It's Too Big

in #life7 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART--246711161.jpg

It's too big.

A biggish chap himself was standing before the altar of my desk in work. He looked awfully serious so I gave a cheeky little grin.

What's too big?

Involuntarily my eye twitched into a wink.

He visibly flinched, obviously his mind was processing an image of my gargantuan penis entering him destructively. Like that bit in Independence Day where they blow up the Mothership.

Hmmph. The document you sent. All the fonts are messed up and the letters are all too big.

I leaned right back in my chair and fixed Billy Bob Big with my best thinking face. To further show my deep thought I cradled my chin in two fingers.

1502720454-picsay_20170814153425875_20170816160131070_20170816164413246_20170817191643412.jpg

I had indeed sent a document out for review. A perilous process at the best of times working in the line of work that I do. Everyone gets their mitts in. Oh you missed an apostrophe there or I think the shading in the embedded table on page 7 is darker than the company standard.

Which is why I scrutinise everything meticulously before I send it out. So for Big Silly Willy Bob to come before me and state something as daft as It's too big seemed odd indeed.

This merited...

1502720454-picsay_20170814153425875_20170816160131070_20170816164413246_20170817192109480.jpg

I resisted the temptation to open up the doc at my desk and instead asked Jolly Giant Jilly Job to take me to his desk and show me.

He grinned in impotent satisfaction. I could see him now, the cogs whirring in his brain as he told the fellers at the pub.

That's right, the boomdawg. Got him to my desk I did. Yeah. Showed him that pile of rubbish he had sent out. All the letters were too big. I tell you guys... I destroyed him.

1502720454-picsay_20170814153425875_20170816160131070_20170816164413246_20170817192346131.jpg

I followed him to his desk, I couldn't help but mimic his rolling sea dog gait. As his legs are like giant redwood trunks he kind of swings them out and round. He looked round.

You heading out on Friday with the guys to the pub?

I rounded up my errant legs and smiled at him kindly.

Nah, I hate all you bams.

He grunted.

We arrived at his desk. He sat in his chair like an iceberg calving into the sea.

See, look. Font is all messed up. It's giant. I can't read it properly.

There was more than a slight glee in his voice.

I pursed my lips. Could it be? Could Bonkers Bold Billy Baps have gotten one over the boomdawg?

1502720454-picsay_20170814153425875_20170816160131070_20170816164413246_20170817192947695.jpg

I leaned over the continental shelf of his stomach and moved the mouse over the document to the bottom right hand corner. I dragged the zoom slider from 200% back down to a normal 100%. The text shrank back to being legible and not gigantic.

His face fell.

Oh.

Yes.

Sorry. I didn't notice that.

That's ok. You are a pie though.

Um sorry.

I turned and victoriously marched back to my desk leaving Banging Bobby Schmobby baws mumbling and pawing at his pc like an ape from 2001.

It's good to be alive!

Sort:  

Hahahaha! Having worked in the "Corporate" world for so many years, I can really relate to this! It takes skill to refrain from snatching off a high heeled shoe and smacking some people over the head with it ... of course, I refrained. LOL.

Lol, I wouldn't blame you at all! It's hard to refrain! Some folk just want to prove they are better than you!!

It's especially amusing when you know exactly what they've done and try as they might, they can't work it out... People watching is a skill :)

Its my favourite bit about the rat race and believe me there aint that many favourite bits!!

He visibly flinched, obviously his mind was processing an image of my gargantuan penis entering him destructively.

Take a bow!! :)

Hehe, I am quite known for having a way with a turn of phrase! :OD

what's a gargantuan what??? look like - never mind what on earth am I writing here hahah
sorry I couldn't help it when I read that line, too
hahaha

did you use H2?(just kidding) hahaha
your article's doomed if you used h2 here :D

Lol, yeah a gargantuan &&&&&!! Lol

I could tell he was thinking it ;0)

I never use that H2 nonsense. I don't use headings anymore since they changed the way they work!!

And it helps the penetration that the bloke was a total dumbASS!

It was fun to read it but many difficult words made to open my dictionary which I really do not like to open while reading.

Really? I thought this one was plainer of the word than many others!

I cannot say but I find it more difficult than your other posts.

Ah well, sometimes I do let at it with the slang and the scottishness :O)

Well done dear friend @meesterboom, so it is done.
I'm imagining the face of your boss when you showed that the mistake was another, I would not know where to mend.
I was a boss, so demanding. What a disappointment when he was wrong.
A very funny story
Have a great day

Thank you @jlufer! I do try and show them where they are mistaken especially of it is crossing me on a good day! :O)

Its great when that happens, trust you to think about your manhood tut tut

A man should always think of his manhood ;0)

That's the problem you all think about it too much :)

Hmmmm, I dunno. You seem quite thinky on it :0D

I am definitely not thinking about anyone's manhood haha

You sure flirty mcnirty? Hehe! .... ;0)

Hahaha I am way past flirty dead from the neck down lol

It all happens above the neck!

There are few things more enjoyable that putting someone like that, squarely back in their place. It pays to be extra careful before hitting send. You will always know that you're right and they are dead wrong. Let's go for a walk to your workstation and you show me the error...

Hahaha, I love putting these types in their place. Workplaces are infested with them. They need a good tamping down

I read this and thought of this contest about stories about bosses. I think that you could enter something like this story here (if you had the time): https://steemit.com/contest/@carolkean/carol-s-writing-contest-1-mad-cow-mad-heifer-we-all-know-one-give-us-the-dirt. Carol would appreciate your humour.

I will check it out! Hehe, that looks like fun and she sounds it too, I have followed her. I dont have time today to knock one out as it were. A shame!

Lol. I've never heard anyone called a pie before. I like it.

Aw man you must have missed it because you were in the north when you were here. Its quite a popular term here. Almost a term of affection lol

Too funny, and sad because I have made that mistake myself. Fortunately I never called the boss on it.

It's ok, he wasn't my boss :0)

lol!

Just like that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02