You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Feelings Disuse: Empathy

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Hi @juanmolina,

Blog posts of these types are the need of the hour. It was since a long time that I happened to read such a heart touching article. Thank you very much @juanmolina

Actually in this fast-paced world, we don’t have time to think about anything, let alone this empathy.

At this point in time, let me tell you one thing.

When I returned back to Chennai along with my parents after his retirement after six years, everything appeared new to me. At that time, one guy by the name of Mohan befriended me. Whenever he sees a dog searching for food, he used to buy a small packet of biscuits and used to feed them. Many a time, I have seen him doing this, but I wasn’t feeling empathetic because I have no sympathy for those voiceless creatures(@rufusfirefly made a great point here…..without sympathy, empathy is nothing). At times, he will go a long distance to buy food for the aged people living on the platforms without minding about going late to the office.

Slowly and steadily, my mind started melting on seeing him sympathize with the sufferings of those unfortunate souls and voiceless creatures. The point worth mentioning here is that when we do a good thing(anything for that matter) in front of general public, it will make them think like I was made to, by my friend’s supportive charity activities. The end result is immense satisfaction, which we can see in their eyes.

Let me tell you one more incident. Once we both were travelling in a train. A visually challenged person was selling some groundnut candies. I didn’t even notice him as I was seriously involved in some conversation with him, but he was watching that person right from the moment he entered into the compartment. When he came near to us, my friend bought a packet of it and kept it in his pocket.

I asked him, “If you aren’t interested in eating that candy, why buy it?”

He smiled at my ignorance and told me that I haven’t bought this eat, but to donate. Now the Almighty gave me a chance to fill two stomachs at one go. I benefitted him by buying that candy and will benefit a hungry person by donating the same to him.

If the world is filled with people like Mohan, then where is the point of the existence of Refugees and those poverty deaths plaguing the world?

Sorry for this long comment @juanmolina.

Sort:  

I appreciate your comment very much, dear @maryinnovation.

Slowly and constantly, my mind began to melt when I saw him sympathize with the sufferings of those unfortunate souls and creatures without a voice.

If you stay close to people like your father and your friend Mohan, this will stimulate your empathic character and make you a better person.
These are signs that there is still such a valuable feature in us and that is the hope that we must keep alive to achieve a better world.

If the world is full of people like Mohan, what is the point of the existence of Refugees and of the deaths due to poverty in the world?

This shows us that the road to travel is still very long.

If our natural empathy was allowed the human race to stay in time and thus lead to our evolution, then why is that evolution (or rather involution) is moving us away from that valuable character that we all human beings have? .

I think we need a great internal review of our values ​​in disuse.

Wow. Impressive comment @marvyinnovation

Seriously loved it.
Piotr

Thanks you very much for your kind words, @crypto.piotr.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76