The Neighborhood's Gone To Hell

in #life7 years ago

As a child I remember my hometown being safe and a great place to grow up....

Recently things have changed and my hometown doesn't feel safe anymore. Seven years ago I left my hometown to travel and see the world. In that time I moved across country twice to two different states and had numerous adventures. When I decided to move back I remembered how wonderful it was to grow up in my small little town and I was excited to buy a house and start a family of my own. I was excited to raise my children there.
police-1141037_1280.jpg
Pixabay Photo

When I got back I quickly realized my hometown wasn't the wonderful place I left 7 years prior. Crime has become a growing issue. Meth has ruined a lot of people's lives. The cops have done some major drug busts for meth in my town and surrounding towns. Every day it seems the newpapers are reporting another arrest for making and selling meth. There have been murders, child abductions, and rapes. I wrote another post about how my home was burglarized twice, 4 months after moving in at https://steemit.com/life/@marxrab/that-time-i-got-robbed-while-7-months-pregnant .

You don't see kids out in the streets anymore. As a kid I use to run around the neighborhood with my friends. My parents felt safe letting me run wild through the neighborhood. Kids stay inside now. Everyone has a fenced in yard. Neighbors don't talk. No one trusts anyone. Its very sad.

It's crazy how bad things got while I was off having my adventures. It makes me angry that I don't feel safe for my daughter to play outside without supervision. It makes me angry that I have to install security cameras to watch my house when I'm gone. It makes me angry that my neighbors hide in their house and never talk to me. It's such a sad world we live in now where fear in present in everyday life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61645.58
ETH 3013.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71