

Yay for Fathers day! Likewise! Although is yours today or was it earlier? I was well surprised when I saw on steemit that FAthers day was different all over the place!

Some of the names were so normal and others were just mental!

Yes, Father's Day here today. With the time zones, I sometimes forget I am talking to people who are already in tomorrow. lol

Excellent. Then a definite happy fathers day to ya! So far I am not feeling the love so I hope my good lady has something nice up her sleeve for later!

I remember taking my sons to these miserable meet and greets. And yes my husband accompanied us! What I remember most about these functions were the kids' names. Anything went for any sex. There was an Odin, Orion, Freedom-Kia and Apollo (I kid you not) for the girls. I don't know if the guys were any luckier, Beverley, Kimberley, Addison and Tracey.
There is something to be said about homeschooling...

Hehe, some of them are crackers! Apollo indeed! I think I just couldnt quite believe that Odin was a girl. I mean I aint that fussed about the sex for names but Odin is so male in my head!

It's almost kinda cool right enough :OD

It is a memorable name, for sure!

Watch out Odin is a tricky bastard and a shapeshifter, youn are marked and will hang from the tree of life and forced to sacrifice an eye for insight and wisdom....💀➡️🧑

I know!! I was horrifed they let such a wily old nasty into the School. I dont care how he was dressed! :O)

You can’t judge a book by its cover, be careful don’t let Odin know you are awake and can see through his disguise, be very nice to Odin, I find playing dumb works the best for avoiding Gods🤐

In that case we are laughing because none have been known to play dumber than me!

I figured you would be a natural using this tactic 😆

Waaahahhahah!!! :OD

thats how I get close to my victims...

I knew it, you are Loki😬

Here in Italy we are lucky about the male/female names, usually the italian names have an "A" at the end if it's female name, an "O" for the male version. For Example I'm Silvia, my grandfather was Silvio. There are some exceptions like Andrea (an italian male name) and sure, sometimes there are some unusual names, but for the most of the time it's simple to know if a little one is a male or a female ;)

Hehe, that's funny about Andrea, is a really popular girl's name in Scotland!

I expect that family would have been happy baking the girl Odino!! Lol

First of all I HATE doing things on a Sunday. It was Father's day here yesterday so I guess not with you? Then secondly I feel sorry for all teachers that must give up weekends for school and thirdly I have friends whose daughter's name is Morgan since she was 'made' one night when they were both drunk on "Captain Morgan Rum", so now I wonder was Odin made one night after a comic marathon? (Am I even thinking of the correct Odin?)

You are thinking of the correct Odin!

It was father's Day here, I had a celebration in the morning :0)

Hmmm, and this is her brother, Athena.

It wouldnt have surprised me!

Ha haaa, gotta love it. Though it was probably spelled Auddinn, but the teacher just can't say it right, or spends too much time watching movies on the big-screen. Though I do know of a kid officially named Sweetpea, so anything IS possible.

Hehe, I listened so carefully thinking I was wrong but I am fairly sure it really was Odin!! Although you will be right, it will be spelled like something daft. Ohdphin or done tosh lol!

Classic, you got the whole creative-spelling thing down pat. Maybe you should put out a book... Mr. Booms Big Book of Baby Names. You could retire, or at least get a new lawnmower.

Maybe a pair of scissors lol

You know Boom the realization of this really hit me just the other day...Why does it seem from cradle to the grave, we are constantly forced to do stuff we dont want to do???

Lol, I think and it has taken a long time to come to this conclusion but it's pretty much the whole getting married thing :OD

Without a doubt, having to attend class on a Sunday is very tedious, but many times we do not know what fate has prepared for us, if you had not attended, you would lose Odin's smile, that only happens once in your life .
Excelnte dear friend @meesterboom I wish you a wonderful week

That's a very good way of putting it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04