The Beginning of Change Part 2

in #life7 years ago

Good morning/good evening! Are you ready for the next part of my story?

Continuing from yesterdays post, I move on to when I got to the age of 13 years old. I was finding comfort in eating, so I was getting even more over weight, I still hadn't discovered hair products and the bullying was getting worse. I had, however found a refuge! It was an out building on the school grounds, where some of the kids went to hangout on their break. It had games, kitchen, table, chairs etc. So, on a teachers advice, I went there one day. Shy and unsure, I walked in, and I was overwhelmed by the laughing and joy in the room.
I remember everyone turned around and looked at me! It all went silent, I just stood there. One of the teachers walked up to me, Mr Evans, and he welcomed me in. Everyone introduced themselves, I felt like I could get my packed lunch out without being laughed at, or get mocked over how I looked. Everyone in that room had their own personality, and they didn't care what people thought of them while they were in that room. They could be themselves!
It was the best thing that happened to me in school. I made friends, my confidence started to build over the year, and I felt happy for once. (Well I was happy when I was there at least).
Things at home were really bad, my mum was an alcoholic, and my mum was seeing someone else. Things got violent and so depression kicked in. I stuck by my dads side but he moved to Spain. So I had to move with my mum and this man she started seeing. It was horrendous.
However, when my dad was around he put me in some therapy. It was to help me understand why I was comfort eating, and help me lose weight. So there seemed to be a glimmer of hope at that time.
My group of friends that I made that year were all different in their own way, and I think, in a way we were all misfits, but in a nice way. When we were on the way to our classes, we would have to walk past the bullies, but we didn't hear anything, we were so engrossed in laughing or talking, that we didn't notice the mockery!
It was an amazing feeling!
The important thing to note here folks is that, it doesn't matter how lonely or how bad things are out there, no matter what age you are, there is someone to listen to you out there.

Stay tuned for part 3!

Sort:  

Congratulations @manx-bird! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @manx-bird! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65317.17
ETH 2646.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86