There's One Little Change You Could Make to Unlock an Incredible Future, the exciting conclusion!

in #life6 years ago

What if I told you, you could do one simple thing and that adding it to your daily routine would change your life dramatically? Well, that's what I'm saying.

If you didn't read part one of this series, go here and read it now. Please don't continue without it. It's important for you to understand what I'm talking about.

This technique that I've used is a simple version of something called, Neural Linguistic Programming. It introduces thoughts into your subconscious mind, overwriting old ideas and beliefs. It's very powerful, so before I tell you what I experienced from using it, here are some cautions for users.

  1. Make sure any statements you put into your affirmations, are positive. Not just for you, but others. This is essential. Your subconscious is going to rewrite your old beliefs to suit this new input, make sure it's good stuff.
  2. Don't expect results from this, if you're unwilling to act on the impulses that come following its use. I'm telling you, my desires started changing, almost immediately, and I'll explain more about that.
  3. Use your power for good, not evil.

Here's what happens when you reprogram your mind.

Positive thinking is great. It has benefits all its own. It makes you feel great, makes others like you more, and it helps you see bigger possibilities in life. But, here's the thing, it doesn't change much. Sure, there is the occasional superhuman that is able to keep up a positive front and make a change, but, in most cases, they're getting the benefit I'm about to explain.

See, when I started into this, I knew I had to do something radical. I needed a change. But, before my positive statements could take root, I needed to overwhelm my negative mindset.

Just like a super blast of Vitamin C helps end a cold faster, this method of retraining your brain gets rid of a lot of negative thinking, reforms your opinion of yourself, changes your interior monologue, and establishes a new, positive mindset.

So, what happened to me?

It was amazing. Summer of 2016 was a complete turn around. I started applying this to my life, and almost immediately, I started seeing a difference. I'd had a hard time going to the gym, but my new affirmations changed that.

As I started to believe that getting in shape was a step toward my ideal life, (and why wouldn't better health be part of that?) I wanted to work out. I started to enjoy it and look forward to it. It gave me more time to focus on my affirmations and it's paid off.

  • I've lost 20 pounds
  • I've gained muscle
  • I can run and play with my kids again
  • My clothes fit better

Wait, you might be thinking, I thought this was automatic. Well, here's the thing, I also said you have to take advantage of the opportunities that present themselves. You've got to take action to see the law of attraction at work.

Next up, was travel.

When we were young, my wife and I traveled a lot. It was all in the country, but we did it regularly, and we loved it. But, as our family grew, and our business took up more time, between the cost and the time, it was just too much. We hadn't been on more than two vacations in the last five years.

The money I started earning from Steemit, which I contribute, in part to my affirmations, was enough to pay for a trip that my wife and I had needed to take for twenty years, we went to Cancun, 5 star, one week, all expenses paid. It was amazing.

Summer of 2017 was even better!

  • In May, we took my second oldest daughter to Chicago for one week, to scope out a school she wanted to attend. I'd been there once 20 years before, and loved going back.
  • In Jun, my oldest daughter got married four hours away and we were able to not only travel, stay for two days, and pay for our part of the wedding, but we covered the cost of the wedding party staying at the hotel.
  • In July, we took the whole family, all eight kids and my daughter's new husband, to Arkansas, and rented a cabin for four days, on me!
  • In August, we made the trip of a lifetime, one week in Paris France!

While it wasn't part of my affirmation, I got other stuff too.

For the first time in years, I managed to get ahead of all the bills. So much so, that I was able to buy a car I wanted, not just the hand me down one of my kid's had left behind as their first car, for cash!

I was able to upgrade my entire wardrobe. I love clothes, but as most dads do, I had pretty much given up on caring what I looked like.

And it wasn't just me that was benefiting!

My wife's business took off, to the point that she was able to buy us both state of the art new phones. I've been wanting to start taking more pictures again (I was a photography student when I was young) and the Galaxy S8 has one of the best digital cameras in the world.

It seemed like everything was just getting better!

But, there was just one thing. The house, remember, that huge project list that had just been hanging over me as it got worse and worse, was still there. We were still paying exterminators and dealing with heat in the summer and cold in the winter. We still couldn't have company and we still didn't have any clear path to getting the money we would need to fix the problem. We were stuck.

But, remember my affirmation?

One line that I left out of what I shared, held the key to a transformation that changed everything.

