A Surpise Roadtrip To Receive The Nicest Gift Of My Life

in #life6 years ago

My husband isn't the kind of guy who is good at surprises or keeping secrets. He's also a horrible gift giver. In the eight years we've been together he still has no idea what to buy me for birthdays or Christmas. He usually gets me to flat out say what I'd like so he doesn't have to work hard.

But Today He Finally Surprised Me!

After I woke up this morning my husband said he was taking me shopping. When I asked him where he said it was a surprise. My birthday is next week. My last several birthdays have been really sucky.....like my dad got divorced, uncle died in front of me, recovering from surgery sucky. Today my husband told me that he wanted to take me to pick out my birthday present early.

He told me that I was such a good mother and that I do so much for him and our daughter that he wanted to give me a really nice gift. My husband and I have been living the poor life of graduate students since we met but recently my husband has been working and has been setting aside money to make our house nice and to do home improvements.

He got me in the car and he started driving. When we went down some back roads and ended up here I was curious where he was taking me.

Hay For Sale? Am I Getting A Pony?

IMG_0663.JPG

IMG_0664.JPG

Nope, no pony....he took a wrong turn. We drove a little more and ended up here.

IMG_0662.JPG

No More Goodwill Furniture!

My husband announced that he was buying me a couch. You see I've never had brand new furniture in my entire life. I've either been given hand me downs or cheap used furniture that wasn't nice but suited a purpose. All our furniture is mismatched and old with flaws like broken parts. This new couch is the first new piece of furniture for our home.

We currently have two couches. One came with my husband and he got it at Goodwill for $30 ten years ago. The second couch I found at the side of the road near trash day. It's frame was broken and it's ugly but it has been oh so comfy. I've had it 7 years and it's pretty horrible looking these days.

Now that we have our own home my husband wanted me to have a new couch so we can start getting rid of our Goodwill, side of the road furniture and have something nice. Him wanting to do this for me is probably the nicest gift I've ever received in my life.

The Last Warehouse Store

IMG_0702.JPG

We spent the day going to different furniture stores looking for couches. My husband decided to buy either two couches or a set so we both could sprawl out in our own areas of the living room.

Furniture Shopping Means Free Food

Apparently, some furniture stores like to make you feel comfortable and happy by giving you free food when you enter their stores. One store gave us glass bottle cokes and popcorn. Another store gave us bottled water and cookies. I think I've found my favorite type of shopping.

IMG_0705.JPG

My New "Friend"

IMG_0694.jpg

IMG_0696.JPG

In the beginning I was almost overwhelmed because I didn't know what I wanted. The idea of shopping for new things is fun but actually doing the shopping is like being a fish out of water. I really couldn't pick anything and even though I saw some couches that were nice I didn't fall in love with any...until the last store. It was a discount warehouse store and my husband was the one to spot it. It was a bluish gray color and very big. You can make a bed out of it and it has a soft fabric. My husband liked it so much he said if we were buying two couches he wanted one just like it...they had 2 in stock so we got matching couches.

We get our new couches on Friday and since we are hosting Thanksgiving Dinner this year I won't feel embarrassed by our horrible couches and mismatched furniture. I'm so thankful for my husband and him doing this. It's hard growing up poor and having to be frugal for years while you are in college. I always feel bad for spending money on non-essential items so it was really nice of my husband to want to do this for me.


Banner.png

Sort:  

That is really a sweet gesture on your huband's part. The couches look really comfy Not only do you have nice living room furniture, you also have something nice for your guests to sleep on. Nice one.

It would be nice for guests. It will be nice to have pretty furniture for the first time.

What a nice surprise! I admit, I was kinda hoping for the pony :D I remember what it was like when I was sitting on the floor working with my laptop on the coffee table and how awesome it felt to finally be able to afford to go buy myself a desk. Congrats on the new couches! May you both find many hours of peaceful sprawling on them!
x x
Mo

We already have 5 cats and a baby...I don't think I could handle a pony lol. Thanks for your comment. I do feel very appreciative. I think when you live without things like furniture or live a life of hand me downs you appreciate that first moment you can buy something a lot more.

Awesome, sometimes you just gotta say "what the hay, it's only money!!!"

Enjoy your new furniture and ☛ no eating on the couch, well unless you're careful 😉

And make sure that your husband is the first one to spill something on it.

This morning my 1 year old smeared spaghetti hands all over my old couch lol. I'm gonna have to buy a cover for the new one. Now I understand those television shows featuring a crazy old lady who keeps the plastic still on her couch for years.

I am so happy for you my friend. I remember our beginnings in USA it wasn't easy as well. Mostly I bought a lot of staff on craigslist or rummage sales. So let's say I totally understand your happiness ;))) I remember the day when my husband bought me from the Warehouse Store brand new table with 6 chairs. I still remember the day ;))) Wish you comfort and pleasure :))

We don't own a kitchen table so I totally will be feeling that same joy as you someday when we can buy one. For now the couch is so exciting! I can't wait until Friday when we get them!

OK, my friend, you have succeeded in putting a silly smile on my face. What a lovely story.

Your hubby sounds like a keeper. :D I'm happy for you. ;)

Hoping your Thanksgiving dinner is a smashing success. I know it won't be because of the couches, but they won't hurt matters either... ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

Aww what a happy story!

Nice story. I know how you feel and I'm glad you got some good sofas. I hope it's just the beginning of a whole new living room set. Bedroom next?

Awesome surprise and hubby hit it outta the park!

I am so so happy for you guys! The couches are beautiful and looks very comfy good for you guys!!!! You earned it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28