Hermit crab uses a forest slug shell

in #life7 years ago (edited)

image


Hermit Crab

Hermit crab is an animal that we often encounter on the seafront, or in the sand. Having the same limbs with crabs, hands and feet are the same limbs.

Hermit crab has a nature that likes to hide in the sea slug shells that have been abandoned or already dead, many hermit crab are sold as decoration.

In this post I want to share my experience when I meet hermit crab, or crab that has a shell.

I have seen some hermits that I found on the seafront, but different from the hermit crab I found yesterday. It was a shock when I saw this hermit crab, I found it in a sewer far from the ocean.

His body was hiding in the snail's shell, the snail is not a sea slug, but a snail that lives in the forest, really strange.

I found the hermit crab in the gutter, in the north aceh area, I am amazed at what I saw this, how not, I have never seen a hermit crab that lives so far from the ocean, the hermit crab that I found was seen running away as I approached his.

In this post, I purposely combine two different animals but have the same shell.

Take a look at some of the following pictures:

image

image

image

image

Thank you for seeing and reading, hopefully you like it.


To find out more, about hermit Crab, you can read this article I quote:

Most species have long, spirally curved abdomens, which are soft, unlike the hard, calcified abdomens seen in related crustaceans. The vulnerable abdomen is protected from predators by a salvaged empty seashell carried by the hermit crab, into which its whole body can retract. Most frequently, hermit crabs use the shells of sea snails (although the shells of bivalves and scaphopods and even hollow pieces of wood and stone are used by some species). The tip of the hermit crab's abdomen is adapted to clasp strongly onto the columella of the snail shell. Most hermit crabs are nocturnal. Read more : https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hermit_crab


By @marconah


Sort:  

Thanks for sharing @marconah . Love it.

This is a nice post. If I may give an advice, adding a few references where readers could find additional information would make your post even better. On top of that, I am sure this will help to generate more rewards ;)

Thank you for giving feedback for this post, I just reveal what I see and I find. @lemouth

Can you see it again. :)

Trimong geunaseh bg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31