My house is gorgeous, everybody says so. Soon, we will have the money to have the home we want. Soon, we will be able to entertain and move toward our ideal life, in a home that supports it.

For a year, I listened to this line, then went home, to the same house, where I felt like I was failing, because no matter how good things got, we'd never have the money to gut the place and start over.

We were still stuck. Some days I'd turn off my affirmation in disgust, it felt like a lie. But, I'd forgotten who I was married to. My wife is a force of nature, and once she decides things need to change, they'd better.

At the end of August, after our return from Paris, she became determined to upgrade our home. We talked about various options, and she started sharing pictures of houses with me online. Every time she did, I felt like I was being punched. That affirmation seemed to be mocking me.

But, my Steemit power down was still paying out about thousand a week, and I was ahead on the bills, so, I secretly started stacking up a few bills, about $3000 to be exact.

I never thought we could even get approved.

We'd tried for years. It always ended the same way. We'd fall in love with a house, but we could never get the necessary approval, but this year had been a good one. We started looking. Then, one Sunday afternoon, it happened.

There's a cool service recently started. Rental companies provide a real estate lock box with a rotating code. Visitors call in, get the code, and have one hour to show themselves the property and return the key. You send them your phone number and a few other pieces of data to protect their property, then you're free to look around.

The minute we walked in, it felt like home. We wanted it and bad. But the rent was triple what our house payment had been, and there was no way they would approve us. In fact, when my wife asked to fill out the online application, I wasn't worried, because I knew they would say no. But, they didn't.

It happened so fast!

Within one week, our lives had changed. We went from a twenty year long "honey-do" list to an elegantly remodeled classic. We went from no company, to parties every week with family and friends. Where we'd had a view of a depressing parking lot, we are now in a charming neighborhood, with a park a block away for our kids.

In fact, nearly everything about the situation was an upgrade. About two weeks after we moved in, I took a walk. This is something I do when I need to think, or blow off steam. In the old house, we had a long strip of medians, a block away. It ran through a mostly vacant industrial area. It was quiet, but uninspiring.

Here, even my medians are upgraded. A block from the house, a strip of medians leads through a gorgeous, historical district filled with one-of-a-kind early 20th century mansions. The trees rival what we saw in Paris, especially with this year's fall color. It's amazing.

At first it was completely disorienting.

I shared before how I felt like I didn't belong. Somehow, even though we were able to get a contract on our old house for quite a bit more than we owed, I felt guilty. A combination of my wife's frustration with me for not having finished the projects I could have done. (due to my feeling of being completely overwhelmed at the enormity of the list) and my own disappointment at not rebuilding this house I'd spent so much time dreaming about fixing, sat like a rock in my stomach.

The first week, I was nervous. We have family and friends with nice houses,but we'd never lived anywhere this nice. I was worried that something was going to go wrong, that the door was going to slam on this dream, and we'd be right back where we started, fighting the bugs, plunging the toilet with every flush, too cold, too hot, too depressed to get anything done. But, it didn't happen.

About three weeks in, it dawned on me!

I was standing in my kitchen, feeling amazingly grateful for the place I was in. My heart was overfilled, and my eyes pooled with tears at the thought of where we'd come from.

In my head, I said to myself that I didn't belong, that this couldn't be right, there was no way I deserved to shortcut all of that hard work and walk into this beautiful place, and right there, it was like the universe tapped me on the shoulder.

In that instant, I believe God was showing me something. I had an image in my head of the text of my affirmations. I saw it all so clearly. I saw how I had asked for exactly what I was experiencing, and I'd done it with hope. In my mind, the outcome was our house rebuilt, but what we had, was even better.

It was like God was saying, you deserve this. I did it for you. You've helped a lot of people, and this is your reward. Enjoy it.

I hope you've enjoyed this article. If so, upvote me at 100%! Help promote good content by resteeming my post, and please, leave me a comment to tell me what you think, ask questions, or join the conversation. Thanks again!

Sort:  

This is amazing, but not really because God is capable of anything when you believe. I hope you enjoy and do not forget why this was possible.

I couldn't if I wanted to. My adventures with God are nothing new. Too many to forget.

I am so glad for you, it is wonderful. When you get time and if you feel like it go and read my last story about camping. I am not asking for an upvote just your opinion.

Unfortunately we still don't know where we come from and what our purpose on this earth.
Who is our Creator? What image are we created?
A lot more issues in front of us. Hard to get answers.

Thank you for amazing article, people shouldn’t underestimate the power of subconscious.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17