Finally Reached 60 Reputation And Lessons Learned

in #life7 years ago

I haven't done a milestone post in a while but I am so happy and proud of finally hitting quite a few milestones that it's time to stop and reflect on my time here at Steemit.

screenshot-steemit.com-2017-09-18-14-12-45.png

Yesterday time passed by as slow as possible. My reputation score was 59.5 when I woke up in the morning and I was determined to reach the final steps over the finish line to reach 60. It wasn't easy. I made a few posts and read/commented as much as I could hoping to get there but by around 11:00 pm I was only at 59.988.

This Number Drove Me Crazy All Day

screenshot-www.steemnow.com-2017-09-17-22-34-29.png

At midnight I made one last post hoping for glory and hit...59.997....AHHH!!

It was like New Years Eve when you stay up to watch the ball drop only for it to get stuck.

At This Point I Gave Up And Decided To Go To Bed

screenshot-www.steemnow.com-2017-09-18-00-22-50.png

Checking One Last Time Before Bed I Finally Hit 60

Yessss!!!! Relief from my tortured day of wanting to see the moment my score changed.

Plenty of time to reflect.

Yesterday was a good day to think about how hard and how much work it is to raise your reputation score. I hit 59 a while back and it was a very slow climb to the 60 mark. It's not easy to be successful here at Steemit. You have to work hard, produce good content, and be an active member of the community. You don't magically get a higher reputation. You have to earn it. I know going forward the milestone reputation score is going to be harder to reach and is going to take much longer than my climb from 59 to 60.

I Came Here To Have Fun Writing

I started here 148 days ago in April. I have been part of communities like Steemit in the past so coming in I knew my goal was to interact. I did come here for the idea of getting paid for posts but I also came here for the people. Knowing how much fun you can have interacting with people from communities like Steemit I hoped to meet some great friends who I'd love visiting and hearing from every day.

And I did. It was hard to find them through a sea of spammers and people posting low quality content but I did it. I am proud to say I've made a number of friends who I love reading their work and hearing from them in comments. I joined a few discord channels and chat regularly with some of these friends. It's a very unique place this Steemit.

Focus More On Enjoying The Community Than The Milestones

Now that I know it's going to take forever to reach 61 I'm not looking at my score anymore. I powered up like crazy and hit my milestone of 1000 Steem Power so I've stopped checking my SP. I've made 365 posts since April and 2360 comments but I stopped paying attention to quantity after the first 100 milestone. The next big milestones are very far away. I'm going to focus on having fun writing and interacting with my friends here.

I'm polishing off my first short story that I've worked on in a while. I had a lot of fun writing it and will post it later today. I've got a second story nearing completion. It's time to have fun and enjoy writing. I hope all my friends are having having fun too!

Thank you to all my friends who visit my posts and read them and comment.

You are the best thing about this place and I come back everyday for all of you! Thank you for helping me reach 60 and I hope to see you all reach your goals and succeed here.

Banner.png

Sort:  

Congrats darling friend! Super excited for you! Like you I feel the best thing about Steemit is getting to write. I have enjoyed meeting and making new friends such as you, and writing/sharing my photography!
Once again congrats and glad to see you are doing well :)

CONGRATS!!!!

I know it is insane how much harder each point is now!!! BTW,you may have to teach me that Discord!

Thank you! If you decide to get on Discord let me know. I'm actually working on an advertisement post for a Discord chat I'm a moderator for. Might post is later this week. I'm trying to explain it and the individual people who have their own rooms in it. We're trying to grow it so feel free to join if you like what you read.

I have a Discord account from a while back, but don't know what to do with it lol.

Congratulations on your milestone. I'm working on getting a 60 reputation score myself.

Full upvote. I'm with you all the way.

Yeah! Congratulations my dear friend @marxrab!

Did you have champagne when the 'ball dropped' and play the new year's song, kissing and hugging everyone in arm's reach? :) I love finding and reading your posts - so it's well-deserved! Thanks for providing such wholesome, honest content for the community, and being a great role model of interaction here on Steemit!!

Congratulations! I love all your posts and getting to know you, your awesome! Have a great day🌺

WOOHOO!!!

It's nerve-wracking watching for that last little sliver. So glad you finally made it over the top!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30